We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All is well at the Gran Tacande”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All is well at the Gran Tacande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited Gran Tacande for 10 days half board basis in late March. This is spacious hotel in Costa Adeje with walks in both directions. Our sea view room was initially disappointing with views obscured by other buildings and too close to the end of the hotel next to the Del Duque shopping centre. We changed the next day to the 6th floor and had an excellent room with a nice spacious balcony with sea views all around. Being politely persistent usually helps. Getting sunbeds was easy as we were not bothered about sitting around the pool.

The half board option was a good choice with a plentiful selection and a Chinese section in the dining room. Fish was the star performer with 4 different choices more than we have ever seen before. Meat at the show cooking section was less successful and occasionally under cooked.

Dining here is a pleasant experience with generous table spacing and attentive staff.

You are unlikely to be disappointed with this hotel which lives up to its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: For best sea views you need to be on 6th or 7th floor. Also avoid being at the end of the hotel nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandMarie186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear JohnandMarie186233,
We from Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is located in Costa Adeje with the amazing Playa del Duque and various shopping centers within a few minutes walking distance. We are sorry that you were not happy with your first room, but we are glad to know that our reception staff allocated you in another room with a magnificent view. All our rooms are very spacious and offer everything our guests may require during their stay including a fully equipped bathroom. We are proud to read that you found our food excellent, because only the best quality is accepted in our buffet and restaurant, where the guests can sample the best of the local and international cuisine. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    454
    114
    49
    33
See reviews for
708
1,062
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

just a very big thank you to all the staff @ the 5* hotel gran tacande the latest of our many visits as usual from the top down all the staff were charming &the hotel ,food &rooms were of the highest standard a5* hotel with a great outlook & 7* service

Room Tip: just ask reception but most of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear david d,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Tacande 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. Offering the best service to our guests, the best quality of food and the best accommodation are the main priorities for us, and we are glad to know that we complied with your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel very nice, room new and spacious, casual and relaxed atmosphere.
Great location just steps from the beach with great sea views from the upper floors.
The food is excellent, and it recognizes a remarkable capacity to the chef, whose name I do not know, to prepare breakfast: crepes and eggs are exceptional! all accompanied by a fantastic smile that lights up the day.
Thanks to you, Tenerife will be in my heart!
Stefania Cunial
Italy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stefania c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Stefania Cunial,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Our rooms offer enough space so our guests can spread out and relax on their holiday. Like you said our hotel is very spacious and therefore it has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The gorgeous Playa del Duque is only 2 min walking distance behind our hotel and there our guests can go for a swim in the unbelievable blue water. For their perfect start in the day our guests can find everything at our breakfast buffet like different chesses, various cereals and fruits and much more and at night they can enjoy the delicious freshly cooked meals in our restaurant. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from a wonderful 10 night holiday at the Gran Tacande with my wife and two boys 11 and 7. We stayed in a senior suite with Sea view (645) which was amazing, stunning views and vary spacious and kept incredibly clean by the staff. We opted for the half board and we were very impressed by the quality and variety of the food, furthermore the service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. This was the first time that we had stayed in the hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family with young or old children.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Neil P,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Tacande 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
It is fantastic that you liked your room with the magnificent view. All our rooms are very spacious and offer everything our guests may require during their stay including a fully equipped bathroom. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in our restaurant is a highlight for our guests. We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. Thank you very much for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from an amazing 7 night stay in gran tacande with my boyfriend and 2 sons aged 5 and 9 months. We have previously stayed in their sister hotels, Noelia Sur in Las Americas 5 times and Gran Castillo Papagayo in Lanzarote once and although we enjoyed our time at the other hotels, this hotel was on another level.

The check in was smooth, a man greeted us and took our car to the car park and we were offered a welcome drink and then we were delighted when we realised we had been upgraded to a suite.

The suite had a huge jacuzzi bath tub, 2 seperate balconies and a seperate lounge with sofa bed for my 5 year old. There were 2 "kids boxes" which included toothpaste, a toothbrush, yo yo, sponge, shower gel, eau de toilette and a rubber duck. I thought this was a lovely touch and my son was over the moon. We were also brought fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne, and every night they come to your room with clean floor mats and chocolate.

The room was cleaned every day by kind and curteous maids to a very high standard with little touches left in places like the top tissue shaped into a bow etc.

The food in the hotel is excellent with everything you could imagine. There is not a specific kids corner but thats probably because fresh meat, chicken beef pork and lots of different fish, is in abundance. There was italian, spanish, chinese and japanese every night and there is also everything you could ask for for breakfast.

Antonio in the restaurant is a credit to the hotel, he came up every morning and evening and greeted us and spoke to us like we were old friends. He even gave us a hug on our last day! Such a lovely man who made our time even more personal.

Everyone in the restaurant bent over backwards to help us, as soon as our meal was finished the plates were cleared and everyone was very attentive and friendly to our children. The two chefs who cooked the pasta and meat were also very friendly and came over to speak on a few occasions.

As it has been mentioned, the pool is salt water and unheated, but in the heat of Tenerife this really isn't a problem. My kids and I were in and out of the pool and its just lovely.

We had someone phone us from reception on 2 occasions to make sure everything was okay, and I even had the hotel manager call me which was lovely.

There was a mini disco after dinner and lots of activities for the kids including face painting and balloon shaping.

The extras we were given was outstanding. Free wifi is a great bonus, and I was given 2 free tickets to the spa which was lovely.

We have stayed at lots of different hotels in Tenerife including another 2 5 star hotels, but nothing compares to the Dreamplace group, so we definitely will be returning! We feel like family now!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamanfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Shamanfa,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We always make sure that all our spacious rooms are very clean and tidy. As you mentioned the food in our restaurant is first class at breakfast and also at dinner. Thank you for mentioning how friendly and hardworking is Antonio, we will convey to him your kind words in relation to his work. We appreciate your comment about our restaurant staff; they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. There are two salt water pools in our hotel and one of them is heated so during the winter months our guests can still go for a swim. Like you said our animation team plans great entertainment each night and also on special occasions, so our guests are entertained and can forget about the daily life back home. In the entire hotel our guests can use the Wi-Fi free of charge. We are glad to hear that you have a familiar feeling with us. For us it is a pleasure to welcome back loyal customers who choose to spend your vacation again with us. We certainly hope you'll come back to our hotel again soon. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Bad points : This hotel has deteriorated and is very tired. Dark entrance and passageways. Shabby reception with some very very rude and unhelpful female staff.
Bedroom furnishings worn and poor selection of toiletries. Pool towels virtually thread bare. Food rather repetitive and lacking that 5 star quality eg poor selection of bread at breakfast, fruit poorly presented and not much in the way of nuts, seeds and cereals. Dinner, again lack of choice unless you like food kept warm under lights. Worst of all the spa - what a joke, not clean and very run down. Gym equipment rusty.
Good points: excellent dining room staff and maid service. They try hard despite the lack of investment in this place.Heated pool was pleasant.
This place needs some serious investment as it is clearly being cut back in any spending on the quality one expects from a 5 star hotel. Just no comparison to other 5 star hotels that we have stayed at in the Canaries eg the Lopesan group in Gran Canaria, the Del Duque in Adeje or the Atlantis Bahia Real on Fuerteventura.
Most disappointing. We will not be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sports1mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear sports1mad,
We at Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you did not have a good impression about our hotel. We also would like to apologize for the behavior of our member of staff. The quality and the professionalism of our entire team are very important factors to Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts and we will make sure situations like this will not occur again. We are sorry for the inconveniences with your room and we appreciate you mentioning it to our reception, so they could find a solution for you. In our restaurant our guests can choose meals from many different parts of the world at dinner, and at breakfast we offer a big variety of meals for the pleasure of everyone, but we are sorry that you could not find all you wanted. Our Spa Vitanova provides an equipped gym apart of a nice variety of services, we are sorry that you did not like it. For our guests to be able to spend a wonderful holiday nothing is too much trouble for our staff and we appreciate you mentioning it. Like you said there are two salt water pools in our hotel and one of them is heated so during the winter months our guests can still go for a swim. We hope you will come to our hotel again, so we can have a second chance to assure you of our high standard. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from our third holiday at Gran Tacande. Love the Hotel and the staff are excellent. The first time, two years ago for our golden wedding, it was so special and we thought the food was great. The second time, last year, we thought the food was not quite as good and we thought the same this time, that is why "very good" instead of excellent. We always go half board and there is a lot of choice, but the food doesn't seem of the best quality that it had been 2 years ago. Were in room 433, balcony bit small, not much sun. My husband loves the sun and asked if we could move downstairs with bigger balcony, more sun, but was not possible, however we noticed that no-one came into that room while we were there. Also another bugbear, there are signs by the sunbeds that they must not be reserved but 90% are! When we went down with our towels after breakfast there were more empty, though reserved, than people on them. Why put the notices up if they don't mean anything? However we did get a bottle of bubbly for my Husband's 75th birthday. Nice touch.
Overall though, love the hotel and will most probably go again in November.

Room Tip: We were in room 433. It had a connecting door but it was lucky it was quiet. Got some sun but not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VBRO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear VBRO123,
We from Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you have chosen us again to spend your holidays. We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. In our restaurant our guests can choose meals from many different parts of the world and we can assure you we only offer freshly cooked food to our guests each day and each night. But it is good that you mention these matters to us, so we can take care of them. We are sorry that you didn’t have a big balcony in your room, but you always will have the option to upgrade for a better room. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences with the sun beds; we have a special sun bed policy in our hotel, where the pool man removes the towels from sun beds, which are not being used for a longer time. We are very happy to hear that you loved our hotel and we certainly hope you will come back again soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#11 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing