We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Apartments”
Review of HOVIMA Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Santa Maria
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
SUNDERLAND
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartments”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We travel to The Santa Maria on Friday June 6th 2014 and we had arranged private apartments on this complex from Denise Hammond.We did not arrive till late evening and we were met by Denise and shown to our apartments of which we had Three rooms 804 805 1012
these apartments were like been at home with all the personal touchs it made our stay more pleasurable.
The Santa Maria its self was superb for location and offered great facilities the pool bar was
very reasonable with its prices both for food and drink and as we were self catering of which we wanted for nothing in the rooms from full cooking facilitesLarge Oven and Hob with microwave large fridge freezer
toasters taosty making machine washing machine fully air conditioned and free safety deposit box in room wgat more could you ask for, however there is ample places to eat and drink.Must reccomend the Indian below the complex Ghandis superb food and the bar next to it the Place2 Be Hosts paul and his wife are most accomodation and its only $1.50 a pint.

Room Tip: all rooms have there good point other than rooms on low ground which face a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUDSUNDERLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, thank you for your comments regarding our hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    577
    307
    84
    74
See reviews for
497
595
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in private apartments booked through
Holidays4u.org on a number of occasions. The properties have always been immaculate and as described. I cannot sing Karens praises enough, she always goes that one step further to help. Best company I have ever booked through.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gvann14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location and new owners are making changes for the better but and it is only a but, the cleaners need to have more attention to detail, missing parts of the room is the norm.

I would advise upgrading to the 1 bed room rather than apartment due to space.

If you have a meal option please take into account that there will be plenty of Eastern Europeans and that the food cannot be replenished as fast as they either eat or save in their bags for dinner so be prepared, the outside balcony area is a pure pleasure to sit in.

Most of the staff are helpful but one lifeguard is lazy, constantly away from the pool or on his mobile, so watch your family close.

If it's your first time to this hotel, get a map of the area so you can go to many excellent eateries not in the immediate vicinity and be prepared for some hills but the Irish Fiddler at the top is worth the walk with a nice cold beer and snacks.

Overall the hotel is improving and is a mix between the hotel rooms and private owners but you are all the same when it comes to the pool so there really is no need to reserve sun beds, which are modern and not plastic, as the sun hits the pool from the bar side about 10am and goes down by the kids pool at 7 to 8pm regarding time of year.

Wifi is available free but only in the reception but you can pay for the upgrade to use everywhere and it is a bit slow but it does ok as I am using now to type this while waiting for transport to airport.

The safe in the rooms are to be paid for so do this on arrival as you may well be far from the reception.

Good tip is that there is sun bathing areas on the roofs so if your in block 800 just walk up the stairs to 900 and go an extra floor to the area and in the main block, take the lift by the library to the top floor and take the stairs to the top and your there and the views are exceptional and 360 degrees.

Overall I would give 3 out of 5

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the 1 or 2 bedroom apartments..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience cause.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arrived 11pm on 10/06/2014...i dont know what people are going on about moody, unhelpful staff, we found all staff inc reception, maids, restaurant staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Hotel is very clean although on one occassion we did have to ask to have the room cleaned as they hadnt done anything it....on the other hand rooms generally weel kept. Bathroom good size, shower and bath also a hairdryer.

We were HB and the room had a cooker hob, microwave, kettle, toaster which was i deal if you missed breakfast or just wanted a little snack during the day. The also had a flatscreen samsung tv with a variety of english channel inc itv, bbc 1,2 channel5 and 4.

The only gripe i had is that ppl reserve sun loungers and it clearly states around the pool that this is not to be done but when it is done and a lot it is the rule is no enforced so i enforced it myself and removed two towels from sunbeds from a family who hadnt been there allday.

Food at hotel is good, variety at breakfast, evening meal always lots of choice.

We paid for internet in our room which was 25 euros for 7 days and the safe was 24 euros for the 10 day stay we had.

I would well recommend this hotel to everyone.

OVERALL THIS IS A GOOD HOTEL AND WHEN WE COME BACK TO TENERIFE WE WILL BE STAYING AT THE SANTA MARIA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackem-lad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your opinion regarding our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORQUAY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel in March, me my husband and our 3 year old son, very pleased with every thing ,staff, room, location, food was a little basic but a big selection and you couldn't complain for the low cost holiday that we paid,very child friendly , the kids pool is fantastic with spongy soft non slip flooring, will defently return,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank desmond191082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked with "On the Beach" flew from Birmingham arrived at about 6-30pm. Got a taxi from the airport to the hotel, only costs 25 Euros, far better than waiting for the coach to fill up and the taxi goes straight to the hotel entrance, no carrying your cases up the hill.
We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed it every time. It is situated right in the middle of everything. Walk out of the hotel, down the slope about 50 yds and there is an Indian restaurant, at the bottom of the slope is a Chinese restaurant. Turn left and about 100 yds is Amanda's bar, great shows and good food. Cross the road and down the hill and your right in the middle of everything. Loads of bars and restaurants with plenty of entertainment.
Back to the hotel.
Checking in was easy, we had booked 'bed and breakfast' but only went once, quite frankly it wasn't worth the bother. Our room had a sea view it was clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV which you can get all the British programmes. There is only one problem with the rooms and its a big problem, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. What you do get is a fan over the bed which sends the hot air around the room even faster, but does not cool the room. We had a lovely balcony that had the sun on it until 7pm.
As I've said, we have been here several times and will come again, but if the Santa Maria's management reads these reviews, PLEASE PLEASE install AIR CONDITIONING.

Room Tip: We had room 237 excellent sea view, we will ask for this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel they help us to improve day by day. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We are here still in the santa maria . We have come over from Whitby North Yorkshire in England . This hotel is excellent ! Rooms are perfect ! We only came b&b and wish we came all inclusive as food is excellent ! Lovely pool and chill out area . Very clean and friendly . Lovely atmosphere and only a 2 min walk to the beach and shops ! We only have 2 days left here and already planning our next visit . Can not fault this hotel at all. :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello, Thank you very much for your opinion about us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.3 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#30 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.8 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Suites
Flamingo Suites
#38 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Santa Maria

Property: HOVIMA Santa Maria
Address: Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deal for couples and family vacations in Tenerife. The HOVIMA Santa María in Costa Adeje , is situated in a special place of the Island of Tenerife, in a leisure and commercial area. From 300m of the beach and 350m of the harbor Colón. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your HOVIMA Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Aparthotel Santa Maria Adeje
Santa Maria Tenerife
Aparthotel Santa Maria Hotel Adeje
HOVIMA Santa Maria Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing