We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel but would 'move up' next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stay here from 13th December to 21st December 2013. Never been to Tenerife before (or the Canary Islands for that matter) and never been abroad at this time of year.

On first arriving the hotel looks quite grand indeed. There is a kind of 70s look about some of the beige, cream & gold décor in the reception area and other main rooms & floors but that looked sort of cool & retro as opposed to dated and tacky.

The Reception staff were very efficient and friendly and we were booked in and heading to our room in under 10 minutes, despite other guests being dealt with at the time. We were told that our room was on the 1st floor (second room from the end of a very long corridor having requested a sea view) and one of the many lifts took us there in no time at all.

Using the electronic key provided (also needed to activate the electricity in the room) we then entered the room and..."Oh..." we thought. 4-star hotel? Really? Rather than looking cool & retro these 70s-looking rooms certainly DID look dated and we sat for a short while (cases still closed) contemplating a move to a higher room (but would, no doubt, have had to pay extra to upgrade).

Aside from the décor looking really, really dated; some of the fixtures & fittings looked to be at the end of their life too (sliding wardrobe doors to name just one) and there was a bare-wire circuit board hanging down inside the small fridge. A 'finger dust test' by my wife also saw some of the surfaces requiring a little extra work too. HOWEVER...

...this is pretty much where the (small) negatives end (well almost) and the positives begin. We decided, "What the hell...", unpacked and headed off to explore the area around the hotel. Quick note on this: I think the hotel is excellently positioned near to quiet, friendly, simple bars; plenty of shops (including a Pharmacy), the beach and heading in the direction of Peurto Colon (away from Playa De Las Americas) there is a fine selection of very good restaurants. 15 minute walk from a bus station too.

As I say, aside from the dated rooms on the 1st floor (and perhaps 2nd, 3rd & 4th floors too, I just don't know) the rest of the hotel is certainly worth its 4-star rating (and a sneak peek at the rooms on floors 8+ confirmed that they were far better the higher you went).

Very clean and grand-looking in general with a fabulous double pool & outside bar. It has a gym - if you're that way inclined on holiday - and an entertainments-arcade room too. Table tennis tables and a tennis court finish off the activity areas quite nicely. It's a pretty big hotel.

The staff all round were exceptionally nice; particularly in the massive dining area. We only stayed B&B and once we'd gotten use to where everything is in the wide, open-plan area, we enjoyed breakfast time very much indeed. So much choice...including some very weird ideas of breakfast - green beans, coleslaw and chips anyone? They certainly catered for all cultures...

Going back to the 1st-floor room. Despite the exposed circuit board in the fridge it was of an adequate size and worked very well all week...until the last day when it decided to completely die on us (didn't bother reporting it). Being someone who struggles in VERY hot weather; I was glad it was "only" 70s throughout the day and low-to-mid 60s at night because the air conditioning unit wasn't much use at all (even on setting number 3). There was a decent-sized TV and a good selection of channels for various nationalities (for UK there was BBC1, ITV1, various news channels and even Sky Sports 1!)

The bathroom was more than adequate; nothing too grand but nothing wrong with it at all. And I have to give special mention to the maids. After the initial disappointment (dust found upon our arrival) they did a fantastic job all week...and even tidied our gear up whenever we flung the odd item somewhere as we left the room for the day! There's a combination safe you can hire (I think it was 15 Euros for the week and the phone is a mere 25 Cent per minute (payable at reception). A spacious balcony (2 chairs, a table and somewhere to dry clothes) with great views!

As I say, we went 13th to 21st December and the hotel looked to have about 300+ guests staying. Of those 300 I'd say 200 were 60 to 85-years of age+; about 50 were 25 to 60 and 50 under the age of 25 (including some children of course). On this point, I thought it was a fantastic touch by the hotel that they had Activity Staff to get the more senior guests up & about - including physically active games, bingo and cooking demonstrations/tasting sessions. There's a pool-side bar (nearer to the larger of the 2 pools) and they don't take cash; charging it to you room instead. Be warned though, in contrast to the amazingly cheap cost of drinks at the nearby bars, the pool bar did seem quite expensive.

Some construction work started half way though our stay but this was daytime only and took place near to the smaller pool, which we didn't use. It didn't seem to bother the many guests using that pool and I suppose December is as good-a-time as any to do some repair work (and they were as discreet as they possibly could be).

The only - and I mean ONLY - thing that I almost complained about was this. On our final night we were awoken at 12-midnight (we'd had an early night as we were leaving in the morning to fly home) by...'the'...most...HORRENDOUSLY loud (bobbins) music that didn't stop until almost 3:30am! This was so out of character for the otherwise very quiet hotel; we could only assume a wedding party had booked the room directly (and I MEAN directly) under our room. Why they STARTED at midnight I'll never know...but I was at breaking point when it eventually stopped.

Bogged eyed as we were, we left feeling like we'd definitely go back to this hotel again but would most certainly request a much higher room for more reasons than one...

Room Tip: Get a room higher up (probably floor-8 upwards) and your otherwise fine stay will be complete I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drake-601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share this fabulous review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel, we are glad to read, despite a few minor issues, that you and your wife had an enjoyable holiday experience among us.

We lament reading the inconveniences caused by the music coming from a room in a lower floor as well as the imperfections in your room and not being informed about it as we would have been able to intervene, for future occasions, please do not hesitate to contact our reception for whatever you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and helpfulness of our staff as well as the quality and variety of our breakfast buffet, as you well mention, we strive to cater for all nationalities offering also a selection of cooked vegetables.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on our prime location, right on the seafront with breathtaking views on the Ocean and within a short walking distance to the wide variety of leisure and dining options of the lively Costa Adeje.

Once again, thank you for making us your choice hotel for your first visit to Tenerife; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back at your earliest convenience and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to help you arrange every detail of your stay.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 3,934 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

my wife and i have just returned from a weeks break for the new year, and after passing this hotel many times we decided to give it a go. we were not lucky enough to get a room that had been done out, and yes they do need done,but they are a good size plenty of room and draw space ect. my only complaint about the room would be the lack of power points, there is only two in the room, and the pillows, i would like to ask the management to take them home and try sleeping on them ??. there is also a fridge in the room witch is very good, the restaurant has just been done out and they have got it spot on. the food is cook,t in front of you ie chicken, fish , chops ect so you no its fresh. also they keep the rest in large dishes with lids on not the normal oblong trays and this keeps the food a lot hotter.they have also built a outside area to eat so this was very nice, i could not complain about the food at all there was always something to eat. the gala dinner at new year was also very good,we chose the later sitting at 8.15 as you waited to go in you were treated to drinks and snacks and when they opened the doors the manager to the cleaners were sanding in a line and applauding as you went in. there was one more thing the male toilets in what they call the bar hall dont have any locks on the doors. i would recomend a night out across the road to the pheasant pluker as craig the dj makes the night as they have many acts on every night. the hotel is in a great location and we would go back no problem

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bert1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We deeply regret reading your dissatisfaction with the pillows and not being informed about it immediately as we would have provided you with other ones, for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception for whatever you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us; On the other hand we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your room and the cleanliness of our installations.

Moreover, we highly appreciate your words of praise for our newly refurbished restaurant and the quality of the dishes thoroughly prepared by our expert Chefs; the gastronomy is one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR and we are glad to read your full satisfaction.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the lively Costa Adeje.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

just back today 6/1/14 everything perfect rooms a bit dated but spotless cant fault great time booking right now for next year.rooms cleaned everyday towels changed as well staff helpful no noise at night we were on the 5th floor hotel is central lovely views only thing is trying to have toast in the morning takes for ever me just being picky would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: double sided sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angryhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It is always rewarding to read that our guests enjoyed their stay among us; we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay as your feedback keeps us alert on the improvements we can make to enhance our guests’ experiences among us.

It is wonderful to read the full satisfaction of our guests and we thank you for pointing out the efforts of our housekeeping staff in charge of the cleaning of our hotel’s accommodations and public grounds; Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for IBEROSTAR and we strive to give total confidence in this area.

Moreover we thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff, their willingness to make all guest feel welcome and fully enjoy their holidays among us is undoubtedly one of our main assets and we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf.

Once more, thank you for your time; we are delighted to hear that you will be back next year and look forward to welcoming you again ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another “great time” among us.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Check in was a little slow as the hotel was quite busy. The rooms was cleaned everyday and do a really good job of cleaning them. We even had sky sports in our room on the tv. The food was nice and the gala dinner on New Year's Eve was brilliant. I will definatly be returning here again. The negatives about the hotel is that the 4 lifts are quite slow and seem to take a long time. And the drinks from the pool bar are €4.15 a pint of larger it's a €1 across the the road in all the other bars.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hinchy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to share your impressions and personal experiences on your holiday at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel, we are very pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable holiday experience among us.

We are grateful for your positive mention towards our housekeeping staff; For IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Moreover, we also appreciate your praising comments on our gastronomy offer because in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, as you well mention on the title of your review, the location of our hotel is indeed “brilliant” as it offers stunning views over the Ocean from our overall installations and a wide array of leisure options on the doorstep.

Once more, thank you for the courtesy of your time; we will be enchanted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tenerife ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday with IBEROSTAR.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

2 weeks prior to arriving we emailed the hotel requesting a quite room away from road side never received any answer. Arrived on the 19/12for 2week stay given room right above entrance asked to change told we would have to pay extra as only side view available .This cost 300 euros! The room was rough to say the least tatty stained furniture no electric sockets on wall around bed one by the door one for TV. Bed kept. Moving every time you sat on it in the end we had to purchase gaffer tape to tie. Both beds together to stop movement! positives were few very clean plenty of towels Food reasonable.negs being wifi 35euros for two weeks. No kettle cups etc in room half used toilet rolls no smelliest at all in room. All in all the worst 4star ever stayed in all these niggles reported to reception met with a shrug of shoulders. We paid well over the odds for our stay and feel we should be refunded the upgrade money we paid for as all we got was side sea view between buildings

Room Tip: Unless you are willing to pay top rates. Take you chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peacewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel for your holidays in Tenerife as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We were very surprised to read that you didn’t receive any answer to your prior to arrival email as we do answer all emails within a few days of receiving them depending on the urgency, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our head of reception to ensure that this does not happen again in the future; however we would like to point out that rooms with side sea view are subject to an extra charge as you can check both on our website and brochure.

Moreover, we lament reading that you didn’t find your bed comfortable and not being informed about it immediately because clearly we want to ensure a satisfying night sleep to all guests; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception for whatever you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us; on the other hand, the coffee or tea facilities in the rooms is not a required standard for 4 star hotels outside the UK, although we do offer the possibility to rent one by contacting our reception.

On the other hand we are glad to read your satisfaction with our gastronomy offer this being one of the prime pillars of our company and with the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guest to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have just returned having spent a week over the new year with a friend. We were on the 6th floor and few doors apart, with lovely views. The hotel reception and lounge areas are very smart with lovely new comfortable seating areas. The bedrooms are indeed in need of updating but are spotlessly clean.
We found the food in the new restaurants to be exceptional. There was plenty of choice for any fussy eaters, fresh fish, steak, veal all cooked whole you wait, pastas, roasted joints etc. The salad selections were beautifully presented and tempting. The desserts selections were so excellent. So much care seems to have gone into their presentations. The New Year's Eve buffet was a delight and the staff were wonderful.
The pool areas have been updated and again was spotlessly clean.
We had a fabulous week and would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank ChampagneSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time and effort spent to write such a kind review on your stay.

We would like to express our gratitude for your praising comments on our new IBEROSTAR Chef Restaurant, the gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, our expert Chefs strive to prepare a wide variety of starters, main courses, salads and desserts in order to please all palates and cater for all diet requirements, we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to enriching dining experiences during your stay among us.

Moreover, we are enchanted to read your beautiful comment on our staff as they strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests and do their utmost to ensure that everyone is fully enjoying their time whilst staying in our hotel.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning is an absolute must for IBEROSTAR; we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our overall installations.

Once more, thank you for your visit and valuable time; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staying at half board we were not impressed with the fact that all drinks with the evening meal including tea and water had to be paid for, considering the overall cost of the stay, the meals were very much the same from day to day more suited to the continental client, no option for Chinese or Indian meals
The drinks at the bar were very expensive compared to outside bars and entertainment was a bit bland
There was mixed TV available but Internet connection again was expensive would not use this hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davros97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,104 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £92 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing