We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite the attention to detail expected of such a GRAND hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite the attention to detail expected of such a GRAND hotel !!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Firstly I must say that as a hotel in the area it is probably one of the finest. It is indeed grand and luxurious with a very unusual design in that the reception is 2 floors beneath the swimming pools on the majority of ground level and the rooms above, flank the sides and rear of the pool complex.

Service was friendly and impeccable. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and trimmed with marble. I have stayed in many hotels and none comes much better than this.

We chose an all inclusive package because we had not been a holiday for a long time and just wanted to relax and be waited on. The package was not cheap. However, we are vegans and double checked with the travel agent before booking if the hotel would be happy to cater for us. But on arrival the concept of 'vegan' was not understood. It was presumed we were just vegetarians. If we had been then there would have been lots to eat, even though many of the possible vegetarian dishes had prawns or ham mixed in, completely ruling them out for even vegetarians. It clearly stated on a notice at the door of the restaurant, that if anyone had any dietary requirements or allergies they would be happy to help. We attempted to explain a few times but gave up in the end. They just didn't get it and we ended up eating pasta with a tomato sauce for 4 nights in a row. Even the stand alone vegetables several nights were sautéed in butter.

We ended up eating out for the last few evenings and wish now we had done that from the beginning. The hotel restaurant was just like a school dinner hall and to sit out in the evening sun, looking over the sea, with proper food and a nice glass of wine was by far the better option.

As for the drink? .. well we drank our share but not as much as some. Not all of the drinks were inclusive, in fact it was just the house brands that were. The house cocktails were pretty rubbish too and the ones we had whilst out and about were far superior. I also realised, the 'all inclusive' deals are damaging the surrounding businesses so that's something else to think about too when booking our next holiday.

The entertainment staff were friendly and tried hard to keep things moving. However, apart from a Magician act and an Elton John tribute, the evening entertainment was very poor indeed. Mostly keyboard players, playing along , unnecessarily with full backing tracks and fumbling the words and melodies of the most sickly and over worked songs ever written. .... truly awful !! They were the kind of acts that in a club, would not even make the end of their first set before being booted off the stage. For a hotel of that standard I'd have expected a little more effort.

Even at reception when I asked when the shuttle transfer would collect us on our departure, in stead of helping, they just pointed to a display of tour operator books and said, 'your departure time will be in one of those books' and instructed us to find it ourselves.

I'm sure there was more to single out but overall, I have to understand that being a vegan in this world can be a tricky business, but it can also be for other people with allergies. I am also a musician and very critical of any entertainment, but the other guests clearly had similar opinions ..... I just know how to voice mine. So if you are what is considered 'normal' .. that is you eat anything and want to have a few beers and sing along with Brown Eyed Girl and Lady In Red then the package was great. If you are not 'normal' , have allergies or a taste in music, sleep in the hotel, use the pool and leisure facilities and don't book an all inclusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mropeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Mropeel,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

We hope you accept our excuses about any inconvenience caused due to the food.We are sorry to know our staff didn't respond to your explanations about the food in the way expected. We hope you don't ming if we suggest to contact directly to the hotel to inform about diet preferences, as most of our customers with allergies, or special needs do. That way we work with our team in the restaurant to fullfill expectations. Once again, please accept our excuses about this particular matter.

We are also sorry our AI cocktails didn't please you either. We are thankfull for your opinion as it will help us to improve.

For us is priceless and absolutely helpful the list of improvements you suggest to take into account, we'll work on it with our staff.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,738
    1,827
    607
    147
    67
See reviews for
1,602
2,775
51
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Went for a week half board. Room nice, spacious, clean and lovely lives towards the mountains. Good sized bathroom with separate toilet area. Shower not great as goes hot and cold. Little fridge in room to buy your own drinks....supermarket just along the road. Mealtimes functional rather than enjoyable...food average quality in my opinion and some very odd choices...carrots at breakfast? Dining room is also rather busy and hot.

Pool areas are nice but are needing some maintenance to the rendering in parts. Rooftop pool is lovely with great views.

Location is good although it is u a bit of a hill from the beach.

I enjoyed this hotel. The qualit is reflected in the price. It is not 5 star price and the quality is not 5star either but I paid 1050 for 2 people 1 week half board so pretty cheap.

If you go with moderate expectations they will be met...it is very nice.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank filouthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Filouthompson,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts and also working on permanent basis to meet our guests expectations, increasing the quality offered and paying special attention to our guests' feedback and suggestions, which are highly valuable for all of us.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found.


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel itself was nice - I loved the rooftop pool and the lobby, grounds, etc. were all very well maintained. It is a close walk to some new restaurants and shopping centers, as well as the beach. If you are ambitious you can also walk to seedier Playa Las Americas (or take an inexpensive cab ride). This hotel was not right in the thick of things, but it was close enough to be very convenient. I frankly much preferred staying in this nicer and quieter part of town. If I were to complain about anything, I would say that the beds were not the best quality and I agree completely with all the negative comments about the buffet. Breakfast is fine but avaid getting a dinner plan at all costs.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Mary C,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.


Our team is daily challenged by every single guest that books our hotel and we are focused in working hard to fullfill everybody's expectations, what is something difficult to achieve but is a permanent motivation as it helps us to pay attention on daily basis to personal likes and preferences.

We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts without sarificing quality, which is what we work to increase on permanent basis, that's why guests' feedback are extremely important for us, your opinion about our buffet, where freshly cooking stations have become quite popular, will make us work to improve.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied in general with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Had great expectations for this hotel sadly left not that impressed..we booked a sea view room with king bed, was allocated twin beds when we telephoned receptionist said that the sea view rooms had twin beds only, when I challenged this she said she would sort something out.. We decided after 30 minutes to go down in person again this story was given to us but the manageress of the reception staff was due back and would sort something out. She duly did gave us a room directly underneath our original room with a king bed, this was fine but left a sour taste in my mouth as the receptionist we dealt with made a story up to try and fob us off!

My main gripe with this hotel is the poor plumbing getting a shower was problematic as the water would not keep to the temperature you started with you either got a cold shower or a scalding one, not 5* next if you are going to this hotel with expectations of decent wifi forget it! We barely got a signal in the room the wifi hotspot appeared to be on my side of the bed and not that of my partner, the speed if you can call it speed was slower than a mobile phone without 3G a big let down, if you have expectations of Skype or FaceTime forget it. Again not 5* furthermore the way the wifi is configured if you have a kindle you will not be able to connect as it requires a login page rather than a password. The kindle could not manage this.

If you are used to having a facecloth in the bathroom take your own as they do not provide any. The fridge in the room never worked very well along with the air conditioning.

The breakfast was ample and good choice of continental and cooked food on offer, however by day 6 I was fed up with the same items and was yearning my porridge and or honey almond crunch. A word of warning with breakfast if you do go into the left hand room (overflow room) the choice of food is slightly less in particular you would not know that fresh fried eggs and crepes Are being cooked in the main dining room, not a problem you can go in there and queue up for your eggs but unless you have been in there you may think that the hotel only provides scrambled eggs.

The hotel in my view is not all bad although I have highlighted my grumbles. I would not go back to this hotel as I believe they are advertising a brand that they simply cannot offer in its current state, this is not a 5* hotel in hindsight I should have realised this as the prices are not 5* so I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Mark 570,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

We try to offer the highest value for money without sacrificing quality according to main 5 stars hotels standards.

We hope you accept our excuses about the inconvenience caused due to the requests made on the phone that should have been solved without coming personally to the reception. We admit and assume our mistakes and we apologize for this.

Regarding the water temperature, we are unfortunately experiencing some problems in a small number of rooms that we are trying to get sorted out at the moment.

Our Wifi usually works very well, but will check signals in rooms.

We hope you give us the chance to meet your expectations in the future

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Visited the Gran Adeje Mid September for 14 days all inclusive and the only complaint was that we could not stay longer. On arrival we were greeted by the staff in what can only be described as a reception that set the tone of our holiday; Wow.....We were given an information pack and had it explained to us in great detail rather than just put in our hands to read in our room (nice touch); our luggage was loaded on to a trolley and we were escorted to our room by a very pleasant Bell Boy. Our room was spacious and very clean with fresh towels and linen as often as you required (everyday if required),there was a flat screen television with a good variety of channels to choose from; not that we watched TV. We would have liked to have had a pool view but was not bothered as the view of the Mountain from our balcony was quite stunning at times. As you can imagine with such a big hotel meal times could be quite busy but I would say not hectic as there was always plenty of food and a good choice, plenty of food stations about to compliment the food being cooked by the numerous chefs. The swimming pools were great and the policy of no towels on beds before 10-oclock ensured that there were always sun beds available all day long.The pool bar was most enjoyable, drinks and snacks a plenty. The entertainment on an evening would not please everybody all of the time but we do have different taste and we enjoyed ourselves on numerous occasions. The table waiters were sometimes very busy and occasionally I had to go the bar to get drinks but was served almost immediately by the ever cheerful bar staff. The entertainment team also deserves a mention as they worked very hard to make everybodys holiday enjoyable. The best compliment we can pay this hotel is that we came home and re booked a holiday for next year...see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patchy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Patchy15,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

Our team is daily challenged by every single guest that books our hotel and we are focused in working hard to fullfill everybody's expectations, what is something difficult to achieve but is a permanent motivation as it helps us to pay attention on daily basis to personal likes and preferences.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to improve and offer the most pleasant stay possible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We are returning for the 5th time to this hotel in January,many people have visited 10 or more times...I cannot understand how any one can complain about this Hotel..they must be PROFFESIONAL COMPLAINERS!!!!!
Margaret and Bill Abingdon U.K

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Margaretsalkeld,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

Every day and every guest means a challenge for us as one of the goals we have is trying on permanent basis to please our demanding visitors and do our best to make stays memorable, pleasant and special, that's why all the opninions are priceless and helpful for us.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and we'll keep improving

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife



Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

If you want to go to a very nice hotel with the friendliest staff I have ever met ignore all the negative comments as they are all cosmetic and wont effect your holiday.Yes it is not 5 star but it is probably the best 4 star hotel I have stayed at and it does charge 4 star prices.I booked a sea/pool view room and it was large and very comfertable absolutely nothing to complain about.The bar and pool areas are very spacious and nice (honestly i looked all week and couldnt find 1 broken tile terrible.)As stated there is a small rooftop pool which is great for relaxing.The hotel policy is you cant reserve beds before 10am.However you cant do anything about selfish ignorant people.When we were there 6 people took the best 6 beds and at 10am they left saying they were going to try and get a boat trip which they obviously did as they didnt come back all day.They were from manchester not munich.Entertainement was what you would expect at a holiday hotel no better no worse. We were bed and breakfast and had lunch at the pool bar which was good and not expensive.Breakfasts had a good choice again what you would expect. We ate out and an evening meal for 2 with 2 courses,bottle of wine,water cost on average 75 euros so probably makes sense to book half board or even all inclusive as gin and tonic is 8 euros. As stated the staff were wonderfull nothing was too much trouble we arrived having lost the key to our suitcases and a porter came out with a box of tools and removed the locks then took the bags to our room. We had a hire car and we were given a pass for the underground car park. To sum up there is no reason that we found not to go infact the opposite.If you like a hotel based holiday particuarly all inclusive then this hotel is for you.Whilst we have nothing negative to say about the hotel it is about 20 mins walk to a selection of bars and restaurants.Which when you are elderly or infirm is a bit far.Also if you like the beach it is also a 20 minute walk.We went down to the El Duque shopping centre 10 mins down hill and then to the beach were there are some really nice restaurants another 10 mins but ofcourse al uphill on the way back we had a car and there is an underground car park at the beach. To be constructive we loved the hotel but werent so keen on the surrounding area but if you are mobile im sure it wont be a problem,

Room Tip: pool/sea view rooms are nice and get the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veraglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Veraglyn,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay. We work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to improve and offer the most pleasant stay possible.


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing