We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like a good 4 star. Would be happy to go back. Staff made the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
jonnyglasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like a good 4 star. Would be happy to go back. Staff made the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

A very well run hotel in a great location for families. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and really made the holiday. In particular I would like to say how great the restaurant staff were. I would be happy to go with my family again.

We had stayed at the Sherraton along the road a couple of months earlier and it felt like a 5 star hotel. This hotel felt like a good 4 star. However for staff helpfulness, location and value the Gran Hotel wins hands down.

We stayed for 10 nights in early December 2008. My wife and I travelled from Glasgow (with Globespan) with our two daughters, aged 2 and 10 months. We had some problems booking the hotel as most travel agents will not book two kids in with two adults. This was eventually resolved after some phone calls to the hotels booking office.

Front desk were very friendly and efficient. We were given room 495. This turned out to be a pool/sea view.

The pool areas are large, clean and good choice of pools. Two pools are heated but not to a temperature that allows young kids to stay in for any length of time. From experience most heated hotels in Tenerife at this time of year are at best cool.

Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day.

Kids disco at night and good entertainment for them during the day at the kids club.

The restaurant, having read earlier review did not know what to expect. I have to say that overall we were impressed. This is hot buffet not a la carte. Food in heated trays will never look or taste quite as good as it is when prepped for you in a kitchen. As long as you remember this then you will not be disappointed. Great variety including outside barbecue one night a week. Fantastic cold buffet with great choice of Salads, cold meats, cheeses and breads. Timing is important although it busy we found the food slightly hotter at the start of each sitting. All the staff try very hard to deliver good choice and service.

We found the location of the hotel to be excellent. Bus stop over the road with regular bus to Los Christianos/ Airport. Good supermarket next door. 5-10 minute walk from Del Duque beach. Nice sandy beach. The hacienda restaurant overlooks the beach and is very nice for an evening drink as the sun goes down.

Anyway very good stay, would be happy to return. Hope this Helps.

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Disliked — Would like the heated kids pool to be warm.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,706
    1,805
    599
    147
    65
See reviews for
1,578
2,745
51
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

We stayed at the Gran Hotel from 28th Dec 2008 to Jan 4th 2009.

Overall - Although sold as a 5 Star Hotel I'd say its more of a good 4 Star. Don't let this put you off though as this is a VERY Nice hotel.

Rooms - We were upgraded to the 5th Floor and the rooms here were pretty good, large bathroom and very comfortable twin beds. All the usual such as Seating, TV, Safe and Mini-Bar were in the room. The Mini Bar is empty and a form needs completing to get it stocked. There was plent of wardrobe space with a good number of coat hangers.

Restaurants - There are a few resaurants and snack bars around the hotel although we only used the main buffet restaurant. Food in there was pretty good with a wide choice, there was even half lobsters available at some meals. My only real complaint with the food is that sometimes it was not that hot and there was some strange things on offer at breakfast such as Green Beans or Carrots amongst the Bacon and Eggs.
Service in the restaurants was pretty good and there was always plenty of tables available, even on New-Years Eve.

Public Areas - There is a large, split level public area at the front of the hotel with Evening Entertainment, a Bar, Pool Tables, TV Room, Games Rooms, Internet Access. This is again well laid out and maintained, my only issue here is that there rarely seemed to be enough staff on and it could take 30 minuted from ordering a drink to it being delivered to you (Even Tipping makes no difference), the best and quickest option is to go to the bar yourself.

Pools - The Hotel is in a "U" shape and the central area is where the main pools and sun beds are, whilst we were there this was not too crowded or noisy. There is another small Plunge Pool and Sun Beds on 6th Floor (Roof), this is a very tranquil place to spend your day, but the only service was a Coffee and Snacks Machine and 2 x Male + 2 x Female Toilet facilities. I'm not sure what the Hotel Rule is but there was no kids up there during our stay so makes a great Adult get-away. You may have read about the Nudist area, but do not fear... Yes there is a Nudist area at each end of the Roof Top Terrace but they are walled from view meaning that there is little chance of offence being caused to either "Nuddies" or "Non-Nuddies".

Staff - The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Local Area - Costa Adeje is is a quiet area but there is a (At Least) 3 Shopping Centres within a couple of minutes walk and if you walk down to the beach (5-10 mins) there is a few Cafes and Bars down there.

TIP! - The Hotel charges 50 Euro's to keep your room later on the day of check out, there is some quite reasonable M+F shower rooms available for booking and a big, locked, luggage area.

  • Liked — The Roof Top Pool Area
  • Disliked — Slow Service in the Bar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CompleteF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

I read mixed reviews of this hotel and was slightly concerned.... so this is what i think ...the hotel does have a grand entrance.. rooms are functional...meals are buffet but wide ranging... staff are friendly and eager to help... hotel is ideally located... you get lots of families there .. but also a quiet place on the roof where no kids are meant to go.

They do stop you reserving sun beds.. which is great.

Is it five star ?? probably not .. but a very comfortable four star

  • Liked — the sunshine in the the middle of winter
  • Disliked — twin beds
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedevilatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks stay over Christmas. Hotel rooms and the pool areas are lovely and we had great views of the pool and the sea. The hotels worst downfall is the food. It isnt even 3 star standard. We had to eat out 7 nights out of 14. Not much choice and the staff serve you and the portions very small, my husband asked for an extra lamb chop and was shooed away. Our first night the only vegetable available was garden peas, however when we came down for breakfast the next morning you could have carrots, broccoli and runner beans!!
The Christmas day gala dinner was ok but the mash potato was so runny it wouldnt stay on the serving spoon and it was stone cold. I definately wouldnt stay here again because of the food which is a shame because its in a lovely spot, the rooms are great and the other facilities are fine. Ok if you just book B&B but dont eat here!!!!

  • Liked — rooms & pools
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little-bruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We knew we wanted a nice hotel near Fanabe area and this hotel is very reasonable and the location suited us perfectly. The rooms are large and spacious with plenty of mirrors to make the space seem larger. They were installing uk tv when we left as there were only two news channels in english. Lots of areas on the landings with comfy sofas to chill out and generally very open and spacious feeling wherever you were. Fab views from roof, great walks, bus terminus across the road, a euro to get to los christianos/playa las americas, no noise, no tourist shops, no restriction bringing items into hotel, use of fridge as empty on arrival, staff helpful, 2 hour extra free to vacate room on request, bar two doors down offering brandy and coffee for 3 euro, nice resteraunts close by.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank welshjaquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2008

My husband & I spent two weeks here earlier this month. On the positive side, the hotel is beautiful. Our room was very spacious and had two closets with plenty of shelves. The bathroom was very large, had two sinks and a separate area with the toilet & bidet. The people at the reception desk couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. They made calls for us and let us use their phone and computer when we had to change a flight. Especially nice were Mohammed, Ana, and Tina. In the restaurant Tasca La Puente, which is in a corner by the pool, the lone waiter there was excellent, and the food was very good.

On the negative side, some of the breakfast items were clearly inferior. Forget the "juices"; they're "flavored" water and shouldn't be served in a 5-star hotel. The individual breakfast jams were a cheap brand & very watery, likewise the canned fruit.
Some of the hot items were unappealing like boiled sausages, under-cooked bacon, and Brussels sprouts. Skip the tasteless coffee and have cappucino form a machine. We've had far better breakfasts at 4-star hotels in Spain.

The one life guard at the pool is to be praised for having reprimanded a lout who threw his fully-clothed companion into the pool. She reminded him that it was a 5-star hotel and his behavior was inappropriate. Too bad she wasn't around when some brainless parents let their children go scremaing through the lobby.

  • Liked — Spacious room & bathroom.
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

Stayed at hotel between 23-30 Nov 2008 on half board basis. First time we have visited the Adeje resort of Tenerife and i must admit it is a big improvement on the "las Americas" side of the island. Nobody hassles you or wants to sell you things, a refreshing change.
The hotel is nice but definately not 5 star in our opinion.
Entrance hall and reception is very nice.
Bedrooms tastefully decorated but a bit tatty looking in places. Beds are excellent, king size and very comfy. Plastic furniture on balcony, not very 5 star. Two english speaking news channels on TV and thats yer lot. Didn't bother us as were not there to watch TV. Rooms and public areas kept nice and clean, maid service every day.
There are 2 sizeable outdoor Pools & a kids pool in the main sun terraces. There is also a smaller pool situated on the roof top terrace. The hotel was less than half full when we were there so getting a sunbed presented no problem, however we did like the approach the hotel took on reserving loungers. Staff went round each morning before 10am and removed towels from loungers that had been reserved by guests, Wish more hotels would follow this example. Towel service is provided for pool areas as would be expected for any 5 star.
We sunbathed on rooftop terrace for the few hours over the week when the sun actually shined. The terrace is not very big and got really crammed with everyone moving loungers around. Not good if you like your own space.
Breakfasts were reasonably good, the usual mix of hot and cold fair with a few oddballs thrown in, brussel sprouts, chips, no thanks. An urn or two in the restuarant for hot water and hot milk would help greatly to ensure guests get a hot cuppa. I would gladly sacrifice the current table service for "hot" water and milk to get this.
Evening meals in the buffet restuarant were really disappointing. Meals were cool to warm at best with choice and quality definately not becoming 5 star cuisine.
Evening entertainment was provided by hired acts in the main. 45mins tops each night was the duration of the shows, must be a Tenerife thing. The shows although short were very good. An excellent pianist also played each night until midnight in the lobby bar.
Drinks in the hotel and the resort in general are very expensive. There are a few cafe bars and restuarants by Playa Del Duque beach (straight down hill from hotel) which are very nice for a relaxing chat and drink.
In summary, A very nice resort,, would definately return. Hotel, average at best. A plush exterior and entrance hall, there ends the 5 star.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location within resort
  • Disliked — Evening meals very poor
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieBankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Property: Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing