We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard working staff”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our first all inclusive & excellent value for money. Being a vege I am always doubtful where ever I go, but found plenty of choice here. Very clean hotel, large areas, plenty of sun beds even in half term school holiday. Pool could of been warmer though it does say heated, none of our party went in apart from our toes ! Beautiful weather so plenty of time spent around the pool. Pool snack bar, large restaurant but does get very busy & of course you don't get the posher feel of a restaurant with waiter service. We did a rough calculation of what all our food & drinks would of cost us on our 8 day break for a couple & two teenage kids & it would of cost us a fortune, so with this in mind the next time we go (& we do plan to go back) we will treat ourselves & go out to a quiet restaurant a couple of times just to break the monotonous feel & rush of the all inclusive. Staff are so helpful & jovial, speak excellent English. They work so hard for hours on end & deserve a pat on the back for keeping this hotel up to scratch. Fantastic location turn left for gift shops on the beach front & loads of bars & restaurants & right for a romantic walk in a beautiful setting. This hotel is on a slope away from the road. Extremely busy market on a Thursday next door, free bus to SIam water park, but be warned do not get ripped off by paying 36 euros for a 10minuet ride on the little white train which pulls up right in front of the hotel ! Ps shame there was a lack of indoor spa pool for warmth, there is a spa but at a extra cost of 6 euros each per day !

Room Tip: We had rooms 4 & 9 they looked onto the pool & had sun most of the day. The rooms opposite u...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couplewithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,892)
There are newer reviews for GF Fanabe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 3,893 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I choose this Hotel because of the good reviews i read, Well what a shock i got when we arrived there, I just CAN NOT see what's good about it? It's rundown and drab to say the least, our room was sad and depressing the sofa was grubby the bedding worn, but to be fair as clean as it could be, except the pillow! cracked floor tiles, A tv that was out the ark,The pool area is very tired and the sunbeds need a clean,You Can't eat or drink round the pool neither, The food at the pool bar was dreadful the toilet at the pool had no hand-wash, In Fact we found it all so uninviting we only used the area once, Then there's the roof sunbathing area, Although we did go up there twice it was as depressing as the pool! The Sunbeds need replacing and there's a big concrete block that separates the 2 area's up there and part of it is coming away so ugly,
Thank goodness we only stayed bed and breakfast, Yes there was plenty of food but it wasn't good quality food, What Hotel has no laundry service and offers an "Ironing board" that's 18 inches long on 4 inch legs with NO padding it's just a wire mesh with a piece of cotton on it, Odd! Not sure what we were meant to do with it!!!!
I will say that almost all the Staff were absolutely lovely and I'm sure do the best they can with what they have to work with, And it's in a good area 5 mins from the beach, My Main complaint about this Hotel is that it isn't in ANYWAY a 4 star hotel 2 maybe at a push, It's a very old tired worn Hotel, We WON'T be going back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel & we were that impressed we are going back in September & that is unusual for us as we like to try new places.The room was by far the most spacious we have ever stayed in serviced every day including clean towels the room was spotless. If you like sunbathing in peace then the roof top terrace is brilliant plenty of quality sun beds & a well stocked bar. The food was very good plenty of choice every day something for everyone. If you like the sun on your balcony I would recommend a room overlooking the pool,as for the pool there are again lots of sun beds but the design of the hotel means that they can be in the shade as the sun moves over. The staff were very pleasant & friendly,the only small bad point was the entertainment as it wasn't the best & the lay out of the hall isn't great. The hotel is in a very nice area & if you like Chinese food then you must give the slow boat a try & it's only a 5 min walk from hotel. I will sign off by saying I couldn't really find fault with this hotel but I'm sure some will as they would moan if they stayed in Buckingham palace.

Room Tip: Sunny rooms overlook the pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

6 of us have just come back from a fun week in Tenerife,after staying at the Fanabe Costa Sur. The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is that the pool area was depressing!!! Nothing wrong with the pool and you wouldn't have to fight for a sunbed because there were plenty - all in the shade of the hotel!!! However that aside you cannot fault the rest of the hotel and with us all being adults we spent our time up in the sun on the roof of the hotel drinking beer from the bar up there.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and the rooms couldn't be faulted unless you being being really picky!!! The food was much the same as all the other hotels I have stayed in and you could always find something to eat.
Would I go back - probably not because I am not a big fan of the Costa Adeje, but for the price paid Fanabe could not be faulted
Costa Adeje is much quieter then its neighbor down the road Playa de las Americas, but if you get past the grubbier bit of Americas, its very nice and vibrant and a preferred choice for me

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor in a sunny location
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maz172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from our 3rd holiday at this brilliant hotel. The staff are happy and friendly, the whole place is spotless, the food is good with lots of choices, meat, salad, dessert. Pool area can be shady on one side but plenty of beds and a café serving snacks most of the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyndy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

To begin, I should say that my wife and I both fell ill during the holiday so our views may be tainted!

Things began well with a nice friendly greeting at reception. Was told our room was not ready so was told to leave our luggage and go for lunch.

Room was a little worn, in need of some TLC but was comfortable and clean. TV was an old CRT set and didn't have the expected ITV and BBC1 channels, not usually an issue but as I spent most of the week in bed it would have been very welcome.

The pool area was clean and well looked after, plenty sunbeds all day (at least in early March), the rooftop area was full most days. (special thanks to the person who actually stole our parasoll whilst we were asleep actually underneath it!).

Food was the biggest letdown in this hotel, I am certainly not a fussy eater but most of what I tried was either cold and/or tasteless. It was quite repetitive too with most things cropping up every second day.

As it happened I fell ill on day 2, my wife soon afterwards and when we asked at reception for advice on gaining medical attention we were just told to go to hospital. No advice on where to go, where the nearest doctors was etc. In the end she had to go wondering around looking for a doctors surgery. The rest of the week was spent mostly in the room and going to the doctors for daily treatment, a pretty grim time all round.

I think even without being ill the poor quality of the food would have been enough to dissuade me from returning, the lack of help just made things worse. (I should add that Jet2 Holidays were equally hopeless with any assistance).

Room Tip: We were in 375, very quiet area facing the sea and sun most of the day.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a week at this Hotel. The Hotel is a credit to the staff who work and maintain it!
Everywhere is clean, tidy and well maintained.(although some areas could do with a lick of paint)
All staff friendly and helpful.
Food was ok,plenty of choice!
Beds lovely and comfortable.
Bar areas lovely and clean.
Entertainment excellent, really enjoyed the 3 Tenors and TopHat and heels!
Good location.

Room Tip: We had room 212, had the sun all afternoon and could see the sunset.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogeat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#18 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 59 in Costa Adeje
5,625 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £69 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing