We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny faults”
Review of HOVIMA Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Santa Maria
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just came back from this hotel and already looking into having another stay! We stayed in one of the private apartments which was lovely, very quiet and peaceful!
We never had any problems at the hotel at all! Was in a lovely surrounding area, and the supermarket is just down the hill!
Meals out in the area were very cheap make sure you try ghandis Indian it was amazing!
Only little problems: not enough sunbeds at the pool for such a large hotel and also the size of the pools are tiny for the size of the hotel!
We never tried the food as we were self catering but we never heard one complain about it what's so ever, and if I saw it it looked lovely anyway!
Would love to come back, all in all great holiday!

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank Annagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear customers, thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked this hotel only days beforehand from limited choice and availability for the time we wanted to travel. After booking, we checked tripadvisor reviews and realised the rooms did not have air conditioning. We took two portable fans for the room which had one ceiling fan, glad we did because even though they helped a bit, the rooms were still uncomfortable at times especially at night while sleeping. This was bearable but avoidable with an air con system. On occasions, we would leave the spare key in the slot with our extra fans running while we were out, only to find the maid had removed the key on our return. However, the girl on reception gave us another spare key without any fuss saying the cleaners keep doing that so someone must be telling them to? Here's a list of positives and negatives so you can decide if its right for you.
Positives
Good location for bars, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, and about 300 metres downhill to the beach, uphill coming back ofcourse.
Mostly friendly and helpful staff on reception and in the restaurant.
Food was acceptable for dinner (we were half board) for 3 star standards.
Rooms had kitchen facilities and a fridge and sitting area with TV including english channels.
Decent pool area, pool not massive but seemed adequate, sunbeds usually available although we chose to use the higher sun terrace which was quieter and had an open air shower.
Negatives
No air conditioning in rooms which made it uncomfortable on occasions, especially at night when sleeping.
Beds and pillows were uncomfortable for us, we've experienced better.
Cleaning done most days but we found floors and balcony weren't always cleaned.
Breakfast choice and quality limited and repetitive, didn't think much of the bacon and you have to wait for things to come out of the kitchen as they wait until they run out first (not unusual to wait 5-10 minutes for some things, eg fried eggs)
Drinks at the pool bar very expensive (3-30 euros for a beer, 1-50 euros in the bar just outside the hotel. No milk shakes, no frappes, no atmosphere, so not used much. This is a shame as it would be used much more if the prices and choices were right bearing in mind a lot of people including couples and families use the pool areas, its an important part of the holiday isn't it?
Overall, we paid peak season prices in July for what we would describe as an average 3 star accommodation which would be much more enhanced and appreciated with a few of the negatives improved which is certainly achievable.
Therefore, our personal view is we would choose somewhere else next time until improvements were implemented, but wouldn't want to give the opinion to others it is a bad hotel, just not for us. It does have some good things going for it so you decide depending on your circumstances.

Room Tip: Rooms facing all directions and different levels so better to ask depending on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couplein50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear customers, thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Please, receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked via Jet 2.com Holiday package for 7 days half board plus. Our studio apartment with sea view (335) was very comfortable. Stayed 6-13 July and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Hired a portable Aircon unit for 60 euros. Food was good with plenty of choice. Hotel is in a good position with many bars/restaurants and shops in walking distance and also the harbour and beaches. There was a Hyper Dino supermarket across from hotel and a taxi rank.

Room Tip: Sea view studio spacious - room 335
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jools201080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear customers, we thank you the comments regarding our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times over the years and have never been disappointed. It is very clean, and has a great pool area. It is in a good location, close to bars and restaurants, and just a short walk to the beach. Would definitely Recommend the Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackieandbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear customers, we thank you your opinion regarding our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 6th June 2014 2 weeks in studio apartment
Reception staff are efficient and mainly friendly. 38 Euros charge for safe for two weeks.. But they've got you there as wouldn't want to risk being burgled!.

Studio apartment was spacious and clean. Beds comfortable. Had 5th floor apartment with sea view looking over to our right. . Always plenty of hot water. Linen changed frequently. Had small kitchen with 2 ring hob, toaster and microwave ,fridge with ice making compartment.. Noise level wasn't too bad. The usual high heels clicking above and people deciding to move all their furniture about from time to time ! Didn't hear any noise from bars etc.. ever, where we were located.

The pool area was very good. Kept clean. Plenty of sunbeds, never had a problem getting one at any time of day when we were there. Music was sometimes played. I would have liked more of this. But realise that not everyone likes it. The pool bar was very good, reasonable priced food friendly staff. Drinks a bit more expensive than outside hotel, But there are loads of bars very near at hand where you can get for instance Beer for 1 Euro a pint!

We stayed half board but ate out a lot, only because we got this holiday at a very reasonable price, and like to ring the changes. We know the area well and like many of the restaraunts outside. We will book room only next time we stay here, which we will do!
The breakfast and dinner were okay for what you pay. Remember its a *** hotel and very good
value for what you get. You get a good variety of food both at breakfast and evening meal.
A tip here. If you take your card to reception and ask if you can have lunch instead, book the day before. They book you in for lunch at the pool bar. This was very, very good. And in our opinion was much better than the evening meal in the main restaurant! Try it!

Santa Maria is in a prime location. Supermarkets very near at hand and other shops. Good restaurants nearby. And many , many more within 10 to 15 min walk. The beach is about 10 min walk away. You will find that you have chosen a great spot for everything you need, including Siam Park.
Try the Moonlight Bar, our favourite! Sit outside by day and have a cool drink looking out to sea. And at night either sit out or come in and watch karaoke..... or sing if you like !! from 10.00 to 11.30 pm. Then cabaret comes on till 2pm and more karaoke for night owls!. All great acts. Drinks are reasonably priced, you don't get ripped off. All the bar staff are friendly. Mick the bar manager works really hard to keep the place running well! Lee is the compère who is great at this! All major sports shown on big screens too.
I recommend to eat: Victorias near hotel. 3 courses for about 8 euros. Peking Palace Chinese buffet near hotel. About 9 euros eat all you like... i think. The Sun inn.... great for good home cooking, make sure you are hungry! Ghandi Indian attached to the hotel... very good. But you will soon see there are many ,many good places to eat.

All in all I recommend Santa Maria for a very good holiday in Tenerife. For what you pay you will not do better. We will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fairweather54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear customers, We thank you the comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Santa Maria last week. The apartment we stayed in was immaculate and lots of space with a fridge, toaster, hob, kettle and microwave. The rm was cleaned if u put a notice on the door requesting it to b cleaned. Breakfast was plentiful, loads of choice, hot and cold and plenty of drinks. Food was constantly being refilled. Free wifi in reception. Only one negative, Swimming pool 2 small for size of hotel and not enough sunbeds for amount of people and everyone puts towels on them by 6.30 in the morning, annoying!!! Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear customers, thenk you very much for your opinion regarding our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just got back from a stay at this hotel (this is an honest review of our stay)
Firstly could not fault the accomadation
2nd we was on bed and breakfast food and choice excellent
3rd cleaning of room 5star
4th this is the only criticism we have is the reception desk should be a little customer friendly.We had no problem we checking until we asked to higher a safe and was told sternly by an elderly lady come back in an hour which all she had to do was take my money and issue us with instructions .
Would we yes there was notices all over the hotel about saving sun beds as our room over looked the pool area from about 7ish all you could here was sun beds being moved and towels put on sun beds whilst we spent a day around the pool we did notice the towels put out earlier with no one in sight till later in the day some times 6 hours later

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bigalan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.3 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#28 of 60 in Costa Adeje
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
#21 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#47 of 60 in Costa Adeje
1,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Santa Maria

Address: Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £52 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deal for couples and family vacations in Tenerife. The HOVIMA Santa María in Costa Adeje , is situated in a special place of the Island of Tenerife, in a leisure and commercial area. From 300m of the beach and 350m of the harbor Colón. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HOVIMA Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Aparthotel Santa Maria Adeje
Santa Maria Tenerife
Aparthotel Santa Maria Hotel Adeje
HOVIMA Santa Maria Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing