We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really pleasant hotel to stay in”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we have stayed in a number of hotels in tenerife over the years mainly in the adeje area
this was our first stay at the fanabe hotel 18th march - 25th march 2014 and it was beyond our expectations
friendly helpful staff hotel was very clean large rooms in good condition
food variety was wonderful and all the food was of the highest standard as was the waiter service in the dining room and the bars
we will return to this hotel again soon as it represents great value for money and the staff are excellent
my wife was suprised with a bottle of free champagne on her birthday the hotel observed her date of birth from her passport now thats class and well done fanabe staff from margaret gardner

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived on the 21st march and had booked a suite, i had requested one with seaview presuming all had balconies with sunbeds this was not the case as we found out.If anyone books one ask for a corner suite with large balcony apart from that the Hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and very helpful, cant comment much on food as we were B+B but there was plenty of choice at breakfast time.The rooftop terrace was good for sunbathing and the plunge pools were freezing!!! But the weather was hot and sunny and helped to cool us down.The only moan about the rooftop was kids were coming up from the large pool so staff must enforce the adult only rule and not allow them up there. The entertainment in the bar area was very dubious we nicknamed them Harry Hill and Rock steady Eddie amazing how they both sing songs but dont know half the words so chuck a bit of spanish in to fill in the gaps hilarious!!.The Hotel is in a very quiet area which suits their elderly clientele but we found it boring and Costa Adeje seems to shut down around 10 at night with not much happening after that. We went to Playa De Las Americas a couple of nights as there is more varied entertainment and quality restaurants and shopping there,would we return to this hotel
Yes if it was in a more lively area and not boring Costa Adeje.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a couple from 18th - 27th march. From the time of checking in to the time we checked out all staff were very polite and very helpful. Yes the pool did have shady parts for some of the afternoon but by the time we left the coverage was better. We had a suite and it was spacious with an excellent view of the sea and onto Americas. The only issue we had was the air con wasn't working great but was not sure if it was still on winter settings, also we had a whirlpool bath but this had a shower head attached but nowhere to hang for when you wash your hair but other than those minor factors it was a good and spacious room.
The food was plentiful and always hot, possibly people say their food was not warm enough due to the fact you are walking around to add other bits to your plate and within this time of course your food is going to cool. But it is buffet so what else would you expect they do have warm plates available.
In the evenings we sat at the bar and through out service was good and they were prompt to refill your glasses, we sat watching the guys get drinks together and I can safely say they are not watered down or half measures if anything the measures are huge. We only took more notice of these due to the other reviews on here, if you are AI then yes you do get a cheaper brand than those paying but the measures are still the same.
The only let down for AI is the lunch buffet by the pool bar, yes you have burgers and hotdogs with rolls but that's about it, we didn't go with our son who likes to be by the pool all day so thankfully we didn't have to use this, as going into the resturant every day for lunch can be abit binding especially those with children.
During our stay there was hardly no children probably due to the time of year, so if you plan to go with children I would probably go later to allow the maturer guest to holiday.
Would we stay here again definitely but maybe not this time of the year.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kellyp3rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I couldn't fault this hotel! It is spotlessly clean and the staff are delightful. I asked for our 2 rooms to be close together, if possible, and also asked if we could have a pool view......despite the hotel being very busy, both my requests were met. The rooms are large and well appointed, bed linen clean, beds comfortable and the cleaning staff do an excellent job of cleaning the rooms and balconies thoroughly every day.
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh with lots of choice. I avoid dairy products, and although there were plenty of other options for me, I asked if they had soya yogurt - they didn't have it in, but it was there for me from the next morning until the day I left. I don't think I have ever met such friendly, happy and helpful staff before - they really made us feel welcome and were there to help with any problems we had.
Location is ideal - quiet but not far from shopping and beach areas. The bus stop being at the side of the hotel is an added bonus, although we hired a car from the car hire company who have a desk in the hotel lobby - price was fine and the rental office is just over the road. We always found somewhere close by to park the car overnight - so I wouldn't say that parking is a problem.
There was no shortage of sunbeds and the fact that one side of the main pool doesn't get a lot of sun, was quite good - as it offers a cooler area when it gets too hot!
Internet provision was good and the reception staff all speak good English and are happy to help with any issues.
Well done, Fanabe Costa Sur!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rodrigo7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

we stayed as a couple at this lovely hotel & enjoyed every minute of it. all the staff were pleasant &very helpful. the sun roof is very quite & relaxing.rooms clean & comfortable home from home ; drinks in hotel are cheap for hotel prices food was plentiful with lots of choice. will definitely go back. thanks to all for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: rooms on the left get sun nearly all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed her has a single parent with 2 children & we had a fantastic time. I originally requested a pool view but we didn't manage to get 1. At first I was disappointed but it actually worked out perfect, we were on the ground floor over looking the football pitch at the back of the hotel. The food was of a high standard & we always managed to enjoy our meals. A few times we swapped our evening meals & had lunch instead has the kids were having so much fun in the pool. We never had a problem getting a sunbed but we're always up and pool side for 9 o'clock. In an evening we preferred to sit at the front of the hotel listening to the singer/musician. It was so chilled. My eldest who was 10 met loads of friends his age group to have fun with. I would go back again & would recommend this hotel for Families.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Willkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Currently at the fanabe costa sur hotel and I have to say that this hotel is definitely not 4star. On arrival we were checked in quickly all seemed ok. Staff attentive in good location 5minutes from the beach. However our room was just so dated and seemed grubby. Bedding and linen left a lot to be desired. Hotel building itself is a concrete block , built I imagine in the60's. The room was very tired and needs updating. We were in a room on the first floor overlooking the main service area which we didn't realise until 3.00am that morning when we were awoken by the refuse collectors and various other deliveries an awful lot of noise. The next morning we looked out of our balcony to be met by a stench of rotting food, food debris all on the floor.this was where the bins and cages for laundry were.it was the main service entrance for all deliveries and collections with a constant stream of people vans coming and going day and night. We went to reception next morning to change our room and after a lot of hassle we were given a quieter room, two days later. So what ever you do don't accept a room on that side of the hotel unless you are a very heavy sleeper. Avoid roomst 157 - 195 and all those above on floors 2,3 and4. rooms for peace are facing the pool. The restaurant was ok. Food adequate.Bar service very quick and efficient and good value for money. Rooms cleaned daily but maids fighting a losing battle. Entertainment poor. Pool good size but sun beds and cushions dirty. Everywhere just needs a good deep clean. Costa adeje itself is nice and plenty to do but just don't stay here unless you want to pay4 star prices for a 3star hotel.would not return probably the worst 4 star we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Pool facing or even facing the road at the back of the hotel as not a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,983 reviews
1 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £66 - £1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, MyHotelShop, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing