We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Holiday ever”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I can honestly say that this was the worst experience of my life. So much so that I had to leave after a few days. Staff very rude to the children ... very threatening. I caught a waiter shouting at my daughter saying she could not sit at a particular table. Brought her to tears!!! Pool was fine until the children were told after dour days NO INFLATABLES they had been using them for four days with no trouble!!! No signage to say no inflatables also. Kids club non-existent when we asked we were taken to the basement to a converted bedroom and a lady came in to sit with them whilst they did colouring!!! (they advertise that they have a kids club!! Don't waste you money on this hotel you will not get any enjoyment from it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank diamondManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    459
    118
    53
    38
See reviews for
714
1,081
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We arrived at this hotel not having any idea what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised. When left in our room, we soon discovered it was a huge suite, with a massive balcony. The bedroom and bathroom were massive, and then there was a hallway, and spacious living room as well! The breakfast buffet was also top notch! Huge choice, and quality ingredients, it was great. The only down side was that although this hotel was marketed as a 5 star, it didn't quite have the 5 star service, although the service was very good, the '5 star' magic wasn't quite there. However, for the money, compared to other 5 star nearby, this hotel offered fantastic value, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunkissedHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel is 5 star at its best, having returned for the 4th time, i cannot fault it.. The staff are exceptional, including the director of this hotel will do anything to make your stay one to remember. nothing is ever too much trouble, rooms and food totally faultless.. I would recommend anyone to stay here and will certainly be returning again..

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife and I returned, for the 3rd time. We love the hotel. It is a hidden gem in Costa Adeje, beautifully positioned, next to the Hotel Bahia Del Duque, and and Playa del Duque Beach. It is a lovely hotel, unpretentious, and by Canarian standards, not too large and certainly NOT impersonal, offering a high standard of accommodation and excellent service. The staff have always been delightful; warm, welcoming and courteous. The bedrooms are fabulous, and the bathrooms too. Plenty of space, spotlessly clean, and well furnished in a 'canarian' style ( whatever that means) rather than in a 'modern' or 'characterless' way. The beds are extremely comfortable, and there is a turn down service every evening - I would say however that I think this service should be provided later, when guests are at dinner, rather than at 5pm! The pool area is delightful, with plenty of sunbeds, and lots of quiet nooks and crannies to relax, if you don't want to sit right by the pool. There has never been a rush for sunbeds, nor any difficulty finding one. Breakfast is lovely, with everything you could wish for. We only experienced one evening meal in the hotel, which was a typical Canarian buffet, and I would have to say this was not really up to our expectations for this standard of hotel. It certainly was NOT worth the €35 per head charge. We enjoy eating out at local restaurants, rather than the buffet, and would choose this every time as there are some really good restaurants nearby, particularly the fish restaurants in Caleta, the Hacienda near the hotel, and the Coeur de Filet in Fanabe. The biggest asset in this hotel were the staff, and in particular Andres, one of the head barmen, who asked our name on arrival, remembering we had visited before, and then remembered it throughout the holiday - he seemed to do this for all the guests. He was charming and provided an excellent and personal service. The waiters generally were delightful and especially the Maitre D in the restaurant who was very attentive. The coffee at breakfast in the 'vacuum jugs' was NOT good, and when we mentioned this we were immediately informed that we were perfectly at liberty to order a 'cafe con leche' made freshly, or an 'espresso', and there was no charge for this. My wife enjoyed the coffee for the rest of the holiday, at breakfast, once we found this out! Drinks in the bar were expensive, but then, at the present time, we found everything in the area to be expensive partly because of the current euro exchange rate, and also because most places seem to have put their prices up, despite the economic downturn! I think the prices of upgrading to a sea view room are rather expensive too. We were offered a half board package on arrival but felt it was NOT good value. However, if we had been offered a half board package for 3 nights we might have considered it! The pool bar is excellent, although it is possible to get similar food and drink at a cafe below the hotel, adjacent to the beach for half the price - and the cafe belongs to the hotel! The manager David was charming and attentive when we asked to see him about one or two relatively minor problems ( including the coffee mentioned above) and all the things we were mentioned he 'took on board' and we could see some action. He appreciated our comments, especially as we made them constructively, early in the holiday, giving him the opportunity to put them right, which he did as far as possible. The evening entertainment was, in our opinion, not up to scratch - the pianist, although competent, totally lacked personality, staring at the keyboard most of the time, and the singer was bland. We complained about the choice of music which we also felt to be bland, outdated, and explained that we would love to hear some more up to date music - the manager noted this and agreed. With the present set up, in entertainment terms this would only be appealing to older guests and would not entice younger guests, or middle aged to come to the hotel which is a shame. We did not stay in for all the 'floor show acts' that were brought in, most evenings, as we were often out to dinner, but most of them were typical Canarian acts, similar to those we have seen before. However, the Beatles and 'Gloria Estefan' tributes were great entertainment and we thoroughly enjoyed them. I think the hotel is great and we would certainly stay there again, and recommend it to others, BUT I think they need to keep on their toes, and improve the evening buffet, and the entertainment programme if they are to make this hotel appeal to younger, livelier guests! I hope they will take note!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

A great hotel on an excellent island. I went to the tacande with family and friends, I feel obliged to give the staff some credit as they were ever so friendly to us all. If you are looking for one of the best food experiences of your life, then head down to 'The Star Of Asia' for not only fantastic food (Inidan/Tandori) but extreme value for money, this restaurant among others is located in the safari in playa de las americas. The breakfasts at the tacande are mouthwatering and they cater for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattthedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england amersham
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

A smart hotel in a great location close to the beach . Great ambience for outside eating and a lovely pool area. Also a good location for walks /eating along the sea front. When you come out of the hotel via the pool area turn left if you want to eat cheap and get your euro a pint and turn right for lovely eating places with great ambience and character.
Rooms large and well maintained and we found all the staff very helpfull. Areas to improve well the entertainment is in the only bar area so it lacks atmosphere and you cant have a quiet drink and the gym air con dosnt work. Apart from that top notch!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Like many of the other visitors to this hotel we were slightly concerned after reading the reviews on this site - we needn't have worried. Myself, husband and teen son loved our time at the Gran Tacande. Whilst there are few 'young people' here and mainly middle aged couples and (Spanish) families with very young children, our son was very happy to converse with whoever wished to speak. He spent time with two Portuguese boys and an Icelandic girl - all lovely people with impeccable manners (unlike so many British youngsters!).

Whilst we experienced one or two of the 'problems' mentioned by other visitors these really weren't serious issues - rather more, communication hiccoughs.

The hotel offers high standards minus pretentiousness which suited us perfectly. The staff were polite & courteous and I would go as far as to say that we 'made friends' with many of them. Particularly a Polish fish/meat chef and two waiters - Algerian and Spanish. The kitchen/restaurant staff are very closely monitored by their quite aggressive and demanding managers and we were sure to leave positve comments with the senior staff to share our thanks for the superb service.

Breakfast and Dinner is buffet style (we were half board) and there is choice in abundance AND WE ARE VERY FUSSY!
BREAKFAST: I cannot begin to list what was available but most mornings we enjoyed fresh smoothies, fresh fruit & juice and pastries/pancakes. All manner of cooked foods were also available including fish and meat.
DINNER: Again, I cannot list everything available since there is so much choice - but meats, pasta/pizza, fish. With many combinations of vegetables, salads, soups and breads. A desert table offers a continuously replenished choice of little Spanish cakes/pastries and guests also help themselves to the multi-flavours/sprinkles of the ice cream cart.

The building, including pool area, is continuously cleaned and shined. We found it to be spotless. ABOUT THE POOL: Don't bother to pack towels (unless you like the beach) because you won't need them. You are given 'towel passes' which are exchanged on poolside for huge towels. When you return your pool towel you collect your pass. Poolside drinks are very expensive and after the first couple of days (when we couldn't be bothered to move) we tended to take an afternoon stroll to the Spa supermarket for an ice cream or drink.

The chambermaids work incredibly hard and are perhaps a little too keen to enter the rooms and complete their tasks. Having made enquiries about their schedules it is no surprise that they are on the go at the crack of dawn. We had a slight issue with the evening chambermaids knocking on the doors (to turn down the bed sheets) whilst we were showering, but a polite word with the reception staff ensured that the evening visit was adjusted to suit our timetable.

We do not speak Spanish, with the exception of the usual polite phrases but we found that most of the staff were keen to communicate so we did our bit (with the help our our GCSE teen who was far better than us) and this was very well received. The chambermaids seemed to speak only Spanish (not surprisingly) so we made a keen effort to leave polite written notes (take a phrase book or GCSE teenager!) if we needed anything.

The most helpful of the reception staff is a young Spanish women who appears to speak several languages and on arrival arranged drinks for us whilst we completed the necessary room documentation. Her English is not brilliant but she is very keen to assist (we spoke with her about the evening chambermaids as mentioned above).

If you are new to Tenerife you might find it interesting to take a taxi to 'Americas' - then you will appreciate how lovely the Gran Tacande really is.

  • Liked — High standards of cleanliness and efficient service
  • Disliked — Lack of English TV channels (for news bulletins)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo-deF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing