We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 6th stay at the Bouganville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 6th stay at the Bouganville”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

OK so this was our 6th stay so surely that tells you something this hotel is just everything we could ask for. Before we went I sent an email asking for a room on the 3rd floor or higher & was given a room on the 3rd floor. Yes the rooms are dated but how much time do you spend in your room, they are clean what does it matter about what state the furniture is in. Whilst we were there the restaurant on level -2 closed & they opened a new restaurant on level -3. The new restaurant was ok but the food stations get quite busy as everyone wants to be at the same place at the same time. Also quite a bit of the seating is outside, I know it doesn't rain that often but if it does this will be a problem. Also they opened a second restaurant whilst we were there, a themed restaurant it is a set 4 course menu it is free to use if staying HB or AI. We didn't go as over the 7 days we were there, there was only 2 menus & both had seafood courses & my partner is not a lover of seafood. Pool area yes you get people putting their towels on sunbeds but there was really no need as we went to the pool anywhere from 10am - 11am most mornings and always managed to get beds. On our last morning we were going for breakfast at 7.05 (early pick up for flight) & couldn't believe people had already been down & put towels out. Anyone who has an early flight we didn't book an early breakfast & breakfast doesn't start until 7:30 but as I said we went down at 7:05 and there was already people eating breakfast & nobody stopped us going in. Please don't be put off by other reviews.

Room Tip: everytime we have stayed here we have always had a sea view, most of the rooms do so don't go pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    1,298
    475
    163
    68
See reviews for
1,008
1,786
125
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. In great location.

Rooms are kept clean as are the 2 pool areas. Food not bad is decent both at breakfast and evening. If you like food dishes they always have several in the evening. Look out for Domingo in the restaurant......great waiter.

Small issues would be that rooms need a bit of a lift with some more decoration and the toilet facilities on the pool level can be a bit smelly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We were told that all the works were completed but upon arriving to the hotel the whole of the barbecue restaurant was closed off with work men working from 8am to 8pm!! You could hear it during breakfast, lunch and dinner! They were using very loud drills, my partner informed me these were kangos and concrete pokers. I understand the work has to be done to ensure the hotel is at its best but we were told by Cosmos and the hotel themselves that it was all complete. Then Cosmos tried to lie to us while we were in Tenerife that the works were being carried out on the street! really?!

Anyway as to the hotel most of the staff with the exception to one or two were so helpful and cheerful especially José and Fransico! The food was great with lots of variety! So yummy! (My partner had 2 plates at breakfast, lunch and dinner!!) The entertainment wasn't to our liking we feel it would suit older couples (70-80's) the magician show was also really poor and we also tried to watch some vampire show but this was also rubbish. We ended up going out most nights so didn't really benefit from all inclusive. The location is perfect though and lots of pick ups for trips are conveniently right outside the hotel : )

A few of the top floors have been refurbed and although we didn't see inside the rooms the hallways and solarium on the roof look great.. If they do the whole hotel it will definitely be a four star hotel but currently it certainly is not.. The rooms are dated, which we expected so as long as you go with this in mind it will be fine.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Gemma,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience due to the building works at our restaurant during your stay however we tried our very best to limit the nuisance for our guests to be able to enjoy all the hotel’s facilities whilst onsite.

Further, we regret your disappointment with our animation and entertainment offer. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety as also many amusing activities so that no wishes will be left open.

On the other hand, it fills us with pride to read that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs. In IBEROSTAR we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide in the near future.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Visited the Bouganville between 10th Sept - 20th Sept 2013 as we had stayed here for our honeymoon in oct 2011.

Place was as good as we remember however the reception staff were miserable.... first point of contact and they were downright miserable.
We checked in and straight to pool, little bit of noise due to work at the hotel but nothing to worry about. Pool still very clean, plent sunbeds and umbrellas.

We went for tea in the restaraunt and were disapointed that men still have to wear long pants, very inconvenient to have to come down in one outfit to then change into shorts to go out, especially given the slow lifts.

Food was exceptional every night and plenty choice.
The staff in the food hall work so hard and are so polite.

Bedrooms bit tired looking but nothing a lick of paint wont solve and the whole hotel is very clean, again the cleaners work very hard and always say hello.

Overall a very good holiday but a lot more older people 55-75 who constantly twisted about the noise from the builders

Still a good hotel but first impressions mean a lot and the reception staff could do with some training

Room Tip: Lower the better, slow lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ctmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

It's is our 2nd visit to the Bouganville , after reading the recent reviews we were a bit concerned about our choice of hotel. Nothing to worry about, we checked into reception , and were given a room on the 5th floor with a side sea view, I asked if we could have a higher floor as we had read the reviews the receptionist very kindly said we could move in 2 days as the hotel was full. The room we have is excellent, the staff very friendly and courteous as usual. The food in the main Restaurant is good. We had a meal last night In their new restaurant, the service and food were wonderful, we cannot fault the hotel in any way. Luckily enough for us we are here for another 10 wonderful days, and don't expect or foresee and problems. A very big thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful stay and holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

my wife and I viewed this hotel some 5 years ago or so while we were staying at another iberostar hotel nearby, the dalias. we have stayed at three iberostar hotels and loved the brand. we are not big money earners and it took us some three years to save up to go to this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary which cost us about £1500.00 for our stay, we sourced our own flights. the staff are typical iberostar and cant do enough for you. we have been following trip advisor postings since april and were concerned about the reports of the building work that are being carried out and one of the responses was that the work would be finished by june, just a shame they didn't say which year. one report said that the rooms were being updated from the top down and that the builders are down to the sixth floor, they must have missed the eighth floor because our room was very tired and in need of redecoration, the bathroom in particular. we booked a four star hotel and everything was ok for a four star award but not the room which could only manage a low 3 star, in fact a 2 star in Ibiza, the mar amantis beat this room hands down. when we checked into this hotel we had booked a standard double room but we was told that we had only paid for a basic room and that out of the kindness of his heart the receptionist had upgraded us to a better room, I hate to think what our original room was like. the complaints about the lifts in trip advisor we fully uphold, and when stepping out of the lifts on the eighth floor you are greeted by a dark dismal foyer area. in all it was not up to iberostar standards and we are disappointed with what our £1500.00 had been spent on and to be told in reception in front of other guest that we had not spent enough money to get a better room was a let down, and I am not talking about a penthouse suite for our money I of course would not expect that, but a better room than 835 for our hard earned money was expected. the staff in the restaurant and by the pool including the animation teams were second to none, well done to them. the building work around the pool area was noisy with electric hammers and concrete drilling going on and of course not all facilities are open while this work goes on, but we were not told of this work so that we could have made other arrangements at another hotel, why tell us the truth when taking our money that you have ongoing work being carried out, or do I need to spend more money for this information, after all I only spent £1500.00.

Room Tip: check out your room before unpacking, our room not up to the iberostar standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Charles,

Although we deeply lament reading that your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel didn’t meet your expectations, we thank you for the time you spent sharing your impressions on your overall holiday so we can take your vision into account to improve our daily tasks and ensure great holidays experiences to all our guests.

First of all we would like to express our sincere gratitude for your fidelity and for choosing IBEROSTAR for such a special occasion as your 30th wedding anniversary celebration, please receive our most heartfelt congratulations to you and your better half.

Further, we are very sorry and apologize for not meeting your room expectations, we took good note of your comments and commit to revise the possibility to renovate the other floors, for your information the refurbished floors are the 9th, 10th and the attic, which are now part of the Star Prestige concept and subject to an extra charge; Moreover, we are sorry to read that it wasn’t explained in the most diplomatic way that the reservation we received for your stay was for a double basic room, we can only imagine that this has been due to a limited knowledge of English of our employee still in practice; in IBEROSTAR we lay high importance on our personnel being guest oriented at all times and will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to revise and improve; nevertheless we would like to point out that an upgrade to a priority sea view has been offered to you at the time of check in.

On the other hand, we thank you for your nice words towards our animation, bar and waiting staff, their kindness and helpfulness is our hotels’ main strength and we will congratulate them all on your behalf for contributing to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your preference in choosing IBEROSTAR, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again at your earliest convenience in our hotels worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our hotel room was one of the refurbished rooms on the 10th floor and with a great view, the pool area was nice and clean with plenty of sunbeds and the pool bar staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem to them. Dining wasn't a great experience more so for dinner at night I found the food quite repetitive as having stayed at Iberostar Albufera Playa Alcudia they had themed nights which was so much better and more variety. The downside is the fact that men had to wear long trousers every night for dinner while women could basically wear the shortest shorts possible. I'm on my holidays so would have liked to have had an option on what I can wear. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone under 55 either as the entertainment is catered for folk of an older age group. For the money you pay I won't be back to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Craig,

We first would like to thank you for the time and effort you have spent to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa, we are glad to learn from your comments how and where to improve to guarantee great holidays to all our guests.

For IBEROSTAR the gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company, our professional Chefs do their utmost to prepare a large variety of typical local dishes as well as many international delights in order to satisfy the most demanding palates, we apologize for not meeting your expectations on this aspect of your stay and commit to revise and improve so that no wishes will be left open.

Moreover, we are sorry to hear your disappointment on the dress code for gentlemen at our restaurant; however, this is a global policy for our 4 stars hotels in Europe.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that you highly appreciated the breathtaking view for your recently refurbished room and the comfort of the pool area.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing our bar staff, we will congratulate them on your behalf for their kindness and professionalism and for contributing to you wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit; we hope that your stay in Tenerife was as pleasant as it could possibly be and that you had a pleasant journey back home.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,872 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Property: Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel is like a good wine, improving over the years so you can experience something new during each stay. The stunning sea views, its location just four minutes’ walk from the beach, its huge main pool and the pleasures of the VIP area all mean that visitors like you return 3 or 4 times in the same year. Discover more reasons why you will also want to come back to one of the best hotels in south Tenerife. Endless relaxation. Whether you come as a couple or with your family, at this hotel in Tenerife you’ll have rooms with comfortable bedrooms and a balcony where you can feel the Atlantic breeze or breathe in the fresh mountain air. And best of all, at the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa you can get to Playa del Bobo in the time it takes to finish an ice cream at the pool bar. Star Prestige. Would you like to enjoy a completely exclusive experience? Counting the bubbles in the whirlpool bath or stretching out on the Balinese beds after trying the sensations shower are just a few of the experiences you can enjoy in the Star Prestige adults-only rooms at your hotel in Tenerife. A delicious stay. You can’t leave the islands without trying the delicious Canary Island cuisine or indulging in the flavours from around the world in our restaurants. Our buffet will leave you lost for words! And if you want to unwind, try the classic honey rum or a drink of your choice in any of the bars of your hotel in Costa Adeje. Submerge yourself in the ocean. The calm seas at Playa del Bobo are perfect for little ones to go for a swim, while lying on the sand is the best way to take advantage of the average Canary Island temperature of 22ºC. And if you prefer to stay in the hotel, you can gaze at the Atlantic Ocean while swimming in the large main pool. Fun in the water. The local people love the beach and fruit so much that, besides the home-grown bananas, there are inflatable versions pulled around by speed boats! You’ll feel like you’re on an ocean-going roller coaster when you go on the banana boat. And there are many more water sports: surfing, windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, catamaran trips, fishing trips, etc. And on dry land, the youngsters dress up as their favourite characters or pretend to be lovable pirates searching for treasure in the Miniclub. And the grown-ups can enjoy activities from golf or fitness to archery. Fancy a romantic dinner? Don’t worry, you can do just that; there’s an evening babysitting service available so that couples can have some intimacy. Spectacular pools, both in terms of their size and their settings. At midday, you can’t miss the weekly show cooking of paella or Canary Island dishes performed outdoors by the head chef. And for the rest of the day, choose the sun lounger you like most and stay refreshed with a sorbet or ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Iberostar, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing