We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Olid Apartments
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the food”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from our 2 week holiday the room and the staff are fantaisc. We had the one of the modern rooms which are lovely shame there is no air con in the rooms. Unfortunately that where it stops the food was repetive and
cold. every night is the same we spend most of our time in the Wigan pier across the road which has amazing food

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueensHotelNewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    864
    374
    120
    66
See reviews for
772
783
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Playa Olid is only a 3 star, so I we arrived open minded. The refurbished apartment we had was lovely, clean with good maid service. All other areas seemed to be clean, maids even busy cleaning the sunbeds in the morning.We used to sunbathe on the first floor area, up from the pool, where there was always sunbeds available at all times of the day, as the pool area could get crowded. Never had no problem with the pool bar service, and of course drinks are going to served in plastic cups, can't risk broken glass around the pool.
The food wasn't the best, and the restaurant was more like a school canteen, but it is only 3 star, so you can't expect fillet steak every night !!! We only used the restaurant twice in the evening, but used every day for breakfast and this was fine.
The location was good, 10 mins from lovely beach, and bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes.
We would definately go to Costa Adeje again, and possibly even stay at these apartments, but only on self catering, as it's so cheap to eat and drink out.
Overall, a good base, but only average dining.........but it's only a 3 star, if you want 5 star service, you have to pay 5 star prices.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the refurbished 1 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgcjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Costa Adeje Tenerife itself is a beautiful place to stay with lovely views, shops & restaurants and id definitely go again but the Playa Olid Hotel was terrible and id never stay there again. Its a 3 star hotel so I cant be too harsh and maybe I wouldnt be feeling quite so disappointed if I hadnt paid as much as I did to stay there for 2 weeks but when youve paid MUCH less for ALOT better only 2 months before this particular holiday I feel completely ripped off. On arrival the staff were very miserable and unwelcoming and people were walking through the lobby wearing just there bikinis so not a great first impression. Our room was 5 floors up despite requesting a pool view, which to be fair im glad we didn't get now because of the noise but the downside was we had to get 2 lifts just to get to our room. I cant knock our room apartment as it was much nicer than expected but only because we were given a refurbished room, thank god really because we spent a lot of time in there evenings and that was only because the entertainment was budget standard and very repetitive just like the food. Only bad thing about the room was no air conditioning so we had to have all windows open to sleep which was very noisy.The dining area was far from fine dining more like cafeteria style eating. The food was as bad as the entertainment, seriously repetitive. If you like hotdogs, chips, chicken nuggets & burgers everyday & night then this is the holiday for you. The bar staff seemed friendlier than the management but every drink you get is very small and your only allowed to order one at a time, apparently to stop the queues from building but you've basically finished your small sized drink before you've even got back to your seat so have to go back again anyway. Don't expect pint size because you don't even get half measures here, only watered down drinks. My real gripe is I took lots of lovely dresses to wear to dinner night times but it seems that the in thing in this hotel is to wear your bikini 24x7 even whilst eating and the management do and say nothing about this. Me and my partner ended up sunbathing on the first floor next to a cold shower because there weren't many sunbeds beside the 2 very small pools and what was there was very crammed in and i didn't fancy sitting or sunbathing almost on top of total strangers to be honest. We thought we would have a go in the hotels hot tub before we left, only 5 euro's for half an hour, wasn't bad really after pulling out the empty plastic glasses floating in the water. As you can see I don't recommend this hotel but Tenerife itself is great and id definitely visit again just stay in a 4 star hotel next time.

Room Tip: Id personally ask for the highest floor away from the hotel noise but you cant really escape it tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It beggars belief that people return to this crap hole, year after year. Have just returned from two weeks there, never again. The rooms were pleasant and one member of staff couldnt do enough for us but thats where the pleasantries end. The food was disgusting, repetative and cold. The rest of the staff were as miserable as sin. The swimming pools were no bigger than duck ponds and they were filthy, you could see the scum and hairs floating on the surface and ive come home with ear infections. As for the entertainment, that was laughable. The only decent thing was the regular visits to the original wigan pier, many,many thanks to charlie and his team.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we have just returned from ten days at playa olid... we have no complaints on the hotel its self .The food was always edible and the staff was always polite it was clean BUT there is no air con and to our mistake my partner who is asmatic opened our patio doors the first night we was there for an hour at roughly 3.30 am in the morning unfortunately for us he fell asleep on the couch and woke up an hour later to discover some one had come straight past him into the bedroom where I was asleep and wiped us straight out of all our money phones camera driving licences and bank cards .... we know this was an inside job even the reception told us that every time this security was on there was a problem .. the security went straight to our room after we reported it and walked over every path the thief have took covering up his own tracks realy ...there is cctv there but it showed nobody leaveing the premises after this had happened .. my son who works for south Yorkshire police as looked up this hotel and realised that this is not by far the first time this has happened to the hotel....please if your goin there don't make the same mistake as we did keep your valuables safe and your windows and door shut

Room Tip: the old rooms are very worn and not so welcoming get the upgrade if you can and ask for a high room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Playa olid was a excellent hotel we have just arrived home after a fantastic weeks holiday. The only thing to let this hotel down is it does not have air conditioning. The rooms are massive, modern, very clean, and comfortable. The 3 pools were great, clean and the entertainment by the poolside for adults and kids was superb.The restaurant was spotless the food was good and the staff were very friendly. The hotel had entertainment on every night which I can't comment on as we went out at night but it was nice to have the option if we had stayed in. We would recommend this family orientated hotel to anyone we had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank archangelScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed AI from 8th September for 1 week, age 2,29,32 and 64. We had one of the new rooms (112A) This room was great and really clean. Only problem was no air con and it was boiling at night. We did try and sleep with the windows open but the road next to the hotel was really noisy we had to keep it closed.

Food- was ok and was to a 3 star standard. Snack bar was good but was only open for a short time each day.

Pools were quite small and I felt could do with a bit of a tidy up as they looked a bit shabby. We spent most of our time by the kids pool and down on the beach.

We had a great week for the price we paid. I wasn't keen on the food but we never went hungry. Drinks were fine and our 2 year old loved the kids disco and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rounwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.4 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
#54 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#30 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#44 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Olid Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Olid Apartments

Property: Playa Olid Apartments
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 18, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#38 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Olid Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Olid Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Olid Apartments Hotel Costa Adeje
Playa Olid Apartments Costa Adeje, Tenerife
Playa Olid Apartments Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing