We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Sabila(Costa Adeje)
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Garden Villas(Costa Adeje)
US$482
US$455
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$230
US$160
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Anthelia(Costa Adeje)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tinerfe Garden(Costa Adeje)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$195
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,091)
Filter reviews
4,091 results
Traveller rating
1,887
1,448
510
174
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,887
1,448
510
174
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar prestigehalf boardstar barside sea viewpheasant pluckerpool areasky sportsplenty of choicegreat holidayplenty of sunbedsanimation teamwalk in showermeal timesreception staffbreakfast and dinnerlas americassomething for everyone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,085 - 2,090 of 4,091 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose this hotel through a package website, and after deliberating over a few hotels we finally chose this one (of course after consulting TA!)

We had a delay coming out and conditions of our booking was that we had to book in that day or face a charge, however upon arrival v late and tired, the staff were very polite and accommodating and did not even mention any charge!

Rooms are standard for Tenerife - what you need, a bed and a shower (and a safe!). Did not really stay in the hotel much but it done its purpose well! Would recommend for all types of people, families, couples, friends. And would deff go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Craig,

Firstly we would like to thank you for making our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tenerife and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

myself and my wife booked this hotel in january 2014 for the 29th of april for 9days.
We would normaly stay in playa las americas which is only a 30 minute walk away,but the deal we got on this hotel was very good and decided to try it .Its a four star hotel and it deserves it .
It is spotless,and the food is excellent ,but you have to be there to try it .They have food for every ones taste and even have fresh bread of every kind to suit your taste .The outdoor swimming pools are excellent ,one is about 35mtrs by 18mtrs ,and the othe is about 20 mtrs by 10 mtrs ,also a child pool ,and a tennis court .
If you are into dancing there is dancing every night in one room and a show in another room .
The staff are very helpfull in every way ,and will go out of thier way to help you if they can .
We cannot say enough about this hotel .
We will be going back

Room Tip: if you like the sea ask for a room with a sea view on the 9th or the 10th floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwayne6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

August last year, myself and some friends stayed for 10 nights at this hotel. When we first arrived it was around 9pm and it was a quick and easy check in and we were shown the lifts and explained were our room way. We were quite lucky to have 2 Double Superior Side Sea View Prestige rooms which made a lot of difference, after they had just been refurbished, I think we were the first people to stay in these rooms as they were immaculate! Would definitely recommend anyone to pay extra for the upgrade. We where on the 10th floor so quite high up but got really good views over Las Americas and the Sea. The buffet restaurant in the hotel was OK, there was always something to eat but after 7 nights eating there it did get a little repetitive so we ate out a few nights, which wasn't too bad! The hotel grounds are clean and looked after, every morning there was always a cleaner cleaning the pool and the sunbeds etc. As we stayed in august, the height of the season we thought we would have to be up at 8 o'clock to get a sun bed, but for the size of the hotel we always got a sun bed by the pool no matter what time of day you got up. The hotel was in a ideal location, it was close enough to Veronicas strip but still far enough away so you didn't get all the late and lively clientele. We really enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Bouganville Playa :)

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a Superior Privilege room on the top floors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Claire,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you spent to review your 2013 stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel, it is wonderful to hear that you still keep such positive memories of your overall holiday experience among us.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our Star Prestige accommodations as well as the stunning views over the Ocean and Costa Adeje from your balcony.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us; we invite you to return to enjoy the high quality dishes thoroughly prepared in our new IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant.

We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our maids to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for pointing out our ideal location, fronting the Ocean and with a wide array of leisure and dining options on the doorstep.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 5 nights over Easter, our second visit. We were given a newly refurbished beach view room and the difference from the room we had last year was incredible. The beds are heavenly, with fine quality Egyptian cotton sheets. The shower is a double glass arrangement with amazing pressure and the bathrooms are lovely and spacious.
Yes, some of the rooms are tired, (we stayed in one last year!), that is why the hotel is carrying out building work... but the friendliness of the staff, quality of the food and cleanliness of the hotel are excellent. For such a large and fully booked hotel, it really didn't feel crowded, apart from at peak mealtimes, which is inevitable. The main pool IS cold, so not too much swimming, but loads of sun beds and there's always something going on around the pool - fashion shows, boarding lessons, aerobics, free ice cream, you name it - but they don't nag you. If you want to join in, great, if not, have a lovely day! All in all a great hotel, thank you to everyone who looked after us so well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblinRose388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

40/39 aged couple, stayed end of April start of May for 6 nights. 6 nights as flights from Norwich change from Monday in April to Sunday in May. Upon arrival we were given welcome drink and nice chocolate. Good start. However we were charged 19.80 euros for the safe for 6 nights, a high price to pay, especially when the man on reception advised us that they had a 'special offer on for a week safe hire of 3 euros cheaper but could not give us this option as not able to do on his computer. We queried this and were then abruptly asked if we still wanted the safe. We were also disappointed with his tone when we about to go to our rooms, to do with our luggage. The bell boy stood behind us with the trolley and the receptionist asked us if we needed our luggage to be taken but his tone was like, do you need this? We declined.

The hotel is very clean which is the best thing about the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor and we were disturbed few times by drilling and banging noises due to work being carried out on floors above. One afternoon between 5pm and 6.30pm when we wanted to rest so a little unhappy. Why so late in day? The room is adequate, not 4 star which is why they are no doubt urgently trying to upgrade the rooms. The beds are not the best but we slept fine. To be fair We thought the shower in the bathroom was good and there was a good tele in the room with BBC,itv channels. Balcony reasonable views.

food

The restaurant is large and you have to look around for the different foods. There is variety but sometimes the quality was lacking and some of the hot food was barely warm or even cold.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. The sausages and bacon were poor quality but beans, eggs, omelettes fine. Cereal and yogurt basic but the pancake, churros, fruit good and I really like the cheese and ham toasted sandwiches. One strange thing. The bread and toast were kept separate to the jam and marmalade so you had to wander half the length of the room to get each one.

Dinner

Was mixed again, better than breakfast though. Same old French fries, plain rice and Canadian potatoes every night and the potatoes were mostly cold. There was a variety of fish, meats, salad dishes, pizza, pasta so good choice but Rabbit and Veal, are these Tenerife specialties?

Entertainment

There was supposed to be daytime activity but we didn't see any . The entertainment staff need to be more pro active, as we have seen at other hotels in announcing the events and calling out if people would like to join in. There was evening cabaret but it didn't sound great when we were about apart from a beach boys and Eagles tribute. People seemed to be enjoying it.


Overall, although the hotel is clean and well maintained, has some friendly staff and well situated within the resort, we were a bit disappointed with our stay and due to this and the rude staff member, we will not return to this hotel or other Iberostar.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor as work being carried out on above floors
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Andrew,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Costa Adeje and for the time you took out of your day to share your impressions for us to be able to make the improvements needed to achieve complete guest satisfaction, which ultimately is our main goal.

We know that there is no second chance to make a first good impression and we sincerely apologize for the check in experience you had at your arrival; we passed on your comments to our management so as to revise our procedures and guarantee the warm welcome we are famous for at all times; Moreover, we lament the misunderstanding with our receptionist when enquiring about the price for the safety box and would like to take the opportunity to explain that the prices are imposed by our central office on a global level and unfortunately can’t be modified onsite, the price shows up automatically on our computers depending on the length of the stay.

The gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company and our restaurant being the first IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant in the Canaries Islands we take all remarks very seriously as we strive to offer enriching dining experiences to all our visitors; our Chefs follow a 2 weeks menu rotation so as to guarantee a wide array of both local and international specialties for our guests to savor many different flavors at every single meal and please all palates; for example the potatoes are not Canadian style but the typical Canarian “papas arrugadas” to be savored with the famous Mojo Picon sauce; moreover we guarantee on a daily basis gazpacho and salmorejo, paellas, fideuas and no description of the island's food would be complete without mentioning rabbit, either prepared in salmorejo or stewed.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, however, as not all guests are willing to participate in group activities, our staff is trained not to disturb those guests who prefer lying by the pool, this is why we have information panels with the activities program displayed on a daily basis.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out your satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and for your highlight on the cleanliness of our hotel, the hygiene being one of our top priorities.

Thank you once more for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable IBEROSTAR experience in the near future, ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews