We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware building work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

i returned on 25/5/13 after a 1 week stay. hotel is a bit tired but food and entertainment good.building work spoiled my stay.work starts around the pool from 10am to 6pm and is nonstop and LOUD,LOUD,LOUD-constant hammering and drilling. management stated this work is ongoing and will be due to finish in OCTOBER!! be aware of this when booking as i was not notified when i booked

Room Tip: building work on top 3 floors and on lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaymaker213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa as we are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the refurbishment of our three top floors but as this hotel is open all year long we had no other choice than starting the works with our guests onsite, and would like to point out that the entire floor below has been closed to sale in order to reduce the noise as much as possible and that we also made sure that all safety standards were being respected; Moreover we would like to clarify the estimation for the end of the work, we are sorry to say that you have been misinformed in this regard as all Management onsite knows that the refurbishment is due to finish end of June 2013.

In IBEROSTAR we believe that the culinary part of your holiday is very important and therefore we only work with professional chefs, using products of prime quality, we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our buffets and we thank you for highlighting this point on your review together with our entertainment offer, we will certainly pass on your satisfaction with their services to our staff as all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations.

Hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and we stay at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. Our main goal being to make our guests enjoy a splendid holiday, we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you choose the IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Location is good with lots of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance

The rooms and hotel are dated but the place was clean and the staff very friendly

We had half board breakfast and dinner. The staff in the restaurant were very good and the place was kept turning over. The food was well presented and looked appetizing but a lot of it tasted fairly bland so you had to choose carefully what you were having consequently we ate out some nights.

16 euros to rent an in-room safe is a rip off. I travel a lot for work internationally and these safes are usually provided at no extra charge but I haven’t been to Spain for some years so it might be a Spanish thing aimed to take money off the tourists

1Euro for 10 minutes on the internet is less than competitive when there are local bars with free wifi and internet cafes not too far away and when you log in there is an option to join a Tenerife wifi and they want you to pay a charge for a site that aims to inform/sell you local services

Then there was building work, jack hammers on the roof, scaffolding being put up, angle grinders running and lots of apologies for any inconvenience. Its not good enough

If I had gone there with my partner or on my own I would have not been happy but the company I was with and the fact that we went out most of the time made up it

I would go back to the resort I would not use this hotel

Room Tip: watch the film 'the shining' to get an idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lightupthedarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor about your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel as we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success.

We are aware that our hotel isn´t of new construction that is why we have started a refurbishment of our three top floors in order to offer a comfortable accommodation to all our guests. As this hotel is open all year long we had no other choice than starting the works with our guests onsite, and would like to point out that the entire floor below has been closed to sale in order to reduce the noise as much as possible; we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to inform you that the main part has been done and we are finalizing the rooms at this time.

In addition, we took good note of your remarks related to our culinary offer and we are sorry about your disappointment. The gastronomy is one of the pillars of our chain and we can assure you that it is essential for us that our customers enjoy our cuisine. We have passed your constructive critics to the head of the department and we are checking the protocols in order to guarantee the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Moreover, we would like to explain why the internet access and safe are not included in the price of the stay. As we want to be able to offer a wide choice in disposable services and have studied the needs and desire of the average guest that visits us, we know that not all of them are willing to spend on items they consider unnecessary. Therefore we established the method and policy of adjusting the price to the basic needs, while offering the possibility to amplify according to personal wishes and preferences.

On the other hand we thank you for highlighting the excellent location within a walking distance to the many restaurants, shopping and leisure opportunities nearby and the cares of our very friendly staff, as all of them work very hard striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. And last but not least, the cleanliness of our inside and outside installations. In IBEROSTAR we always strive to meet and even surpass all expectations related to hygiene and cleanliness, it is very satisfactory to see that in this area we have been successful and this motivates us to perform even better.

We will take into consideration all of your comments and will try our very best to surprise you positively if you decide to honor us with a new visit in our hotels & resorts over the globe.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel overall was good but let down by the entertainers who mimmed everything. So we tried outside & nearby was a bar with good singers. Try Mon & Fri evenings to see "Mr D".
The hotel has a back gate which needs your room key to open. Supposed to close @ 11pm but we used it @ midnight & saves a long walk up to main entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keenchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were on holiday from 3rd May - 17th May having stayed at this hotel for over 13 years we always look forward to coming back, hotel is in ideal area for nice walks, shops etc, but we were met with a building site, top three floors are getting refurbished, which is long overdue, but were not told by our tour rep, every day from 8am - 5pm the drilling, banging started, sitting at the poolside debris was falling on to the sunbeds, and the dust was terrible, we complained to the manager Snr Luis Merino but to be honest he could not have cared less, since arriving home I have sent him e-mail with my complaints but as yet no reply.
We got room 411 the toilet bowl was disgusting, tried to clean it myself but did not have cleaning products to make it clean, I think they need to replace the toilet bowl, the bath had no enamel left on the base of the bath, the maid put a 12inch x 12inch square with Winnie the Poo logo, in the base of the bath but it became very sticky to stand on, really disgusting, next was my bed the sheet would not even cover me and I am only 5ft it was for a child's bed, asked several times at reception to get it changed, it was changed the day before we were coming home, so that proves our bedding was not changed for 2 weeks. When you go to the reception to complain, I have to say the females are good, but the males on the reception area need to go on a customer care course, not helpful at all.
The good points: the catering staff in the Restaurant are brilliant especially Domingo the fastest waiter in Tenerife, pool staff are also brilliant, the entertainment guys Sergio and Mariano are also brilliant, hope the staff are told my comments.
We are due to go back for Xmas & New Year but not sure If I want to go now after the way Senior management are treating their clients. We spoke to friends that we have met over the years that go the same time as us, and they said they won't be back, it is such a shame as the hotel used to be great 4*star but now would only rate it a 3*star.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny if you are lucky to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Although we feel very sad to read that your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

It is true that we had some makeovers on our three top floors in order to offer a comfortable accommodation to all our guests. As our hotel is open all year long we had no other choice than starting the refurbishment with our guests onsite, and would like to point out that the entire floor below has been closed to sale in order to reduce the noise as much as possible and we also made sure that all safety standards were being respected; we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to inform you that the main part has been done and we are finalizing the rooms at this time.

Regarding your bed, we are very sorry to hear that you couldn’t enjoy a perfect night rest, however, we would like to inform you for your upcoming stay over Christmas and New Year that normally sheets are changed every three days unless you ask for a change before, in fact in your room you will find a sign to put on the bed anytime you need them to be replaced.
For IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to feel free to ask our staff in charge of the cleaning for whatever you may need or to contact our reception in case you find any shortage.

On the other hand we are delighted to read that you really enjoy our hotel location, within a walking distance to the many restaurants, shopping and leisure opportunities nearby and we want to thank you for your nice words towards our restaurant staff especially Domingo who we will congratulate on your behalf.

Further on we feel proud and glad that you have enjoyed our animation staff, and we will immediately pass on your satisfaction to Sergio and Mariano for the good time you had thanks to them; In IBEROSTAR we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for their daily labors to hear that you take some unforgettable memories of them back home.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the end of the year assuring in advance our utmost care and attention in order to satisfy all your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Once again I booked into this hotel, I still cant believe that people complain about the food (unless they are used to Michelin Food!!!!)

OK yes the rooms need updating but I myself would rather have a lovely clean room, that is cleaned each day, (you can have your sheets and towels changed EVERY day if you want), lovely clean pool area, lovely clean lounges and restaurant, lovely food and a wide choice at that and lovely pleasant staff, from the cleaners, to the bar and restaurant staff to the reception staff, than have a room with crisp new furniture but not cleaned every day and unpleasant staff and not a wide choice of food!!!

Oh and those that complain re there not being any sunbeds or umbrellas, all you need to do is speak to one of the pool staff and they will go and get you a sunbed and umbrella from the store cupboard!

They are renovating the top 3 floors and also the restaurant, think they are going to make an outside dining area.

If I had to complain about one thing it would be the LIFTS. They have a mind of their own I think and that would be the ONE thing I would asks them to look at, but hey it only means some times you have to wait a little longer for a lift but there are the stairs which can be used if you are so impatient and cant wait a few minutes for a lift!

I WILL be returning in November and again in May next year. This is about my 7th or 8th year now and twice a year. So any questions please inbox me.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The food, staff and service was phenomenal and will definitely be returning again another year. The only thing wrong is I have a 7 month old child and there was not very much activity for him to do but he enjoyed loro park very much. Overall though it was an amazing holiday and will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simplez2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2012, we were really looking forward to going back again, for our 2 week break from 03-17th May 2013. What a mistake! This hotel has deteriorated dramatically since our last visit. The hotel is listed as 4* but I think that a 3* rating would be more accurate. Perhaps when the workmen who are currently renovating the 2 top floors, have finished the complete scheduled overhaul by the end of this year, the hotel will once again be truly a 4*. Although certain areas of one of the two pools was cordoned of due to the falling debris, sunbathers could still be showered with little bits and pieces of rubble and dust, and the noise from 0800 onwards was very irritating to say the least. Internally, the hotel could do with a freshen up and some cosmetic surgery. The bedrooms are very dated and the furniture is very worn and in urgent need of replacement. Many of the staff are exceptional, particularly the restaurant, maids and pool side bar staff, but I found the reception staff in the main and particularly, the hotel managers people skills, absolutely shocking! Staff look towards management for guidance and training, and clearly took the hotel Directors total disregard for his guests as company policy. Unfortunately, we have already booked to go back to the Bouganville Playa for Christmas and New Year, but if I can change our booking I will.

Room Tip: Corner room balconies are bigger and therefor get much more sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review on your recent holiday in our Iberostar Bouganville Playa. Comments like yours are very important to us as they help us focus on the areas we can still improve to deliver a perfect holiday to our guests, which is our main goal.

We are sorry to read that, despite the fact that you were looking forward to coming back to our Hotel with such expectations, we had at the time of your stay, started some refurbishment on our 3 top floors in order to deliver an even better holiday experience to our guests, we tried our best to keep the noise down as much as possible and lament that you have been disturbed at an early hour in the morning.

To continue, we would like to come back to your comment regarding our reception staff. We have procedures to guarantee an excellent service from each and every staff member from management downwards, we lay high value on our employees being guest oriented, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum satisfaction. Therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

Furthermore, we are pleased to read such a good review on our restaurant, maids and pool bar staff, and will immediately congratulate them on their professionalism.

We look forward to receiving you again for Christmas and New Year and we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, doing our very best to surprise you positively during your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,010 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,693 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £98 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun is the norm. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they’ll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they’ll also enjoy the children’s playground, shows, pools... there’s a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing