We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accommodation”
Review of Los Geranios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa Adeje
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Geranios
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Was there in May this year for a second visit, just love position of the complex, central, everything close at hand and quiet. The problem of sunbeds round the pool is true, but book a double balcony and you don't have to go down to pool apart from using the excellent bar for snacks and drinks. Already booked up for June 2015 along with our friends.

Room Tip: Book double balcony, sunbeds and table/chairs supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Got back from Tenerife a few weeks back. We normally go all-inclusive, but this time we wanted to do our own thing, hence self catering was ideal. We booked Los Geranios through Alan Dow and similar to all of the other reviews on here, we found him very easy to deal with. Questions answered punctually, he sends you all the stuff you need, payment was easy, and in general he made the admin side of the holiday very hassle free, he even gave us a discount due to a 1 night room move as our full 2 weeks could not be accommodated in the same room.
So we stayed in S138 for 13 nights, although it seemed small it had all the requirements, from bottle opener to kitchen knives. Towels were provided as were other bits and pieces. there is a balcony overlooking the pool area and it has its own sun loungers, tiny safe though, also no air con, and its gets incredibly hot during the day. There is fan above the bed which is quite noisy, hence sleep was sometimes difficult. Noise from the street wasnt too bad, mainly cars and not the usual brits shouting and swearing that you might get in livelier places.
The second room we stayed in A507 for one night was a family apartment and was very big, again all requirements catered for, this apartment was above an Irish bar which went on till 3am that night, hence here we did get the shouting and swearing late into the evening.
WIFI is basically so slow its non existent.
Now we get to the pool area, the pool is quite important for me as I like to swim and I do prefer it to the beach(no sand etc), reading reviews before we went , I was quite apprehensive over the whole sunbed thing, but thought we would give it a go. I have to say the situation is quite bad. first of all the pool area is far too small for the number of apartments that it services. There must be about 200 apartments, so 400 people would just be crazy. When we were there it was probably about half full, so still abit manic but I guess not as bad as it could of been. Ok so the sunbed thing, we watched day after the day, the same people go to 'their' spot around 8.50am to wait for the sundbeds to be unchained, the sheer look of determination as they run back and forth from the sunbed stack to 'their' spot was quite funny, took alot of pictures of that. I have no idea what would of happened if someone else dared to take anothers 'waiting' space. Then the towels go down and they all disappear, just as quickly as they come they go. I joined this farce on the last day, as we couldn't go to the beach.
Ok, so even after you secure a space, the pool is still far too small, by the time the kids are in there playing games, there is not much space left to really move, never mind swim. This for me was the biggest let down.
So the bar at the pool is quite good, 1.5 euros a pint is just brilliant and everyone is friendly so no problems with anyone at the resort, they do have entertainment on 1 day, but other than that you do your own thing.
We found ourselves going to the beach everyday, its a 2 minute walk down the hill (steep coming back!) and it is quite nice, sand was like golden black, and fine to lie on, sea was pretty cold and murky so probably didnt swim as much as I would of liked.
The restaurants around the beach were great, I like that sort of chilled out feeling where you can go for lunch in your shorts, have a beer(1 euro in some places) etc watching the world go by.
Im not sure if there was a tattoo convention or something going on, but there was an awful lot of colourful and different sized ones everywhere you looked.
Costa Adeje in general was very nice, we used to go up to one of the bars along the cliff next to the blue cactus, where the sunset was just awesome. Sitting with a beer at 9pm watching a large orange ball setting on the horizon was great.
Further along they have some more restaurants and we went to one called La Brasseire where we had a very good Chateaubriand , this with a bottle of red is only about £50 - 60.
Walk the other way and you get to Playa de las Americas. Throughout my youth I had always heard of this place as being a really clubby place, it doesn't seem like that now, the 'strip' was only about a few hundred yards and encompassed just a few bars. Other than that there are just restaurants and 'normal' bars.
Some of these do have karoake and we did these some nights.
I think the most annoying thing about this holiday was the beach vendors, they are literally everywhere, the restaurants wont save you either, they will come in almost like a revolving door to sell you the same stuff. They were quite friendly though and never got aggressive, but how many times do you want me to say no, I have a watch and sunglasses im actually wearing them now thanks.
All in all I would go back to Tenerife simply because it is so cheap, and I would recommend these apartments if you don't mind the pool thing, but for me that would be the main reason why I wouldn't return to these apartments.

Room Tip: dont go above the Irish Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank JCLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowszer, Guest Relations Manager at Los Geranios, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks for your extensive review on your visit to LOS GERANIOS APTS . The sunbed scenario as you mention has been a problem due to guests and owners compiling to the fact that what they are doing is illegal. There is a new policy being introduced whereas if guest or owner takes a sunbed by placing towels etc thereon ; and not using it / them ;then any other sunbed worshipper coming along can remove said towels by firstly asking aloud if this is an owners bed then please say so ;,and then the new sun bed visitor can take the sunbed ; if no reply from pool area ,,,, I am glad you enjoyed the other facilities at LOS GERANIOS and hope your needs can be served in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in studio 85, which was very spacious, clean and tidy, booked with Alan Dow who is very professional, we had a couple of minor problems which Mr Dow sorted very quickly, the hotel is in a great location, everything is on the doorstep and the prices at the pool bar are very cheap, it must be the cheapest pool bar in tenerife, 1.50 euro for a pint of beer, 2 breakfasts for 5 euros, as long as they keep the prices low, people will keep coming back to the Los Geranious year after year. I must agree with some reviews about the sunbeds, we had some poor weather for the end of July, some idiots would put their towels out on sunbeds at 9am when it was cloudy, they would then disappear for the rest of the day as there was no sun, not using the sunbeds, a simple solution to this problem would be for the management to have gone around the pool area and taken the towels off sunbeds if they were not getting used. All in all The Los Geranious is a lovely place to stay and we will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzier926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just reading the reviews i was there in March this year & could not even get one of the chairs to sit on as people who already had sunbeds also hogged a couple of chairs as well in case they decided to sit up, one man had a bed in the sun & a chair in the shade with a towel to reserve it, i seen people putting their towels down before 9 to reserve their spot when it gets to that stage its pathetic,i think the management need to address this problem suggesting that people remove other peoples towels this could cause a lot of friction and certainly do not go on holiday to fight about sunbeds, on a positive note i love these apartments its just a pity a lot of selfish people have to spoil them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked this apartment through Alan Dow and I can honestly say that this guy is so professional at his job. He has a number apartments on this complex. We stayed in A108 from 4/7/14-18/7/14. The apartment it self was very nice and clean, we found the beds really comfy. Having a washing machine was great as we could have clean towels every day. The pool is really nice, we always got sunbeds but then we were down there at 9.00am. (pool does not open until 10.30 on Tuesdays and Fridays). the pool bar was good, they served nice breakfasts and evening meals. Drinks were reasonable too. I cannot praise Alan Dow enough because at the start of our holiday we met Steve his maintenance guy who informed us that room 83 was being refurbished so was not a late checkout room anymore. They day before our departure I text Alan Dow to ask if he had anywhere else we could use for showers and Nicki his admin lady dropped off keys to A702 for us to use, we were well happy. Well done Alan Dow keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank KimParkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've stayed here twice since my last review and like i said "we just can't get enough" of Los Geranios.

We've already booked 6 rooms for a family get away in September 2015 and we've also booked for 2016 too.

Each time we've booked through Alan Dow and he just makes it so simple that you have to keep booking through him every time.

Great place to stay. Rooms are spot on, as are the views. The pool bar is excellent and the food is second to none with prices to match (keep up the good work guys).

We can't wait to get back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool and sea view are the best in my opinion, but all rooms are clean, fully equipped and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Snicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Alan Dow's apartments were highly recommended to us.
We stayed in Los Geranious in May. Apartment 211 had a double balcony with sun beds and patio table & chairs with a parasol for both. Lovely sea and pool views. It had everything you needed for an enjoyable self catering holiday.
Both the booking arrangements and paperwork were effortless and well organised.
Supermarkets, shops & restaurants are only a short walk away.
Anna, Derrick & Vikki served up delicious meals and snacks. Highly recommend the Chicken Curry! We have booked again for this November!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Carol227125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#48 of 61 in Costa Adeje
1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#43 of 61 in Costa Adeje
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Torviscas
Pueblo Torviscas
#10 of 61 in Costa Adeje
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Geranios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Geranios

Address: Avenida Espana 5, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £29 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Geranios 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Los Geranios Costa Adeje, Tenerife
Los Geranios Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing