We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT IS 5 STAR, BUT THE PROBLEM IS THE LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First of all, my apologies to the hotel.
The hotel itself is a wonderful 5 star in an area of 5 star hotels.
We thought we would try a different location and that was the problem.
Playa Del Duque is very upmarket and hosts a large variety of top class retail shops. If you want to buy Cartier or Rolex then this is the place for you.
The nearby restaurants are also expensive and not particularly highly rated by Tripadvisor. We usually walked into Costa Adeje ( about 15 mins) to go to decent restaurants at reasonable prices. May even be worth a taxi fare into Playa De Las Americas for top Tripadvisor rated restaurants.
There is no decent entertainment in the area and is generally a bit too quiet.
As for the hotel, it has a wonderful breakfast with every combination of possible foods (including caviare, red or black!).
No problem getting sunbeds as there are hundreds. One of the outdoor pools is heated perfectly.
Staff fantastic, rooms massive. A wonderful hotel and if you have no intention of leaving the hotel (upgrade to extras, incl evening meal and spa experience 39 euros/person /night) then this is for you.
Pity about the location. It is not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: They will all be good. Not sure it is worth paying for a sea view, as all have some partial sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Quite a discovery this hotel. away from the crowds of the Americas. nice and relaxing atmosphere, coupled with easy access to the beach. I wasn't able to try all the amenities but the food layout was brilliant.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor on the north side. nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had booked another hotel and were informed the day before we were due to fly that we were being moved to the Dream Gran Tacande... Oh boy....we couldn't have stayed at a better hotel. Food was fantastic (I'm a fussy eater) ate at every meal. Staff were excellent. The guy that was in charge of changing the pool towels was excellent with our grandchildren.....would love to go back to this 5***** hotel.... Rooms spotless and a really large balcony....highly recommended...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Maureen,
We from Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that everything turned out perfectly for you after all and that you thought you couldn’t have stayed at a better hotel. In our restaurant we offer a wide variety of different meals for our guests to try and savor. Our entire staff works really hard to provide our guests with a perfect holiday. We always make sure that our entire hotel is very clean and we are glad you liked your clean room and the really large balcony so much. Thank you very much for recommending us. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Gran Tacande in October; excellent location, beautiful room, first class staff and idyllic breakfast (both in quality and setting). We had a slight mix up with the room but it was sorted out very quickly. The only downside was our trip to Orca Park which we booked via the hotel, it was a 3 hour coach trip and not 1 hour as advised by reception. I would strongly recommend that you do not take this option, it was like a sauna on a coach without aircon!. The hotel manager took our feedback seriously and was very apologetic. All in all, a very elegant hotel, we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Lindsey,
Thank you very much for your comment about our Dream Gran Tacande 5* on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the fact that you didn’t enjoy the Loro Parque so much, which you booked at our reception. The opinion of our guests is very important to us and if you have any problems or suggestions during your stay, please comment them to our staff and they will be happy to be of help. Our hotel is located in Costa Adeje, where our guests can find many different great shopping centers to buy some souvenirs or they can relax at the amazing Playa del Duque, which our guests can reach within 2 min walking distance from our hotel. Like you said our rooms are beautiful and provide everything our guests need during their stay. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast so much. In our restaurant our guests can chosse from a wide variety of dishes during breakfast or dinner. You mentioning that our staff is first class is very important to us and we can assure you they all do their absolute best so our guests are left without a wish. We hope you will return to our elegant hotel for another visit in the near future. We offer a special 5% discount to loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Bets regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Dream is the right name. We absolutely loved the hotel. The breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and more, bucks fizz for breakfast..Our room was lovely, bathroom was to die for.
Entertainment every night, what was good you didn't have to wait till late before it was on,
started at a reasonable time.. Staff were really nice, left my purse on the table down stairs one night, hardly had got in the room and the phone was ringing to let me know they had picked it up, how honest is that...Must say, and my husbands agrees one or if not the best hotels we've stayed in..Oh and nice shopping mall just over the road, very classy...and a visit to the spa is a must..

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

From the entire team at Dream Gran Tacande 5* we would like to thank you for sharing your brilliant experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
It is the best for us to hear what a perfect time you had during your holiday and we are very happy that you absolutely loved our hotel. Like you said we offer plenty of choice for our guests to choose from during breakfast and also during dinner in our restaurant. All our rooms are very spacious and have a full equipped bathroom, which you enjoyed so much. Our animation team offer activities during the day for our guests to participate in our they can just watch the great evening entertainment. The quality and the professionalism of our entire staff is a very important topic for Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts and we are very happy to hear you appreciated the honesty of our staff and that you got your purse back without any problems. Our entire staff is working really hard for our guests to be able to spend an amazing holiday. In our Spa Vitanova our guests can book a great massage or just relax in the Thermal Circuit.The location of our Dream Gran Tacande 5* in Costa Adeje with the Shooping Center Plaza Del Duque right on the other side of the street, is perfect for going for shopping strolls or swimming in the perfect blue water at Playa del Duque. We hope you will return to our hotel for another visit in the near future. Loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the October half term, based on previous trip advisor reviews. We could not fault a thing - from first impressions when entering the hotel through to our departure.

The room was very big and easily catered for the three of us. My daughter slept on the sofa bed which she said was very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with shower and a separate shower, with a separate loo and bidet. The shower was very powerful. The toiletries were great and were kept fully replenished (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion). The lady who came to turn down the beds was lovely and always left us a couple of extra chocolates.

The breakfast buffet was superb and catered for all requirements, down to caviar and cava. The waiters were great and need a special mention for their excellent service and attitude.

Finally the chaps looking after the pool area were exemplary - moving parasols for people and re-positioning beds. The towels were also big enough to cover the very comfortable sun beds.

We're already looking to book again for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisysmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We would like to thank you for your great comment about our Dream Gran Tacande 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you could not fault anything during your entire stay in our hotel. Like you said there is enough space for three people in our rooms and with the fully equipped bathroom with the very powerful shower they provide everything our guests need during their holiday and we are glad that you liked the toiletries so much. Our cleaning ladies make sure our rooms are always very clean and at night our guests can appreciate the turn down service with the chocolates on the pillow. In our restaurant our guests can enjoy an amazing breakfast, so they have plenty of energy during the day and at night they can taste meals from other parts of the world during the theme nights. Our entire staff is working really hard so our guests have everything they need and we appreciate you mentioned it in your comment and that you thought they are great. We hope you will choose our hotel for another visit again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is situated on a very 'upper-market' part of the island Playa Del Duque and is just exquisite. As you walk in you get the feeling of a very 'grand' hotel with luxury furnishings, not really i would say for 'family with children'. The reception area was lovely and the staff were extremely helpful as we encountered a problem (not to do with the hotel) but they helped us in a very awkward position.

We were booked in and led to our room, wow - rooms one of the best we have had. Queen size bed, drapes, plenty of walk-around space and closet space for clothes but the bathroom to me was just divine. His n hers sink with enclosed lighting, massive bath, power shower in an enclosed cubicle and toilet and bidet separated. I am fussy and like things to be clean and i could not fault this room, very pleased with a patio area outside and furniture. I would give the room top marks and the cleaning of it.

Would definitely upgrade to half board, the meals were lovely - although i wouldnt say 5* in some of the meals. Outside al fresco was just divine but pls hotel take on board i know smoking is permitted but it would be an idea to have say smokers to one half and the rest to the other half. Every night we were not impressed that sum1 on the next table along would light up while we were eating - NOT NICE, especially as i have experienced cancer and do not smoke.

Activities: Well, i understand hotel activities are somewhat lacking and believe me if this hotel falls short in one area it is deinitely activities during the day and also the evening. We both felt that there was no atmosphere whatsover in this place. No1 really mixed with any1, which we have always interacted with others but most of the clients here were German and at almost 50 we felt out of it as the majority of the residents are a lot older and would not mix.

The pool area although quite a few sunbeds were all taken, even at this time of year, very little room and i think these were the worst pools we have seen, just a big rectangle shape with no character about them, hence to say out of the 7 days we spent all of 2 hours during the whole week round the pool.

The surrounding area is very 'hilly' and would be a struggle for some1 with walking difficulty. Very expensive round Del Duque but that is the area and is reflected in the price.

So to sum up this hotel my personal opinion is: Great hotel for relaxing, luxury surroundings but it you are either younger or with a family i think you would struggle to fit around this. We have a 10 year old who on this occasion didnt go but we wouldnt go back with him in the future as i feel he would be bored. Also i think the smoking aspect needs to be sorted out as i know a few who were 'unhappy' at eating outside whilst having sum1 blowing smoke all over you whilst eating. For us to go back here, i would like to see a little more atmosphere about the place as sometimes it was a little like entering a museum.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have a good view just ask for a 'quiet room' and the group at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Joy and Andy,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is located in Costa Adeje with the amazing Playa del Duque within 2 min walking distance from our hotel and many different shopping centers in the surrounding area. It is built in the traditional architecture of the Canary Islands and therefore has a special charm. We are very happy to hear you liked our staff so much; they all do their absolute best for our guests to have a great time during their holiday. Like you said our rooms are great, spacious, very clean and with the fully equipped bathroom our guests must not miss anything and we are glad you thought it was one of the best you’ve had. We would like to apologize for the smokers during your meals. Our guests can try many different dishes each night during their stay. Our animation team offers different activities during the day and at night they put on a great show and we are sorry that you thought there wasn’t enough entertainment for you. We would like to apologize for the fact that you didn’t like our pools so much. There are three salt water pools in our hotel, where our guests can enjoy the many sunny days on Tenerife on a comfortable sun bed. The sun bed policy in our hotel states that the pool man removes the towels from sun beds, which are not being used for a longer time, so if you have any trouble finding one, please tell it to our pool man and he will help you find one. We would like to apologize again for the inconveniences with the other guests smoking during your meals and we hope you will give us a second chance for us to assure you of our great hotel.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £139 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing