We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER HOTEL !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUPER HOTEL !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We are a family with 2 children and our parents from Prague .We just came back from 2 weeks at the Dream Grand Tacande and we enjoyed our holiday very much
All staff is very nice ,friendly and helpfull .Especially I would like to say "thank you very much" to Lorena, Luis Ramos ,Deyanira ,Ruben ,Gino , Omar and girls in SPA,who really made our holiday special !
Our rooms were very large with a big balcony and a nice view to the sea .The service was excellent and the location is really great .
The food was changed every day and was very delicious !
We highly recomment this hotel to everybody ,who will go toTenerife for holiday and we will come back for sure !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGUYEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    454
    114
    47
    30
See reviews for
705
1,060
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Yes I could be very critical and point out the crack in the shower tiles ... or the dust gathering under some of the chairs in the restaurant .. or the fact that most of the pool side towels were frayed and old ... but to be honest - the rest of the hotel would outshine those minor points!

The food and restaurant staff were fantastic. I have never had such a choice of food - not to mention the caviar, and champagne for breakfast! At most meals there was either a violinist or a pianist playing. The staff were very attentive. Can't complain at all.

The rooms were large, roomy and well maintained. Room serviced every day - and night serviced during the late afternoon. Generally the hotel was extremely clean.

For an extra 180e for two people for five days, we got a daily newspaper, use of the spa, a 15 minute massage each, tapas (bread and cheese and ham), deluxe bathroom bits (shampoos etc) and a room gift (a hat or t-shirt with hotel name on it). We thought that this was very good value until we had to ask for a full refund because unfortunately over 12s were allowed in ... and were playing ball in the pool ... not what I want when I am trying to have a relaxing pool side massage and a swim in the indoor pool! The managers were very good at issuing us with a refund though.

There were three outside pools. A fairly small shallow pool for little ones. A larger square pool good for more serious swimmers and a shaped big pool for everyone too. I don't know about the toddler pools but the others contained sea water. There was also a jacuzzi near pool side.

Area wise - very convenient with nearby shopping centres and a beach at a stones throw away. We didn't venture out too much but it all looked very nice.

The receptionists did have a habit of talking to other clientelle whilst dealing with us - which personally I do find a little rude - or is that just me being typically English? Talking of English - we were very much in the minority! The hotel is mainly russian, german, french, italian and spanish by the sounds of it. Not a problem though because the staff seemed to speak English well.

We found that the hotel had a lot of families and were geared up for them. It was a bit noisy at poolside - so if you are looking for a more mature break away from kids - then this is not the right hotel for you. I believe that a lot of the schools have broken up now abroad though so obviously the time of year must be taken into consideration on that one.

Would I return - yes I would certainly consider it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayer187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just back from a week at the Dream Gran Tacande in Costa Adeje.

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the Plaza Del Duque to one side and the beach to the other.

Service at the hotel was terrific, all staff were there to ensure we had a great holiday and were all friendly and helpful.

We were there half board and found a great choice of food at breakfast and dinner. The oriental food was particularly good.

We will definately book here for our next trip to Tenerife.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamesC3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very impressed..... Worthy of its 5 star status... Very nice rooms as described, stunning bathrooms which I know you girls love. Very nice location in the upmarket area. I managed to get a great deal too so shop around online".... Defiantly one to stay in. Oh the spa is a must ........ Had a relaxing massage too... Amazing !,,,

Room Tip: All good ..... I always ask for a nice room on top floor, seems to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pmg1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for a week in the middle of June. First impressions very good. Had a very nice suite on the ground floor overlooking the pool. The only problem was that it was over what we thought must be the pool filtration room as all night long there was a loud humming noise which was not down to the air conditioning. It started at about 10pm and went on until about 7am every day. Thankfully didn't keep us awake but it was certainly constant!

This is just a small gripe but if you are paying for a suite, instead of a dining table laid up with tablecloth and place settings for four (who would use this?) why not have coffee/tea making facilities in the room? I know a lot of hotels don't do this but why not - if you are paying extra money for a suite it would be a nice touch. There were also notices saying that the fridge in the room was for purchased mini-bar items only (even thought it was empty). Tip - take no notice of that - I think if you have a fridge in the room and its turned on it is there to be used

The swimming pool area was very good - some saving of sunbeds going on but generally it was easy to find a sunbed at any time of the day. And they had lovely cushioned sunbed covers which were very comfy and much better than just lying on a towel.

Gym was well stocked with equipment but could do with some fans or air conditioning - working out in 25 degree heat was a challenge. Also as it is part of the spa, there is no access prior to 9am which is a bit inconvenient if you have a gym routine early in the morning.

Food at the hotel was excellent and certainly the best bit - more than enough to choose from and a good variety. Have never seen such an extensive buffet. Staff were courteous - though some were more smiley, happy than others.

In a lovely location with a great walking path both ways along the coast.

Overall, a very good hotel and if it wasn't for the little niggly bits I would have given it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

First of all I would like to say thank-you to all of the hard working staff at the hotel, without exception everyone tried their best to make guests as comfortable and happy as possible.
On the positive side I would say that the food and the service in the restaurant was excellent (this was one of the main drivers for our return visit to the hotel). The staff seemed to be well trained and highly motivated. Always asking and checking if everything was ok. We also found the swimming pool area very clean, a relaxing place to be. Reception was good; the porter helped with bags and parked our car in the garage. The room was comfortable and pleasant.
On the negative side our short holiday was spoiled to an extent because of the noise and dust from the construction work on the terrace. We were only staying for 4 nights and this work continued during our stay. Drilling, cutting, welding and banging meant we could not relax completely because of the disturbance. We also saw workmen wheeling cement in wheelbarrows through corridors used by guests, more dust and dirt. I can understand why the work was needed, but remember this is a five star hotel and we should not have been adversely affected by this work. The waiters were setting the tables on the terrace for dinner with dust and dirt blowing onto the tables and chairs. We were really looking forward to our visit to the Gran Tacande, (we chose to return because our last visit there was so good) but feel our stay was not perfect and that on this occasion we did not have a five star experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Visited Gran Tacande early June 2012, party of 4 : 2 parents & children aged 2 & 4.
The location is good, out of the front door to the Plaza del Duque shopping centre (with well priced dino supermarket) or out of the gate by the pool to the promenade just in front of the Duke's palace (turn left to Torviscas/Fanabe for cheap food & drink, turn right for a more upmarket promenade with less acreage of sunburn & tattoos) & good snorkelling along the left hand side of the T shaped rocks 100m to the right. Free parking beneath hotel very useful.
The food was good quality, with Omar doing a good job cooking to order on the meat & fish griddle. Usual buffet arrangement (be sure to attend the 'coping with buffets' training course beforehand to avoid creating Homer Simpson style extravagant yet ridiculous dinners for yourself).
All four of us came down one by one with a 24hr gastric virus - I initially attributed it to norovirus from oysters but same virus appears common throughout that coast as you'll find from a bit of googling. Anyway, some quick weight loss courtesy of the N-plan. Hotel clean & everything appeared hygenic & professionally run so I assume it's just one of those things.
Salt water pools not a problem but take goggles if you want to swim properly. Plenty of loungers but some hogging, it was tricky to get loungers near the 2 child-safe areas of the pool, we often found them reserved by people without children.
Emailed reception before we went asking for a room without a drop from the balcony due to safety concerns with a 2 & 4yr old & they were able to allocate a safe one fronting onto a walkway, so worth asking if you are worried.
Staff all friendly & helpful without exception.
Large proportion of russian & german guests, so a few traditionally stern looking faces about (I suggest keeping the universe in balance by being extra cheerful & polite whenever you encounter anyone grumpy looking).
Entertainment mediocre but tasteful, could have benefited from something aimed at children.
Hotel building fairly attractive,with the appearance of several smaller traditional buildings.
Recommended activities : take a drive over the volcano to La Orotava, eat some tapas & pata negra ham in the friendly cafe on the front at Candelaria, go for a submarine trip, go snorkelling & fish feeding off playa DD.

Good overall, would return.

One cautionary note : beware medical referrals. My my wife suffered a skin reaction on her arms to sun / cream / salt water & we strolled into the pharmacy in the Plaza DD expecting to waltz back out in 30 seconds with a €1 pack of antihistamines. The pharmacist made a big song & dance, said it might be an infection, phoned the medical centre on the top floor of the shopping centre, a keen young lady promptly appeared & escorted us upstairs for a brief €50 consultation. Result : no infection, a prescription for some expensive antihistamine tablets & cream which his friend downstairs would be happy to help us with & offer of an injection 'if you want'. Not sure if there's a kickback to the pharmacy for referrals but it was all a bit whiffy. One hand washes the other..
Similar experience in Cyprus last year - asked the hotel reception where the nearest hospital / doctor was to get antibiotics for tonsilitis & they had a list of different private clinics to send people to depending which holiday company they had booked through so that the commission would be payed correctly. The clinic we were sent to offered a £100 consultation but the receptionist was very honest & advised us to go to the NHS hospital half a mile away where we were seen quickly for free & with no unneccessary treatment. Very stinky indeed.

Room Tip: Emailed reception before we went asking for a room without a drop from the balcony due to safety con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 0colin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#11 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing