We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Not Quite So Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Firstly the good points:-

We requesed two interconnecting rooms as we travelled with our two children aged 13 and 10, we were concerned about not getting them, but were extremely pleased and relieved that our request had been met, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is impressive when you arrive, beautiful big reception/lobby area and the rooms were very nice, unfortunately, the interconnecting rooms have a road view, but we were just pleased to have them so it didn't matter to us. The rooms were spacious with nice big bathrooms and a separate toilet area.
Everything in all areas was extremely clean.
The pool area was lovely, lots of trees, free use of hotel pool towels so no need to take your own unless your going to the beach, pools a bit chilly, but warmer than some we have been to.
The hotel is about a five minute walk down a hill to Duque Plaza and beach which was very nice (beware though, they wanted 25 Euros for three sunbeds for the day), the Plaza is full of designer shops and is therefore very expensive, as are the bars along the beach, on our last night we had two non-alcholic cocktails and two Baileys and it came to 26 Euros!!!!! However, you are paying to stay in a lovely area with nice people, not a lager lout in sight!! Downside, you have to walk back up the hill!!!

Now the not quite so good points:-

The beds were awful, we didn't sleep well all week and couldn't wait to land on ours when we got home, they were really hard and made spring noises when you turned over, also the air conditioning wasn't up to much, it wasn't really hot when we were there, but i'm not sure how it would be if the temperature rose to 80 degrees.

The entertainment was disappointing, lets face it, you don't go to these places expecting much, but other than a couple of acts, it was pretty bad, but the worst thing was, other than one night, all the entertainment was held in the bar/lobby area and not in the lovely function room, we couldn't understand it, so this made it difficult to see unless you were sitting at the tables at the front, because the acts were at ground level.

Finally - good / not quite so good - food

The cold starter buffet was lovely and we mostly enjoyed what was on offer and had plenty, but the main hot courses were not as good, the meat was rubbery most of the time, fish was good, everything else a little bland, but on the whole we were reasonably pleased with what we ate.

Staff we helpful and friendly, probably not really a 5* hotel, but with a bit of extra polish it could be.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,927 - 4,933 of 5,894 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

Just returned from a 2nd relaxing stay at the Costa Adeje Gran. Booked only 3 days before going and got better deal by booking flights and hotel seperately (although both with Thomson group). I contacted the hotel before we left to ask for a room on a high floor and we got exactly that.
The rooms are still very good and have little extras (slippers, gowns, nice toiletries), hairdryer was very good, no iron in the room (but borrowed one from reception!). there is a fridge in the room which can be stocked by the Hotel or , as we did, take your own duty-free and buy the mixers from the supermarket for drinks on the balcony watching the sunset! (Mmmmmm I want to be back there now!)
We had a wonderful holiday, but if i'm very honest the hotel is in need of a little touch up here and there now and as commented by others the food could be slightly better (although you would have to be very, very fussy to not beable to find something to eat each evening as there was a large selection).
We loved the Rooftop pool area and after a morning on the Playa del Duque would enjoy catching every last bit of sun up there.
The Bar in the Foyer area is really great for a pre-dinner Gin & Tonic and after dinner Coffee! They have the evening entertainment here too if you want to just stay around to watch and I must say it's probably one of the better shows that we have seen in hotels! Often the other clients were up salsa, jiving, and having a boggie!
On this return visit we did really notice the prices in the hotel & local bars had gone up a lot! (& two beach beds & umbrella on Playa Del Duque euro 18.50 for the day!). Some lovely Restaurants for lunch and sangria, by the beach too.......
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LynnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed last week. Got a cheap deal through sunshine.co.uk for half board. My only criteria was a 5 star half board. (Stayed at bahia del duque previously) I would rate the hotel as a good 4 star and this is why i cant score it 5/5. It loses points on food - see later (but in saying that we did eat there most nights).
Good location - 5 minute stroll downhill to the nicest playa in tenerife - playa del duque.
Impressive foyer with friendly staff at reception booking in, although we had to find the room ourselves. Room was spacious and impressive for the price and very clean, with a sea view. Free wi fi in the room and foyer. The hotel is shaped in a "U" with the best room views in the inner bend of the U overlooking the pools and the sea - rooms *73 - *86(i think) on each level. The mountain view is nice too but the view from the outer sides of the hotel overlook roads and other hotels so try for an inner room.
Yes, there is no mini bar as such. But there is a fridge. You can ask for the fridge to be stocked with any drink you want and you will then be charged at quite reasonable mini bar prices. We bought bubbles in the supermarket and used the minibar for that. There is no kettle in the room but if you want to drink tea, stay at home!
I liked the idea of not being able to "reserve" seats by the pool until 10am - more hotels should do this. Spacious clean pool areas with well maintained grounds, and a separate (if noisy!) childrens pool. Mostly young families and couples staying, english, german and russian with a few spanish.
The usual "so bad its good" evening entertainment, but dont sit up front or youll be dragged on stage.
The only downside is the food. The food is not 5 star- but at the price we got it was difficult to complain too much. Breakfasts were more disappointing than dinner. The "fresh" juice is indeed SHOCKING! It is actually orange, peach and pineapple cordial. The coffee in the morning is equally as diluted so stick to tea but make sure you specifically ask for boiling water instead of warm! They served chips and green beans/hot sweetcorn/peas at breakfast for some reason. Yes the bacon is dodgy but ive yet to find any spanish hotel that differs.
Tinned pineapple, tinned fruit cocktail, and tinned peaches were on offer instead of fresh fruit which is not 5 star standard. Fresh but unsliced and unpeeled kiwis, grapefruit, melon, bananas and apples eased the pain a bit. Crepes were cold and pre-prepared rather than freshly cooked in front of you. Breakfast otherwise good but i really would expect fresh squeezed juices and comprehensive fresh fruit at a 5 star hotel.
Dinner was grand but not exceptional.

If the weather is bad hire a car(not from hotel - cheaper in town) and go up the volcano and drive down the other side through the middle of the clouds. Avoid sightseeing in puerto de la cruz - dirty. Los gigantes has stunning cliff backdrops but is a bit too southend/eastbourne-on-sea and elderly, with shops priding themselves on "supplying a huge range of Iceland frozen foods"!
Go down to the Playa del duque seafront and have a coffee or beer there instead. Avoid the other playas - cheap and tacky.

Overall a very enjoyable holiday. Dont pay the main dealer prices though. This hotel scores well on value for money but if i was paying full prices it would lose two or three stars in this review. If you get a good deal- grab it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dangermouse666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Adeje Gran Hotel is situated in a elevated position with lovely sea views from the pool and sun bathing areas. This does however, make the hotel more unsuitable for people with mobility problems. It takes about 10 minutes to walk down a hill to the beach but to get back you have to walk up the same hill.
What we like ablout the hotel:
1) The hotels position in Costa Adeje, a more upmarket area in Tenerife
2) Cleanliness in all areas of the hotel
3) Good size bedrooms and bed linen changed every 2 days
4) Sunbeds cannot be reserved by towels only before 10am and it is STRICTLY
adhered to, towels are removed by hotel staff
5) Staff are very friendly throughout the hotel
6) Value for money
What we do not like about the hotel:
1) The food in the restaurant is not quite up to 5* standards but it has improved since
our last visit in Septmeber 2008 so it is moving in the right direction. It is still
easy though to put together a good 4/5 course meal
2) Shorts seem to be allowed in the restaurant during the evenings even though
notices throughout the hotel state they should not be worn. For a 5* hotel that
again is a lowering of standards, we have got used to jeans but shorts surely
must be a step too far
3) As the bedrooms do not have carpets you can be kept awake at night by ladies
who do not take high heel shoes off when they return to their bedrooms

Having said all that we would, without hesitation, return to the Adeje Gran for a holiday.
I will click 'YES' to 'Would yo recommend this hotel to a friend' but it does come come
with reservations.

Sue & Terry Skeet, Lincoln

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BourneLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

My partner and I have just returned from this hotel - I cannot find a fault with it apart from one - the entertainment. Our room was beautiful very spacious, overlooking the pools with a sea view. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed bed and breakfast-such a lot to choose from our favourite was the freshly made omelettes and a glass of champagne! If you want a good meal go the Atlantico just a short stroll on the seafront. near Tony Ramas Ribs (dont go in there though)! We got very friendly with the waiter and owner Joseph. Just say Michele and Michele recommended it.

The market is good on a Thursday and Saturday right opposite the hotel. Shop around for your cheep beer and wine is very cheap at most places. We always asked as a lot can charge you too much. We never went into any of the bars that were trying to get you in - there are a lot of people doing that.

We were a bit worried reading recent reports about this hotel but we would definately go back there -cant wait to!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Here is a honest review from someone who travels alot!
Hotel is gawjus when we pulled up in the taxi it was like wow,the room was lush the bath was huge loved everything about it.........other than the food it was not 5* more like 3* it was spotless but not our kind of thing we were b&b we only had breaky twice as its 2 busy and i think its all tastes cheap! stick to fried egg on toast or fruit!
There is a nice spanish bar 2 mins away think its called el duque we eat there every dinner time what a lovely place cheaper for food n drink than hotel and has all the sport on! the pools were lush and the weather was fab will defo be back but room only! Also if our friends Ron & Shiela from Hull read this sorry we didnt get to say goodbye we went for a steak with you guys on our 2nd lastnight and it was lovely send me a private message if you read this.
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We have just returned from 10 lovely days at this hotel. It was our second visit and it will certainly not be our last. The room are very spacious and are kept spotlessly clean, the food is excellent and the staff are so very helpful and friendly. This is a very good value Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £112 - £1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing