We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hubby's 2nd Birthday at the Adeje”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hubby's 2nd Birthday at the Adeje”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went back to the Adeje Gran for my hubby's birthday again this year as he loved it last time, I have been going with my girlfriends for the last 4 years in March and have already booked for next March. The Hotel has everything we want, brilliant staff, lovely rooms which have all just been refurbished, great food and it's in a good location for getting around either on foot by bus or taxi.
We always have a sea/poolview room, which now comes at a supplement of 8 euros per person per night, which we think is worth it, but it's a personal choice. We always email the hotel and request our rooms and they have always tried their best to give us the ones ws ask for. We love to take a bottle of cava from the pool bar, to our room before dinner and sit on the balcony in the late afternoon sun and watch the world go by, so relaxing and one of the many perks of being all inclusive.
The food is always spot on and the fresh cooking and pasta stations are well worth the wait, just be patient after all you're on holiday, and a "gracias" will always be welcome as they work so hard. You can choose to go into the main dining room or turn left into the quiter side for a more relaxed dinner.
The old plastic white sun beds have now been replaced with comfy rattan ones, a very welcome change, but still the umbrellas do tend to blow over when it's windy. The pools are a little chilly but great to get into when it's hot and if you want total peace and quiet the rooftop pool is for you with the bar now open up there for "drinkies", bit too quiet for us though.
Most of the entertainment at night, especially the 3 Tenors the Elton John tribute act and Sweet Sensation are good to watch whilst sipping on a cocktail or vodka or 2. The waiters work very hard as there area lot of people to serve, but we find if you are friendly, smile and say gracias and perhaps give a tip now and then you will have no problem wether you go to the bar yourself or are served at your table, just chill out you're on holiday.
We like to get out and about most days so head for the promenade turn right and walk through El Duque and onto La Calletta, about 40mins, for a coffee or beer, or turn left to Fanabe 15 mins,Las Americas1hour15, and Los Christianos 1hour 45, for the shops. Buses and taxis are right outside the hotel to take you all over if you don't want to walk. The market across the road on Thursday and Saturday is well worth a visit. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk for a change of scenery either in the day or night.
There have been a lot of conflicting reviews on tripadvisor lately about the hotel, its "clientelle", dress code, peeling paintwork etc, all I can say is that everyone has their own ideas of what they want from a holiday and hotel, and as they say, "you can't please all of the people all of the time". This hotel is excellent value for money and suits us, we are both in our late 50's, it has everything WE want from a relaxing holiday in the sun. We have found, as I have said , all the staff to be helpful and very pleasant, the food to be of excellent quality, the service from the maids and waiters to be outstanding and the hotel is constantly being maintained and repaired as best as they can without too much disruption to the guests. Just go and see for yourselves.

Room Tip: We always have sea/pool view on 3rd or 4th floor with open balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SoulgirlCarnforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,770
    1,849
    615
    148
    67
See reviews for
1,625
2,811
52
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Travelled 21 April to celebrate 10th wedding anniversary, hotel looked impressive on arrival. Location ok 10 min walk to beach through shopping centre. Reception clean, spacious, we didn’t get a welcome drink but our cases were taken to our room. We paid an extra £100.00 for a sea view which we thought was fab when we entered our room and unpacked, it was later that evening that we sat down on the balcony only to be facing a cement wall – so that was a waste of money and we never used the balcony, bar stools would have solved the problem but we didn’t think to ask. It was a fab view (standing up) as we were on the 6th floor, the room was spacious and bright. Food was fine about the same standard as the Barcelo hotels and Bahia Principle, plenty of choice, you did need to queue for meat as it was cooked to order but I prefer this to meat that has been lying drying out in dishes. It was busy as it was Easter but we never waited more than a minute or so to find a table. Not impressed having to pay for safety deposit box, towels, cocktails, also could only get one English channel world news to watch which was depressing. Spa couples massage was relaxing good value. There are plenty of sunloungers most are all in close proximity of each other. On the morning of our wedding anniversary we took our towels down at 9.00 (lots of beds already reserved) managed to find 2 together in a quieter area, we went for champagne and returned at 9.10 to find all of our belongings had been removed – other beds were still reserved no-one on them (until after 2pm) we claimed our towels, books, lotion, hats etc and were back on the same beds by 9.20, it is management policy to remove towels however it doesn’t apply to everyone, it seems to me if you have the wrong patterns on your towels you get them removed, I don’t appreciate being singled out. We only took everything with us this day as it was our anniversary and as its a 10 minute walk from the pool to our room on the 6th floor we didn’t want to waste 20 minutes trawling around after downing a glass of bubbly. Totally unnecessary and ruined the moment. We booked Mount Teide by night via our rep for the evening of our anniversary – advertised as romantic and magical – nope there’s nothing romantic about spending 8 hours on a coach going up and down a mountain with someone throwing up in the seat behind you just to spend 20mins watching the sunset with 150 other holidaymakers and 20mins star gazing – save yourself £150 wait until it gets dark, go on your balcony and look up! Because none of the other 50 coach passengers complained Thomas Cook did not offer any compensation at all – we didn’t even get a bottle of wine from them or the hotel to mark our occasion and we were all inclusive so its not as if cost was an issue. Hotel entertainment was quite good, singers, pianist, drag act, bar service quick and staff friendly. We expected this holiday to be special, romantic, memorable but it just wasn’t. Returned home disappointed and booked another holiday just back from Letoonia which ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raymiche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Once again we all had a brilliant holiday, hotel, staff, rooms, food and entertainment excellent. The Cava and chocolates left in the room as returning customers was a really nice touch. Thank you to all at the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

Room Tip: For over 50s ask for a room on top floor to be near the quiet pool on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janwaters55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My response to previous comments - Alright this is nowhere near a 4* hotel, but did anyone really expect it to be?? You'd have to pay a lot more pounds for 4* in this location in Tenerife - you always get someone who thinks they're better than they are!

Nice hotel - quiet location, really friendly staff, provide excellent check out service for late leavers and yes the comfiest bed I have ever slept in in a hotel anywhere - even allowed to sleep in past 10am, now come on where else are you going to get that? Can't comment on the food as only stayed b & b as have stayed in Adeje lots and lots of times and know the local area very well. Only had 3 breakfasts, nothing to write home about.

If anyone wants 4* then put your hand in your pockets - cheapskates!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 325 - it was at the back of the hotel with a lovely view of the mountains, overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenerifemadHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We hope to see you soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a week and although there were some good points, we were very disappointed with the hotel. The rooms are comfortable but rather tired; the bathroom was poor, with a shower head controlled from the bath taps, and prone to falling down mid-shower. The toiletries were awful - sachets of shampoo and a tiny bar of cheap soap. The buffet restaurant was also poor. We booked half board, but mostly ate out - there are lots of good places to eat on the promenade. Breakfast was dull, and the coffee amongst the worst I have tasted anywhere in the world. The omelettes (cooked as you wait) are griddled (tricky for an omelette) and made with such a thin egg mix that the consistency is almost the same as a pancake. Lunch was okay, but most of the dishes I tried were fairly tasteless. The food supposed to be cooked to order was actually cooked in batches and left for people to take so it was not fresh at all. The prawns one day were good, but the meat in general was thin and dry. Dinner was poor, apart from the pasta section, so if you don't want that, you are in trouble. If you want anglicised processed food (complete with HP sauce) this may be for you, but it certainly wasn't for me.
On the positive side, the staff were generally friendly and helpful, and it was easy for us to arrange to have lunch rather than dinner if we wanted within our half board package. The rooftop pool area was a nice oasis of calm too. Thanks also to Sherry on the guest relations desk who was very helpful when our pre-booked taxi to the airport did not arrive on time. We would come back to Tenerife, but certainly not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments.
We regret that this time you left the Hotel disapointed. We will work to introduce the improving in our Hotel. We are already want to chenge in our buffet, we want to put some new products. We are so happy that you infrom us about our personal staff specially Sherry, who helped you with the taxi.

We will continue to work and introducing all the improvements that are deemed appropriate and if you ever decide to visit the island to be clear that our doors are always open and willing to present you all the improvements that have been introduced.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Think benidorm ITV, think this hotel. Sadly lacking in anything 5 star, tired fittings, which the messages in your room assume you will want to steal, I think not. In short - crap hair dryer attached to bathroom wall, linen ragged,mini bar empty, you have to order even water? Think what you see on tv re Benidorm and you have a fair picture of this hotel. Your private balcony is overlooked both sides and a concrete Prision, Yuk, and don't order coffee because it's horrible. Expensive hotel masquerading as a 5 star, you are actually a3 AT BEST, sort yourself out

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickieLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Siirs,

Thank you for your time and attention. We would like to inform you taht all the feedbacks from our guests just help us improve our services.
Recently we have renovated the decoration in our rooms, we have changed all the sun beds close to our swimming pool and different renovation work. We also work day by day with the things which need improved.
We are always thinking about our guests and we decided taht our minibar will be a la carta thats mean that every guest can order what he would like to dirnk and what he likes. For this reason we just put in each room if the gusts arrive the paper with all products whcih we offer. Majority of our guests accept and like this type of service.

We are so sorry that you didnt like our balcony. We would like to inform you taht in case of any future changes we will consider your opinion.

Once again thank you for your attention.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay in June, where we took our two daughters ( who are now in their thirties ) and a boyfriend, and of course ourselves. We stayed all inclusive, having read some of the reviews I was slightly apprehensive, as some people seemed to find the food not up to scratch, and as one of my girls is diabetic good food is extremely important. Well I needn't have worried the food was superb and the choice plentiful. When you go abroad, you have to remember that some of their food may not be what we are used to, but the range and choice of food to choose from, meant we never left hungry or looking for somewhere else to eat. The hotel itself is I must admit looking slightly worn due mainly to small leaks from the first floor pool making the paint flake in places, but the friendly, cheerful, helpful staff make you forget any problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISTOPHER E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Property: GF Gran Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Onthebeach, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing