We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Buntingford
110
Reviewed 10 March 2006

An excellent hotel. The food, service and overall impression were top notch. I suppose the only issue would be that you would not describe this hotel as homely (the main restaurant is huge).

Caviar for breakfast every day - what more can i say!

Stayed: February 2006
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
There are newer reviews for Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2006

Recently stayed late January 2006. This hotel deserves the 5 Stars. We got a sea view room although none of the balcony's get sunshine which is a shame. Room was spotless and fully equipped and very large, cleaned daily and staff even returned in the evening to turn down the bed! Staff very friendly and when they found out it was my birthday they left a complimentary bottle of bubbly!
Breakfast was 'all encompassing'- ranging from Cava to caviar, pancakes to freshly cooked ommelettes. Tennis was available at 10 euros. Plenty of sun loungers. Adeje is definitely the better part to stay being attractive with no brash shops or noisy pubs.Some very enjoyable meals out in local eateries - Torre del Mirador has really good entertainment and lovely atmosphere. We would go back to this hotel.Taxi to airport was 22 euros and very efficient.Weather was sunny nearly every day and pleasantly warm.

7  Thank trottersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
uk
113
Reviewed 26 January 2006

I feel the title of my review is appropriate,as from the minuite i arrived i must have asked myself this quetion a million times. Having stayed in other 5 star hotels i fail to understand how this hotel gained its 5 stars.
Although my husband and i had a good holiday over the christmas period this was despite the hotel, and not because of it. The staff were rude and unhelpful at best, at one point when i complained about muisak being piped loudly outside our room at 7am i was greeted with a giggle from the receptionist, and asked what do you want me to do about it,even though i was in reception in pyjamas at the time having called twice to complain and then henceforth been ignored.
The resturants are fair but again no where near what you would find in similar 5 star establisments.The only saving grace being that there are good resturants close by, i personally thought this should encourage the hotel to be better not see it as an excuse to rest on its outdated laurels by advising you eat out.
I basically feel the hotel feels purley from the location it should warrent 5 stars, though given its nearby compettitors the hotel should realise it seriously lacks what is required for a truly 5 star experience.The hotel is very outdated, the levels of cleanliness in the rooms is appauling (on a good day) and i wont even mention the sheets (ours were dirty and contained lots of holes) ok i mentioned them, you can really tell this is a chain hotel badly managed and poorly maintained.
My advice ,save your money, go next door and experience the real 5 star experience. We did and believe me THAT really is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2006

We have just returned from a glorious week at the Hotel Gran Tacande.
Evertyhing was a joy - the room was fantastic, the bed comfortable, the food lovely. We went with our 2 year old daughter and she had a ball too - the miniclub was terrific, and we could have left her there under excellent supervision if we wished at no extra charge. They provide a 24hr free-of-charge service for babies/toddlers so you could get warm milk etc within 5 mins if you asked for it no matter when.
The hotel exuded luxury and understated elegance and was incredibly relaxing - both my husband and i commented on the amazing ambience of the hotel..when you stepped into it you just felt good - they just have it right, whatever that something is...
You get a free entry into the spa (one) thereafter you need to pay - but once or twice is all you would use it anyway.
The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful.
The hotel has its own mini-cinema and shows a different movie every day in Spanish and English for the kids and a different one for the adults.
I could go on....point is I would recommend this hotel very highly and can't wait to go back.

8  Thank trixie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2006

We did not stay at the hotel but decided to visit the spa as we enjoy the talgo treatments that they use. It was very disappointing as I feel that we were conned by the receptionist and the cleanliness was very poor. We had booked in for a facial and when we arrived at the spa reception we were told that they felt we needed two facials each but they could discount the second one! I have visited many spas over the world and had never heard of this but the receptionist and the therapist has been chatting in spanish with each other about the complexions and we were beginning to feel a bit uncomfortable as we could not understand what they were saying. They insisted that we needed a hydrating and a cleansing and they could not combine the two. By then we just wanted to move away and stupidly paid. The pools inside are nice but the changing rooms were filthy with dirty towels lying around and hair and mud all over the floor. They did not provide any footwear or robes and you were therefore walking barefoot in all the dirt. I had another therapist and she could not understand why I had been booked in for two facials. She left me waiting on the bed for twenty minutes whist she checked and then came back and pretended she now understood but it was obvious she was pretending. The facial treatment was very nice but knowing we were ripped off was unpleasant and we would not recommend this spa to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank escapefromrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St Albans
17
Reviewed 23 January 2006

we stayed Dec 2005 & jan 2006 christmas & new year. We arrived during a heavy storm and were vere disapointed to find the reception area leaking from the roof with buckets and bits of carpet soaking up the rain. we did not expected from a 5* hotel. our room also had water leak from the room above. the food generally was good - no special dinner for christmas day! a gala night for new years eve which started wonderfully but unfortunelty all the food was stone cold and not proplery cooked you could not complain as the staff were trying so very hard and rushed off their feet - not enough staff .The hotel was very dark and even the rooms were dark - we asked for another lamp or light but were never given one -Not 5*

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2005

A really great hotel. Staff are outstanding and service is very friendly. I have this view despite being told on arrival that the hotel was full and we'd have to stay a night at a 4* hotel a few minutes away. Clearly we were unhappy and asked to see the manager. He dealt with the situation perfectly apologising and committing to making amends. On returning to the hotel the following morning we were upgrdaed from our sea view room to a suite with a huge terrace. Entering the room we were further delighted to see a basket of fruit and a bottle of champagne. We were B&B so cannot comment on the quality of dinner but breakfast has good quality food and plenty of choice. The hotel also offers free good quality nursery care which allows parents some well deserved R&R. The space around the pools and loungers seemed very generous. My only negative observations would be for young children, older than toddlers there's no real activities, play area or provision. Also the plastic guttering around the main pool is in need of repair - it collapsed when someone stood on it. They were not injured. I travel frequently on buisness and would say this hotel offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.7 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,707 reviews
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 59 in Costa Adeje
5,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £154 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing