We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor standard spa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor standard spa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2006

We did not stay at the hotel but decided to visit the spa as we enjoy the talgo treatments that they use. It was very disappointing as I feel that we were conned by the receptionist and the cleanliness was very poor. We had booked in for a facial and when we arrived at the spa reception we were told that they felt we needed two facials each but they could discount the second one! I have visited many spas over the world and had never heard of this but the receptionist and the therapist has been chatting in spanish with each other about the complexions and we were beginning to feel a bit uncomfortable as we could not understand what they were saying. They insisted that we needed a hydrating and a cleansing and they could not combine the two. By then we just wanted to move away and stupidly paid. The pools inside are nice but the changing rooms were filthy with dirty towels lying around and hair and mud all over the floor. They did not provide any footwear or robes and you were therefore walking barefoot in all the dirt. I had another therapist and she could not understand why I had been booked in for two facials. She left me waiting on the bed for twenty minutes whist she checked and then came back and pretended she now understood but it was obvious she was pretending. The facial treatment was very nice but knowing we were ripped off was unpleasant and we would not recommend this spa to anyone

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank escapefromrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    433
    106
    45
    24
See reviews for
669
1,003
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2006

we stayed Dec 2005 & jan 2006 christmas & new year. We arrived during a heavy storm and were vere disapointed to find the reception area leaking from the roof with buckets and bits of carpet soaking up the rain. we did not expected from a 5* hotel. our room also had water leak from the room above. the food generally was good - no special dinner for christmas day! a gala night for new years eve which started wonderfully but unfortunelty all the food was stone cold and not proplery cooked you could not complain as the staff were trying so very hard and rushed off their feet - not enough staff .The hotel was very dark and even the rooms were dark - we asked for another lamp or light but were never given one -Not 5*

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2005

A really great hotel. Staff are outstanding and service is very friendly. I have this view despite being told on arrival that the hotel was full and we'd have to stay a night at a 4* hotel a few minutes away. Clearly we were unhappy and asked to see the manager. He dealt with the situation perfectly apologising and committing to making amends. On returning to the hotel the following morning we were upgrdaed from our sea view room to a suite with a huge terrace. Entering the room we were further delighted to see a basket of fruit and a bottle of champagne. We were B&B so cannot comment on the quality of dinner but breakfast has good quality food and plenty of choice. The hotel also offers free good quality nursery care which allows parents some well deserved R&R. The space around the pools and loungers seemed very generous. My only negative observations would be for young children, older than toddlers there's no real activities, play area or provision. Also the plastic guttering around the main pool is in need of repair - it collapsed when someone stood on it. They were not injured. I travel frequently on buisness and would say this hotel offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank andy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2005

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at the Gran Tacande. After booking I read some of the earlier reviews and was a little concerned.

However, I have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel whilst not being as plush as some of the other 5* hotels I have stayed in was very nice; the standards of efficiency, cleanliness, helpfullness etc from the hotel staff was as good if not better than can be expected of the Spanish. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but found the choice of fresh fruit/yoghurts/juices/fresh rolls etc more than enough however plenty of people did take full advantage of the cava, cavier and smoked salmon etc etc available. There are plenty of sun loungers and parasols some in full sun some in the shade and we both enjoyed taking part in the aqua aerobics.

On the down side the noise of the cleaners trolleys as mentioned in a previous posting was quite annoying, I was woken several times but my husband always slept through it. The pool was cold at first and I see what was meant buy the ring around the edge but I don't think that it was too bad.

We ate out every night sometimes at the Mirador or the Hacienda which are just along the promenade and are both nice. But we mostly went to other restaurants in PDLA which had been recommended either by friends or the hotel.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and have said that we will return the hotel/this area of Tenerife again.

I

Helpful?
3 Thank Abnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing