We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a short, child-free break in December.

The hotel was clean, friendly and while we were there, quiet.

The walk to the beach was fine, although a little longer than expected, but there were very restaurants and bars nearby. We only stayed B&B so can't comment too much on the food, but what we had was good.

The only gripe was an hour-long wait to check in. After a stupidly long transfer from the airport we had to stand for ages while waiting to check in due to an apparent shortage of staff at reception.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulysalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    1,437
    528
    150
    64
See reviews for
1,345
1,563
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is lovely rooms are nice and the hotel is kept very clean maids change the towels and clean the room everyday I only have one quibble with the maids and that's that a couple of make items went missing from my makeup bag that I had used the previous Evening. animation team are absolutely fantastic they are so helpful and friendly and great with the kids could always get a sunbed round the pool which is another plus we went bed and breakfast only had breakfast on our last day but it was ok do not eat at the pool bar over priced and rubbish food I ordered a Spanish omelette which apparently is an omelette filled with chips disgusting! Also bar staff are very rude and don't speak great English so do have troubling understanding what your trying to order. on our last day we emptied out safe to find a ring and some money was missing the manager of the hotel is so rude and unhelpful basically accused us of lying and refused to help so we had to go to the police was a horrible end to a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ksg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a relaxing 5 days here first time in Tenerife and loved it the beds were very comfy and the roof top terrace was great for sunbathing we went half board and food was decent though we only ate there a couple of nights didnt watch the entertainment so cant comment on that would defo return to the hotel good value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataliexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have just returned from a 10night stay in Fanabe Costa Sur, we booked half board and I can safely say I will never return to this hotel, only reason was the food was awful, never warm, undercooked meats and fruit never fresh. We ate in the restaurant for the first 3 days then I couldn't bare it any longer, we tried the pool bar for a burger one afternoon which was expensive and again undercooked. The rooms are basic and you get maid service everyday which I thought was good, the staff work really hard. We stayed in room 173 which is right above the kitchen so you are woken very early with the staff clattering about getting ready for breakfast and the noise continues very late at night. The location isn't great, we had about a 25 minute walk to the main strip of pubs and restaurants which is a nice walk. The shops surrounding this hotel are expensive because of the area so if you walk into Torviscas everything is cheaper. I loved Tenerife as a place but I will never return to Fanabe Costa Sur.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hi
We, my wife and 2 kids (12 & 15 ) had a great hoilidy in this hotel (Easter 2014), I had chosen it from recommendations and reading trip advisor - we agree its a good 4 star hotel great for families and would not hesitate re-visiting it.
We e-mailed the hotel 3 weeks before going and reserved our room with a pool view , second floor and requested 4 seats for the balcony-on arrival our wishes had been met!
Its ideally located , opposite shops and bars where i could watch live football (Hull city v Sheff Utd and Hull V Arsenal ). It is about 10 mins to walk to the fantastic promanade and beach.
Th eroom was very large with the biggest double bed and two made up settee beds for the kids although not a kitchen we had a fridge -great for drinks, choclate and a some food -we stayed half board and the food was excellent. Breakfast just about most things you would like _ i enjoyed the omelletes -made to your reqt. thekids loved the pancakes! -although you should not do it we took out some bread rolls , cheeses, ham ets for our pack up lunches! the staff didnt seem to mind and many did it.
Evening meals were varied and well cooked and presented -lots of chioces. House wine at £7 Euros was ok -pay £9- £12 was excellent.
This hotel manages its pool /beds really well - no one can grab a bed before 0915 an dif towels left with no one in attendance ar eremoved and neatly piled up -leaving the beds for other sto use -so simple I cannot understand why other hotels do not do thesame!

The hotel staff were mainlyhelpful charming just a couple who were sometimes surly -the hotel is quire old particulary viewed from the outside but they obviously have focussed on improving the inside and its very clean with daily maid service - Great value for the money.
-by the way we booked through Jet.Com holidays and they are great -no qs at Newcastle, no thrills airline but nmnore than satisfactory very friendly staff and give a basic support service if needed but not over bearing -2 vists /week to thehotel but provide a 24 hour center for energencies which fortunately we did noyt need to use. Certainly book through them again.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool-e-mail them before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank graham k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here from 9th to 16th May 2014 as an extended family of 5, ages ranging from 22 -85. After a hair raising flight (an aborted landing just as we reached the runway at Tenerife) we arrived late at the hotel, but the friendly staff were keen that we went straight down to the restaurant for our evening meal before it closed. We were then allocated our rooms. Rooms 284 and 286 were on 2nd floor overlooking the pool. we were surprised how spacious they were. The double and twin beds were enormous, but still gave plenty of room for a sofa (which doubled as an extra bed) and another sofa. The air conditioning was very welcome as the weather was warm and sunny most of the time.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and the finishing touches of swans and elephants were lovely. The tired curtains and bedcovers were changed a few days after we arrived with lovely fresh ones including cushions fro the bed.The only complaint we had with the room was that the only English Channel we had was Sky TV News.

The bathroom was equally as spacious, with Jack and Jill basins. Towels were changed every day. On one occasion in th 3 bedded room, only 2 bath and hand towels were left. after a phone call to reception, more towels arrived ithin 10 minutes. Good service! The toilet roll holder needs to be moved as you needed to be a contortionist to use it. Chase the toilet roll was a daily past time!

The balcony was spacious and gave lovely views of the pool and the mountains (the colours changed with the sunlight) so were different colours each time. We had sun in the morning to about 1pm which suited us fine. If you want sun for most of the afternoon and evening ask for a room overlooking the pool facing the restaurant.

We stayed fully inclusive and the food was mainly very good. The bread rolls were delicious. we were spoiled for choice. Freshly cooked pancakes and omellettes, full cooked breakfast, continental, cereals ... the choice was vast at breakfast. At lunch there was freshly cooked fish, meats, salads and desserts. For dinner the choice was endless. Two choices of fish, meats (some may not have been the choice of the British palette but were worth a try.) The desserts were plentiful with cheeses, fruit, ice cream, gateaux as well as traditional spanish puddings. The staff were friendly. we were usually welcomed by LLaima, then showed to our table. The tables were cleared very quickly by the very friendly waiters inclusing Jose, Guilliamo, Pedro and lots more.

Picnic lunches if you go out for the day were giant size.... rolls, pate, cheese spread, cheese & salami sandwiches, beef tomato, pear, banana, tangerine, yohurt, water and fuit juice.

Again all areas around the hotel were spotlessly clean. There was an airy, cool reception lobby with lots of tables for a quiet drink or read. Every day there was a stall selling jewellry, handbags or scarves. There is a games and children's soft play area which looked very safe on the lower floor. There are lots of tables outside the front of the hotel for a coffee in the morning or a drink while listening to a singer or watch the Loro (Parrot) Show in the evening.

The pool was fantastic nad the water temperature lovely. The pool was divided in a swimmers only section and the shallower end given up to non swimmers, and ball games which was a really good idea. There was also a small children's pool attached which looked really safe as it was so close to parents watching. My daughter (22) loved it to wear her mermaids tail she had made - the kids loved the mermaid as well! The snack bar sold a range of food and drinks, but on AI we could help ourselves to ice cream rolls, cakes and (from 1pm-4pm) hotdogs and burgers. A hotel photographer spends time around the pool area taking photos for people to purchase.

There were loads of sunbeds and umbrellas. Although the hotel appeared full, there were sunbeds spare.Towels could be hired for the duration of the holiday for a returnable deposit of 10 Euros. Although the area around the pool was quiet, for those who preffered an even quiter holiday could go onto the roof terrace. There were amazing views of the sea and mountains from here. There were also 2 plunge pools here and a nudist area (which was well screened off.)

The Fanabe in house Entertainment Team were amazing. They organised daily activities, children's club and evening entertainment. Daytime activities includes, Aqua Exercise, Underwater bikes, Sangria making, free bingo, darts, shove halfpenny, crazy golf, pool... and lots more. Thank you Greta, Sam and Kevin for making our holiday extra special. Sam you make a great nun,Tinkerbell and Bingo caller Greta makes great Sangria and Kevin ... well Kevin has a great hairstyle ... and smile!! The rest of the team worked so hard as well. Well done everyone ... Bravo!!!!

There was evening entertaiment in the disco. From 8.45pm there was a children's disco and from 9.30 adult entertaiment from singers, comedy and dancers. Although not all brilliant, they were enjoyable.

Facilities at the hotel include a gym, sauna, spa masseuse and hairdressers.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location. approxiamately 5 mins downhill to the beach and promenade. The beach has very dark, gritty sand but is worth a visit. There are supermakets and shops acrooss the road and every Saturday and Thursday, the Adeje Market is held across the road. Lots of stall and ideal to get any presents. The bus station for buses to Playa de Las Americas and Los Christianos are at the side of the hotel and run frequently.

If you do visit Tenerife, do not miss the Loro Parque in the north of the island. We booked in the lobby at 47 Euros each, which included coach and enrtance fees. The dophin, wale, seal and Parrot shows were amazing. Don't miss the peguins they are so cool in there Antartic hideaway ... and you see them doing things they would do naturally in the wild!

Thank you to the staff and entertainers at the Fanabe Costa Sur for making our week such a memorable one. Hope to see you again. Hasta luago!


(This hotel provides fantasticvalue for money. It is great for families and couples)

Room Tip: Higher floors above the restaurant overlooking the pool have early sun and wonderful moutain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carolyn6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We {my husband and myself ) have just returned from a week's holiday staying in the Fanabe' hotel , which we couldn't fault at all . Our room was a good size with fridge which was really handy . The bathroom was fine and had his and hers wash basins plus there was plenty of room . We were A.I . and found the food very good apart from the poolside snack bar which was very poor for A.I. guests which was'nt what we've found in other A.I. hotels so we had to go into the restaurant for lunch . Entertainment for adults was quite good and we enjoyed it . Hotel is in a very hilly area which was fine when you walked out but quite a trek uphill on the way back . All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely return .

Room Tip: We had room 150 which was in corner and overlooked pool but got no sun at all .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank snowdrop1TyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#17 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Property: Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Address: Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel FANABE Costa Sur is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing