We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time at the Costa...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had a great time at the Costa...”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We were at the Adeje Gran in November with 3 other couples. This was our first time at the hotel and was recomended by the other couples. Just a short bus journey from the airport the entrance hall is very imposing and stunningly beautiful. Check-in was quick and although our room wasn't quite ready we made our way to the bar for a drink.
Rooms are spacious and modern and very clean. We had made an excellent choice.
We were half board, so we ate our dinner at night in the buffet restaurant and the choice was excellent even for a fussy eater like me. For lunch we took a walk down the hill to the main area and found plenty of places to have a snack and a beer at 1 euro!
The roof top sunbathing area for adults only was quiet which was what we wanted, however the pool was freezing, but it was November after all. Watch you don't wander into the naturist area by mistake......lol.
Plenty of sports to do, tennis, squash, table tennis etc.
The one downside was drinks if you are not all inclusive. 8 euros for a gin and tonic.mmm.
Demographics for the time of year was mainly older people....like us of course....
However a great holiday made special by the company we had.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view if you choose a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,800
    1,874
    619
    151
    68
See reviews for
1,657
2,835
52
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

went to the Gran in May 2012, as you would expect from the brochure you got what it said, the hotel was lovely, staff cannot do enough for you, they were just great, although sometimes you had to wait a while to get served at the bar, seemed as though the wrist band was a pointer to serve others who came in just for a drink with cash, but nevertheless we couldnt complain, with being able to speak Spanish did help so i could get there attention. The food at all meal times was just to much to take in, the choice most days was unbelievable, put a stone on in 2 weeks. The second week of our holiday a lot of children arrived and it got very noisy and busy around the pool, would miss this time on our next stay here, overall we really enjoyed our stay but would put it as a 4 star (just), oh the entertainment was as you would expect, one night brilliant next night wheres my taxi.we wouldnt hesitate to go here again, we just love TENERIFE.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the mountains, very quiet, but then again we dont go on holiday to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stralis500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Had a lovely week at this hotel. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Food good with plenty of choice and staff excellent. Only one small complaint - the choice of All Inclusive drinks was poor and the house red wine was really not good although the 40% discount on wine in restaurant went some way to minimise the disappointment. Buffet style not really my thing but the dining room was set out quite well with areas off to the side which helped avoid the procession of people with plates of food. Pool areas well laid out and as has been mentioned before no problem with sunbeds. All credit to entertainment staff who did the best they could with very little involvement from guests. Nightly entertainment was as expected in a hotel although the Eagles tribute was very good.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get better views. If you want to spend time on the Balcony best pay for pool view as ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewatsons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

just returned from a lovely holiday staying at this hotel for one week on a bed and breakfast basis.
The hotel is very large with a very grand reception area which is very impressive.
The breakfasts were excellent and with plenty of choice just very busy sometimes,we preferred to go earlier before the rush.The weather was lovely when we were there and enjoyed the area very much and spent a lot of time walking on the promenade and on the beach at duque which we thought was nicer than the pool because that was always busy but you could get a sun bed no problems if the pool is your thing.I would go back and I have to say the bedrooms and staff were very good.definitely 4 star not 5.

Room Tip: Sea view recomrnended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 464BarbaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Firstly let me tell you we have stayed in Tenerife more than 20 times and never stayed in this area. So we thought we would try a different area in the same resort we like , but it back fired. The hotel is great don't get me wrong but when we go on holiday we don't want to spend 24/7 in the place we want to try the local bars etc. but. ..... As this hotel caters for the dreaded ALL INCLUSIVE it seems to have killed the local bars as the 2 nights we went out it was like a ghost town with on-one around,in fact we sat in a bar no more than 30 yards away and next to it was another bar and a Chinese restaurant and in total there was 6 people out !!!!!! Other guests seem to want to stay in the hotel and eat and drink in there all the time ,but you could be anywhere to do that so it's not for us and we are moving back down to the Mediterranean Palace ! Where's there more going on outside the hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Third time back, the food of course is excellent amd gets even better every time, however the rest is dire. Where has the service gone?? There just isn't enough Waiting staff, we where waiting twenty minutes for a drink, I used to go to the bar instead which u don't really pay for. The evening entertainment is absolutely shocking, it's atrocious. First night the Beatles tribute band and the lead singer kept drinking from a can of lager??? Very strange.. Third night it was a soul singer who cleared the room in 20 minutes, couldn't sing a word. Tonight was a mime and illusion act who cleared the room in 15 minutes, they were truly awful. We are very shocked at the entertainment and were paying £800 each, it's a joke. We feel so sorry for the people who arent all inclusive and paying 8 euros a G&T. Also why is the entertainment in the back room, it should be in the foyer like it used to be. We won't be returning if where honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear philsidwell,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We are very sorry you didn't like the entertainment shows and because you are returning guest, your opinion has a special value for us. We'll pay extra atention to the entertainment and we asure you we are considering several improvements.

We are also sorry for the delay in getting your drinks. We are also about to open another bar area, not that close to entertainment as it's been demanded by our guests as well.

All our team hopes the rest of facilities met your expectations and we hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a one week holiday.
Firstly let me say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay but unfortunately it's not 5*. Maybe we expected more but we have stayed in better 4* hotels.
Check in was quick and the staff lovely. Luggage was taken from us and delivered to our rooms
The rooms were spacious with a queen size bed wardrobes plenty of hangers, and a flat screen TV. Bathroom was large with a bath shower and Jack and Jill wash basins. There was a separate toilet so very useful.
Food was buffet style for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner good varieties on offer. There was show cooking at breakfast lovely omelettes with a good choice of fillings. It would have been so
nice to have a smile from the lady chef and also nice if she could flip a fried egg without breaking the yolk. At breakfast there was several choices of cereals, bacon, sausages, breads, rolls and cakes. Lunch there was cheeses and salads, cold meats, chips, beef and pork/chicken on offer.
Evening meal was again show cooking with pork/chicken/beef also pasta made for you and salads. There was also a good selection of fresh fruit and yoghurts.
I'm not vegetarian but I do think you would struggle for a hot meal at times.
There are 3 pools, which are cleaned each morning. You need never struggle to find a sun lounger or parasol as there were always plenty available. Sun loungers could not be reserved which I think every hotel should note. Pool towels are available from a kiosk.
Drinks on the all inclusive which we were, were the usual wines, beers, soft drinks. This is where I find it's not 5* there is a supplement for most branded drinks, now 5* hotel I have holidayed in had branded drinks included in the A/I. You have to pay for the mini bar to be filled.
The price of drinks if you were not A/I were expensive some being 7.90 euros.
Safety deposit boxes are available for 22 euros with a 10 euro refund on handing back the key.
It was our 40th wedding anniversary during our holiday and we were given a bottle of champagne and chocs. A very nice thought.
Also another reason not to be 5* was that this was the first hotel that you would pay for using a speciality restaurant. 14 euros per person. It never looked that busy.
The hotel itself was striking with a huge reception area, waterfalls.beautiful Christmas trees. Definetely disabled friendly with ramps etc.
The bar areas were large and usually had a singer/ musician on at night.
The entertainment well that's a different story. Strictly hit or miss. Saturday night fever was just ok. Eagles tribute was fantastic as was the Beatles tribute. But come on 45 minutes long. Far to short by far. Having said that there was a Johnny Circus night we were assured was fantastic. I think we must have no sense of humour. Considering there were children in the audience it was certainly not for them in parts. There was the usual mini disco but not many children took part.
Very disappointed in the hotel rating. Putting dressing gowns in the wardrobes doesn't make it 5*.
food let's it down as does the limited choice of branded drinks and cocktails on A/I.
Some of the staff are quite sullen especially the lady making the omelettes at breakfast.

Room Tip: We e mailed ahead for a high floor after reading some reviews. We had a room on the 2nd floor but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear holidaycritic,
Thank you for reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed most of the facilities and your negative feedback is mainly because of the AI drinks.

Our Al programme can be downloaded from our website what we highly recommend guests to do so they can be sure what is included and what is not.
There are different levels of AI programmes in Costa Adeje Hotels and most 5* and 5* + hotels in our area have a standard AI programme and a special one that incudes more brands and a la carte restaurants if there are a few. At Costa Adeje Gran Hotel we only have one AI programme that doesn't include the a la carte restaurant, but your feedback wil be taken into account to make improvements.

Looking forward welcoming you in a near future

Kind regards frm Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing