We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went here last month with my mother in law. We have been to this area many times as it is great area and postition. We saw this hotel when we were away last time and could see it was being 'done up'.
We are very happy with the hotel, the staff and the food was all lovely and the restaurant had just opened up after its refurbishment. Not sure the floor tiles were the best choice as staff were constatntly cleaning them no matter what meal time it was. But we think it was nicely spaced out and a very good variety of food on offer.
We were on the 4th floor on the corner near the main road (starbar), we could not believe the noise in these rooms (417 + 416) But they have some of the best views and sun on the balcony for the longest which pleases other people. Staff were happy for us to move, we were given 463 + 465 lovely quiet rooms still with a great view. We will go back there again and would ask again for these rooms.
A very nice place to stay with lots of older people who like to chat and there are a lot of russians also. We do not mind this at all a mix of age and nationality is good for us all.
Plenty of sun loungers but a lack of chairs and small tables at busy time of the year as they took them away when the hotel filled up to put more beds out.
There is nothing that put us off this hotel at all. I will upload my photots soon and add them so you can see the rooms. A little dated but very clean. The first rooms we had had larger bathrooms, but a smaller bathroon and a better sleep was just what we wanted.
There are four lifts on each floor which can get busy at meal times but it is a big hotel. We will go back here again no problem what so ever. Stayed in the H10 twice, staff are much nicer and so are the visitors in the Bouganville a lot more friendly all round.
Dont forget to visit 'Old Friends Bar' just behind the castle pub/restaurant on the front it great for a little shade, game of pool, catch up on the news or just to chill with a few beers and a paper, you will like it there its spotless and good quality food & drinks served by friendly staff

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper you dont want a room near the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate the time you spent to share your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor's readers, we are always glad to read that our guests bring back home some beautiful memories of their holiday among us.

Moreover we want to thank you or your kind words towards our staff, their genuine friendliness and helpfulness are undoubtedly one of our main assets and we will not fail to forward your kind review to them and congratulate them all on your behalf.

We thank you as well for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations as well as the good and varied gastronomy offer prepared by our expert Chefs in our new IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant.

Once more, thank you for the opportunity you have given us; we look forward to welcoming you again very soon ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday experience in Tenerife.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 3,976 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel about 7 times now as we love it. Check in was swift & easy, staff on reception were great.
The location is right in the middle so you can walk for ever either side. The hotel is being refurbished, we had no problems with noise, most rooms are still dated but are very clean, with new TV & baths !! hope you are not very large as the baths are soooo small.
The staff are so friendly even more so than previous years. The pool areas are large with plenty of sunbeds better than most hotels.
The restaurant, this is why i only gave 3 stars. Wow what a great job it looks lovely& the food is so pleasing to the eye then it goes downhill. If you dont like fish then this place is not for you.
What has happend to the hot meats & veg? We could allways choose a hot meal Pork, Lamb, Beef etc with veg, the 10 days we ate here the only hot meat we had was duck & pork. The only hot veg was carrots green beans & hot sliced peppers, what has happened to the sprouts, cauliflour,broccoli ect.
The food has been halved, I understand they must make cuts as a lot of food must go to waste, plus the cost of the refurbishment. The breakfast wasnt much better everything was cold i know most people say this but we never had a problem before.
Will i go back? i am not sure unless the food changes i may need to move on, but as i said before i love this hotel & the staff. So Management PLEASE take note, we where not the only one who found the food a problem other guest where not happy.

Room Tip: Higher floors are refurbished. But we like all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Although we deeply lament reading that your last stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

We are very sorry to hear that our new restaurant’s buffet did not meet your expectations and passed on your comment to our restaurant’s manager for his attention; however we understand that our repeating guests may not be familiar with our new Star Chef concept; before the refurbishment, the buffet was duplicated, meaning that on both sides there was the same offer, we understand that now that it is arranged differently the variety may seem lower now however this is not the case; moreover, the quality of dishes and ingredients has been improved and our Chefs now prepare vegetables, meats and fishes right in front of our guests. Nevertheless, we will continue improving our restaurant’s layout and buffet offer so that no wishes will be left open in the future.

On the other hand, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the perfect location of our hotel and the recent refurbishment made so as to enhance our guests’ overall experience among us.

Thank you once again for your comments, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience ensuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Visited the Bouganville on many occasions before and had excellent stays, so chose this hotel again,t his was a big mistake as on the day of our arrival the new restaurant opened which we thought was good news but how wrong we were as it was a disaster which we had hoped would improve but it just got worse,having to wait for tables to be cleared and relayed, food always cold and long queue to obtain the food. The poor waiters seemed to be always rushed off their feet and always tried to do there best.We therefore unfortunately will not be returning to this hotel in the near future.We would like to say the cleaning staff was excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Daphne,

First of all we would like to thank you for your return visit to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay; Even though we deeply lament reading that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion, we are grateful for your constructive critics that will help us improve upon the services that we deliver to our valued guests.

We took good note of your comment on our new IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant and deeply apologize for the less than perfect dining experiences you had during your stay; in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience and we commit to improve upon the service we provide.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, we will not fail to convey your compliments to our housekeeping staff for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel will remain an option for your next holidays in Tenerife and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in November 2012 and couldn't wait to return this year. We knew the building work had finished as we had family go and check it out. Floors 9, 10 and 11 have been refurbished to a very high standard and the rest of the floors have new televisions, baths etc. We had the option when we checked in of views of las americas or puerto colon. We chose the wrong and faced las americas, very noisy even on the 7th floor. But you do sort of get used to it. One thing we noticed this year was how quick the lifts were compared to last year, much quicker. The check in was superb, cava on arrival a given the choice of different views. Staff on reception were excellent, an all important first impression. The rooms are a good size, always hot water for the showers and the maid service was excellent. Speaking of the staff, a special mention to Domingo in the main restaurant and Jose in the pool bar. A great face of the hotel, always busy but made it look so effortless. The staff in this hotel are second to none and the management should pass this mesaage on. The pool areas are spotless and you will always find a sunbed, we were a party of 4 and coming down for breakfast around 9 we never struggled to find a great spot.
Night time entertainment was excellent with a variety of acts to choose from. 3 tenors something else with songs for all the nationalities present in the hotel. A godsend was the lack of Russians who seem to have taken over every hotel on the island. There were a few, but not as a pain as they usually are. To be honest there was a great mix of nationalities and everyone seemed to get on.
Not for the negatives. The new restaurant set up is good, but what has happened to the food!!!. The selection has been halved, the quality has dropped and it was never warm enough. The food is a massive part of a holiday and if Iberostar are promoting this hotel as a 4 star resort then you have to get the basics right, if you cant get the food right, then you will fail. This is not a dig at the staff, they work so hard under pressure, it was such a disappointment compared to last year. We spoke to many holiday makers who return here year after year and the feedback was the same, food rapidly going downhill.
The price of drinks are extortionate. You cannot justify charging 4 euros for a beer etc. Lower your prices and people will stay in the hotel at night. We lived on Tenerife for 15 years so know where to go for drinks and meals out, seeing prices like this felt like the hotel was trying to get as much out of tourist's as possible.
All said and done this is a superb hotel, in a great position with wonderful views. The staff are excellent and rooms on floors 1 to 8 do their job. I would highly recommend this hotel, but my advise would not to go on an all inclusive basis until they sort out the issue of the food quality and quantity. I asked about the possibility if the rest of the hotel being refurbished next year and reception couldn't comment. We have booked straight away for next November 2014 for 10 days as we feel the service and attention that we receive outweigh the small negatives. Well done Bouganville, cant wait to return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank martin1603m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Martin,

First of all we would like to thank you for your return visit to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for the time you spent to write your feedback and suggestions in order to improve our services.

We understand that our guests from previous years may not be familiar with our new concept of Star Chef Restaurant, and we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our restaurant was in the past a “mirrored” buffet, meaning that the trays were duplicated on both sides of our buffet, this is why we assume that you felt that the offer was “halved” but this is not the case, on the contrary there is more offer than before and the quality is higher, the vegetables, meat and fish are now cooked in front of our guests, which makes all dishes fresher; we understand though that this concept may not be of everybody’s liking, this is why we continually improve, adding for example different many fried dishes like before, such as squid rings, “empanadillas”, croquettes… in order to satisfy all palates and guarantee enriching dining experiences to all the nationalities visiting our resort.

On the other hand, we thank you for your kind comments on our staff, their authentic kindness and commitment to make our guests feel welcome and well cared after during their stay are undoubtedly one of our hotels’ main assets and we will not fail to convey your kind compliments to all of them, especially to Domingo and Jose.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the comfort and cleanliness of our accommodations and common areas as well as the quality of our evening entertainment; we are very pleased to read your satisfaction with these aspects of your stay among us.

Once more, thank you for your time and kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again next year, ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is well located. Not far to the center of playa las America and to the center of Adeje. The Staff does occasionally a overstretched impression and the rooms were set up as in the 80.
The evening entertainment was aimed at the mostly older audience, which was Ok for us.
The new dining room left nothing to be desired. But you have to know, Spanish food is eaten not very hot.
The outside area contains 2 pools and plenty of sunbeds. So, dear german and english friends, there is no reason to reserve sun loungers with towels :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pittivomdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa; we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We took good note of your comment on our accommodations and would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can; nevertheless we commit to revise the possibility to renovate some of the areas to ensure spotless and comfortable accommodations to all our guests.

On the other hand, we are delighted to read that our new IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant was to your liking; in IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for the gastronomy and we are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as they are able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us.

Last but not least, thank you for your highlight on our hotel’s location, right on the seafront and within an easy distance to the beautiful beaches of the Costa Adeje and the wide array of dining and shopping options nearby.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service. We hope to see you again soon ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I visited the Iberostar 7 years ago and we were really looking forward to returning in November, but were very disappointed

The new restaurant opened in our stay and the staff were clearly unprepared as all tables were taken and twice we returned with food to find other guests about to sit at our table as there were not enough tables. The food was luke warm with long queues and when I gave my breakfast back to a manager complaining it was cold, the replacement breakfast was also cold

We were also charged for wi-fi which should be free in a modern 4 star hotel and evening entertainment was mainly aimed at older guests

The hotel is in a good location with good facilities but the many steps surrounding the areas to the beach make it difficult for disabled visitors. Very disappointed with our stay and will not be returning

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surprise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we do apologize for the less than perfect experience in our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and we thank you for sharing your personal experience so as to improve upon the aspects you mentioned in you review.

We are very sorry to hear that your dining experiences did not meet your expectations and will forward your comments to our Maître for his information. We commit to revise our procedures so as to ensure the satisfaction of all our guests in the future; ss you may know, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, now freshly prepared in front of guests in our IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the good facilities of our hotel as well as its location, within a walking distance both to the Costa Adeje beaches and the many leisure and dining options on the doorstep.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holidays.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just back from a great week in this hotel. Had been in the area before so we knew where we were going. Read reviews before we went and was a bit worried, but we had no problems.
The location was great, near the beach in a quieter area of Las Americas with a few shops and bars on the doorstep.
The hotel is spotless outside and in, the bedrooms we had were a good size with air con, tv ,fridge and a safe which you paid for.
The new dining room was finished and had a chef at each station cooking the food fresh, I would say the staff were kept very busy.
Last but not least was the lovely area outside, 2 pools and plenty of sunbeds.

Room Tip: Think the rooms on the higher floors have been refurbished, but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback with TripAdvisor's readers on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel, we are glad to read that you had a “great week” in our hotel.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the comfort of your room and the cleanliness of our overall installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.

We are also pleased to read that the unbeatable location of our hotel, right on the seafront and within a walking distance to the beach and many shopping and dining options on the doorstep was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

Once again, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the Iberostar Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. Also the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers Star Prestige which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, an area with Balinese beds with coffee and snacks, and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Iberostar, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing