We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Gran Costa Adeje
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was our seventh stay at the Adeje Gran and once again we had a most enjoyable stay. As a returning customer you allways wonder if the standards have been maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and, as with the public areas are scruplously clean. The staff are helpfull and polite, nothing is to much trouble. We stayed on a half board basis and found the food plentifull and varied, as one writer
said 'you never come away hungry', I know some people have commented on vegies at breakfast but as there all nationalities in the hotel they have to have a wide selection, some of which seem a bit strange to us. We find we dont need lunch, a couple of biscuits is fine most days as we have eaten enough at breakfast. We did go down to the Plaza del Duque one afternoon as my husband just felt like a hamburger. We went to Cafe Rajissimo, they do delicious burgers, (real ground meat not pattie type), a large selecion of ices, cakes and pastries. I can't eat bread so the waiter went out of his way to make sure I had something I could eat.
Evening entertainment was varied and if anyyhing better than in previous years Seems that they really wanted to keep you at the hotel.
All in all a great holiday at a good hotel and we will be back in December.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,640)
There are newer reviews for GF Gran Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,696 - 4,702 of 5,641 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

Cannot fault this hotel in any respect. Clean well kept rooms, safe clean pools (4), pleasant staff, good food (probably far too much choice), good evening entertainment for all ages. No doubt there will be some reviewers for whom this is not enough but for us we were more than satisfied. Would have no qualms about returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathdoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

hotel has long since be a 5 star perhaps 4 star is nearer the mark , rooms clean services ok ,spent 25 mins booking in only one staff on the desk .and the food was very poor. wine was greatly over price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cliffy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

2nd time here asked for a pool view which we got.easy check-in.stayed b+b this time something for everyone.rooms large and clean.received chocolates and bottled water from porter nice touch must have remembered being a repeat guest.nice.plenty of cheap bars and restaurants around torviscas/fanabe bay.didnt drink too much in hotel pint of beer 3.50euro.great no reserve sunbed policy.also enjoyed peace and quiet around pools.hotel having all-inclusive option shortly.hope food standards dont deteriate.cant wait for our next 2weeks on dec1st.requested same room again on 2nd floor.roll on december.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicky1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Firstly the good points:-

We requesed two interconnecting rooms as we travelled with our two children aged 13 and 10, we were concerned about not getting them, but were extremely pleased and relieved that our request had been met, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is impressive when you arrive, beautiful big reception/lobby area and the rooms were very nice, unfortunately, the interconnecting rooms have a road view, but we were just pleased to have them so it didn't matter to us. The rooms were spacious with nice big bathrooms and a separate toilet area.
Everything in all areas was extremely clean.
The pool area was lovely, lots of trees, free use of hotel pool towels so no need to take your own unless your going to the beach, pools a bit chilly, but warmer than some we have been to.
The hotel is about a five minute walk down a hill to Duque Plaza and beach which was very nice (beware though, they wanted 25 Euros for three sunbeds for the day), the Plaza is full of designer shops and is therefore very expensive, as are the bars along the beach, on our last night we had two non-alcholic cocktails and two Baileys and it came to 26 Euros!!!!! However, you are paying to stay in a lovely area with nice people, not a lager lout in sight!! Downside, you have to walk back up the hill!!!

Now the not quite so good points:-

The beds were awful, we didn't sleep well all week and couldn't wait to land on ours when we got home, they were really hard and made spring noises when you turned over, also the air conditioning wasn't up to much, it wasn't really hot when we were there, but i'm not sure how it would be if the temperature rose to 80 degrees.

The entertainment was disappointing, lets face it, you don't go to these places expecting much, but other than a couple of acts, it was pretty bad, but the worst thing was, other than one night, all the entertainment was held in the bar/lobby area and not in the lovely function room, we couldn't understand it, so this made it difficult to see unless you were sitting at the tables at the front, because the acts were at ground level.

Finally - good / not quite so good - food

The cold starter buffet was lovely and we mostly enjoyed what was on offer and had plenty, but the main hot courses were not as good, the meat was rubbery most of the time, fish was good, everything else a little bland, but on the whole we were reasonably pleased with what we ate.

Staff we helpful and friendly, probably not really a 5* hotel, but with a bit of extra polish it could be.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Just returned from a 2nd relaxing stay at the Costa Adeje Gran. Booked only 3 days before going and got better deal by booking flights and hotel seperately (although both with Thomson group). I contacted the hotel before we left to ask for a room on a high floor and we got exactly that.
The rooms are still very good and have little extras (slippers, gowns, nice toiletries), hairdryer was very good, no iron in the room (but borrowed one from reception!). there is a fridge in the room which can be stocked by the Hotel or , as we did, take your own duty-free and buy the mixers from the supermarket for drinks on the balcony watching the sunset! (Mmmmmm I want to be back there now!)
We had a wonderful holiday, but if i'm very honest the hotel is in need of a little touch up here and there now and as commented by others the food could be slightly better (although you would have to be very, very fussy to not beable to find something to eat each evening as there was a large selection).
We loved the Rooftop pool area and after a morning on the Playa del Duque would enjoy catching every last bit of sun up there.
The Bar in the Foyer area is really great for a pre-dinner Gin & Tonic and after dinner Coffee! They have the evening entertainment here too if you want to just stay around to watch and I must say it's probably one of the better shows that we have seen in hotels! Often the other clients were up salsa, jiving, and having a boggie!
On this return visit we did really notice the prices in the hotel & local bars had gone up a lot! (& two beach beds & umbrella on Playa Del Duque euro 18.50 for the day!). Some lovely Restaurants for lunch and sangria, by the beach too.......
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LynnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed last week. Got a cheap deal through sunshine.co.uk for half board. My only criteria was a 5 star half board. (Stayed at bahia del duque previously) I would rate the hotel as a good 4 star and this is why i cant score it 5/5. It loses points on food - see later (but in saying that we did eat there most nights).
Good location - 5 minute stroll downhill to the nicest playa in tenerife - playa del duque.
Impressive foyer with friendly staff at reception booking in, although we had to find the room ourselves. Room was spacious and impressive for the price and very clean, with a sea view. Free wi fi in the room and foyer. The hotel is shaped in a "U" with the best room views in the inner bend of the U overlooking the pools and the sea - rooms *73 - *86(i think) on each level. The mountain view is nice too but the view from the outer sides of the hotel overlook roads and other hotels so try for an inner room.
Yes, there is no mini bar as such. But there is a fridge. You can ask for the fridge to be stocked with any drink you want and you will then be charged at quite reasonable mini bar prices. We bought bubbles in the supermarket and used the minibar for that. There is no kettle in the room but if you want to drink tea, stay at home!
I liked the idea of not being able to "reserve" seats by the pool until 10am - more hotels should do this. Spacious clean pool areas with well maintained grounds, and a separate (if noisy!) childrens pool. Mostly young families and couples staying, english, german and russian with a few spanish.
The usual "so bad its good" evening entertainment, but dont sit up front or youll be dragged on stage.
The only downside is the food. The food is not 5 star- but at the price we got it was difficult to complain too much. Breakfasts were more disappointing than dinner. The "fresh" juice is indeed SHOCKING! It is actually orange, peach and pineapple cordial. The coffee in the morning is equally as diluted so stick to tea but make sure you specifically ask for boiling water instead of warm! They served chips and green beans/hot sweetcorn/peas at breakfast for some reason. Yes the bacon is dodgy but ive yet to find any spanish hotel that differs.
Tinned pineapple, tinned fruit cocktail, and tinned peaches were on offer instead of fresh fruit which is not 5 star standard. Fresh but unsliced and unpeeled kiwis, grapefruit, melon, bananas and apples eased the pain a bit. Crepes were cold and pre-prepared rather than freshly cooked in front of you. Breakfast otherwise good but i really would expect fresh squeezed juices and comprehensive fresh fruit at a 5 star hotel.
Dinner was grand but not exceptional.

If the weather is bad hire a car(not from hotel - cheaper in town) and go up the volcano and drive down the other side through the middle of the clouds. Avoid sightseeing in puerto de la cruz - dirty. Los gigantes has stunning cliff backdrops but is a bit too southend/eastbourne-on-sea and elderly, with shops priding themselves on "supplying a huge range of Iceland frozen foods"!
Go down to the Playa del duque seafront and have a coffee or beer there instead. Avoid the other playas - cheap and tacky.

Overall a very enjoyable holiday. Dont pay the main dealer prices though. This hotel scores well on value for money but if i was paying full prices it would lose two or three stars in this review. If you get a good deal- grab it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dangermouse666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Gran Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Gran Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Costa Adeje Gran Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £117 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GF Gran Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GF Gran Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife
GF Gran Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing