We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2012, we were really looking forward to going back again, for our 2 week break from 03-17th May 2013. What a mistake! This hotel has deteriorated dramatically since our last visit. The hotel is listed as 4* but I think that a 3* rating would be more accurate. Perhaps when the workmen who are currently renovating the 2 top floors, have finished the complete scheduled overhaul by the end of this year, the hotel will once again be truly a 4*. Although certain areas of one of the two pools was cordoned of due to the falling debris, sunbathers could still be showered with little bits and pieces of rubble and dust, and the noise from 0800 onwards was very irritating to say the least. Internally, the hotel could do with a freshen up and some cosmetic surgery. The bedrooms are very dated and the furniture is very worn and in urgent need of replacement. Many of the staff are exceptional, particularly the restaurant, maids and pool side bar staff, but I found the reception staff in the main and particularly, the hotel managers people skills, absolutely shocking! Staff look towards management for guidance and training, and clearly took the hotel Directors total disregard for his guests as company policy. Unfortunately, we have already booked to go back to the Bouganville Playa for Christmas and New Year, but if I can change our booking I will.

Room Tip: Corner room balconies are bigger and therefor get much more sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review on your recent holiday in our Iberostar Bouganville Playa. Comments like yours are very important to us as they help us focus on the areas we can still improve to deliver a perfect holiday to our guests, which is our main goal.

We are sorry to read that, despite the fact that you were looking forward to coming back to our Hotel with such expectations, we had at the time of your stay, started some refurbishment on our 3 top floors in order to deliver an even better holiday experience to our guests, we tried our best to keep the noise down as much as possible and lament that you have been disturbed at an early hour in the morning.

To continue, we would like to come back to your comment regarding our reception staff. We have procedures to guarantee an excellent service from each and every staff member from management downwards, we lay high value on our employees being guest oriented, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum satisfaction. Therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

Furthermore, we are pleased to read such a good review on our restaurant, maids and pool bar staff, and will immediately congratulate them on their professionalism.

We look forward to receiving you again for Christmas and New Year and we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, doing our very best to surprise you positively during your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 3,933 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Been to this hotel 7 times.e mailed hotel to see if I could get a side sea view room.When we checked in we got our room plus a btl of bubbly was chilling waiting our arrival.Staff are very friendly and helpful.Food in the hotel is excellent plenty of choice.The rooms are clean they have started to update the rooms starting on first two top floors .would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Side sea rooms get sunshine in evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 61Lou3394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is the second time in last three years hubby and I stayed here.We knew what we were getting this time so no surprises,yes the hotel is dated though refurb is taking place but the staff are very friendly and the location is great.it is not a four or five star but probably was in the past.we just booked room only this time as last time we ate and drank out most of the time so not value for money but this time we did the right thing,room was basic(129)but had all we needed with no ripped curtains or loose tiles.the room was located above the lobby terrace so we looked out to a flat roof,so what we hardly used the room as we walked and did the pool most days.the pool area is good but only thing that bugged me was the loungers and parasols being secured by majority of residents by sunrise ,I heard two elderly British couples talking at the pool and they set their alarms so they secure a spot with loungers parasols chairs and tables.I watched a family consisting of mum granny and child try to find a chair round the pool for granny and in the end they had to ask a member of staff to find one for them.Lots of folk don't even use the pool area until late in the afternoon after they have been to the beach yet towels and personal belongings are left so no one will take the loungers.we would go back and I think it will be a four star when refurb is complete but at the rate they are going it will be a few years yet.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank reffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to express our gratitude for your second visit to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel and for the time you spent writing this review so we are able to know where we can still improve to offer unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests.
We regret that apparently we failed to ensure that the hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds was respected during your visit. We will do our utmost to make sure that in the future this doesn´t happen again.

On the other hand we are happy to read your nice words towards our staff which is one of our main strengths, we will certainly congratulate them for their kindness and professionalism as we are sure they will be happy to be mentioned positively in your review and to have contributed to your well-being during your holidays with us.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again in Tenerife.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and have stayed here 4 times in all. This is a very good hotel but is sadly let down by the rooms which are 2 to 3 star at most, we were in room 203 which was in a very poor state, my mattress was flattened and very worn, curtains off the rails and dilapidated furniture, I went to reception and asked for a room change which was no problem, the staff are very good I was allocated room 208, which also had dilapidated furniture and the TV wasn't working, to be fair when you report any thing that is wrong with the room they do their best to fix it.
The saving grace is the food which is close to 5 star, I defy anyone to go in to the restaurant and say they can't find anything they like, I have stayed in several 4and 5 star hotels here and this hotel has the best food.
Another problem were sunbeds and umberellas which were being saved in the morning it wasnt the Germans it was the Brits that were the culprits age group 70 and over if you left your bed they would take anything they wanted .
This is a good Hotel if you get a good price dont pay over the odds otherwise book the sister hotel the Las Dalias across the road thats been refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhedwards48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we are delighted to read that it is your fourth visit to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel and we thank you for the time you spent writing a review on your last experience as it helps us understand how we can still improve to deliver outstanding holiday memories to our guests.
We are aware that our hotel is not of new construction, this is why it has been decided to proceed with an extensive refurbishment for our guests to enjoy comfortable and brand new accommodations.

Also, we regret that apparently we failed to ensure that the hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds, was respected during your visit. We will do our utmost to make sure that in the future this doesn´t happen again.

On the other hand, we also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. The helpfulness and kindness of our employees is one of our main strengths and we are very grateful that you value it so highly.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our Chefs. In IBEROSTAR we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests, and it is enjoyable to read that you found our offer being close to a 5 star establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the near future,
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel from 3rd May-6th May B&B.
The hotel has been listed as a 4 star hotel and is probably a 4 star, but the rooms are certainly not. Rooms can at best be given a rating of 2 stars. The rooms are extremely dated, they have a dingy smell, furniture is well worn out and so are the curtains and the bed sheets and the towels. The hotel does not provide any kettle or coffee/tea making facility in the room. There are no full length mirrors in the rooms either. TV provided in the rooms are small CRTs.

The hotel has 3 swimming pools and plenty of space (sun beds) around them. One of the pools is a small baby pool which is nice if you are travelling with a baby/toddler.None of the pools are heated though. Restaurant is reasonably spacious and was well managed during the breakfast times.(We had only booked B&B). There was plenty of variety although the food was more towards blandish.
There was a small play area for small children which was quite nice.
It is very nicely located with the beaches at Playa de las americas just a 10 minute walk away and Los Chritianos a 10 minute drive away.

The hotel staff were very helpful and polite.
Although I was quite disappointed with the state of the rooms I will still not mind checking in here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drifter1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,
As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest satisfaction, we are glad for the time you spent writing a review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel.
Knowing that our hotel is not of new construction and even though we have a professional maintenance department in charge of the minor repairs that may be needed on a day by day basis, an extensive refurbishment of different areas of the hotel is taking place and is due to finish end of June.
Further we are very grateful for the nice comment related to our staff as they work very hard to deliver outstanding services to our guests doing their best to make them feel welcome and well cared for, we thank you for highlighting their good will and helpfulness on your review.
Last but not least, it is enjoyable to read that you appreciated the perfect location to enjoy the golden beaches of the Costa Adeje and the numerous shopping and leisure opportunities nearby.
We hope you stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be and look forward to your next visit to our refurbished hotel.
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds, Yorkshire
14
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. It's clean and the service is very good. We asked to change room because of noisy neighbours and were moved the very next day without any hassle. The lower floors have been refurbished and are therefore more modern. The upper floors are a little more dated, but still very clean. The food is great, with a good choice every day, I can be a bit fussy, but didn't have any problems finding something nice to eat. We would recommend the hotel, and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

just had a fantastic week here 21st april.the hotel is really good, food is great ,you would be better staying home if you could not find anything to eat in this hotel.staff brilliant ,very clean and pools excellent.the bedrooms need a bit updating, bathrooms very clean towels changed every day.no need to take beach towels as the have a pool towel service.i would like to thank 118 travel who i did my booking with.there site is simple and easy to book with, and if you have to call them they are very helpful and friendly.i would certainly book with them again and return to this hotel.
ann and friends eccles.

Room Tip: side or sea views would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,104 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £89 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Iberostar, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing