We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better on the inside!”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel back in 2011.
As I've stayed in many hotels in tenerife, we found a good deal for this hotel and decided to give it a try, even though it was about 10 mins walk away from the area we like to stay.
From the outside it doesn't look much, but inside it's very smart and well cleaned and maintained! I was very surprised.
As soon as we arrived we went straight to our room, it was very spacious and clean! Our room was on the ground floor right in front of the kids pool.
I thought it would be a noise problem early in the morning but it wasn't, we hardly heard any noise from it (they must be good doors!)
The beds were really comfy and the bathroom was very smart! Only downside was the pool area, around mid-day one side of the pool area was in the shade for the rest of the day! So you had to fight for beds on one side or it was shade!
There is a roof top pool and sunbathe area very good for adults and it's a really good sun trap!
Location of the hotel is very good too!
We went half board so had the choice of break fast and lunch or break fast and dinner! Food not bad, something for everyone but not much choice.
You have to pay for your own drinks, they are very pricey! So we didn't buy many from the hotel, about €8 for 1 cocktail!
Overall I would stay here again at a good price!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank LB590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,994 - 2,000 of 4,043 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We first visited this hotel 2 years ago and absolutely loved it. The kids facilities were fab (kids clubs, entertainment, food etc) and the food for adults was amazing. We decided to go back this year (4 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 18 months).
We went on the 25th May 2014 for our second time, for 11 nights. Firstly I emailed the hotel before we visited to explain it would be our second visit there and we would love two rooms next to each other with the sun on the balcony in the afternoon/evening. When we arrived (late at night) we discovered our rooms were at the back of the hotel, overlooking the road, with a great big tree in front of our view. We looked at the positives and decided it wouldn't spoil our holiday (in retrospect we should have asked to be moved then but didn't want to make a fuss).
The breakfast is probably the best meal the hotel offers, with lots of variety (although it was all spanish bacon, sausage, beans etc).
The hotel has the most bizzare policy that you can't even go onto the sunbed area until 9.30am. As we have very young children we were up early for breakfast and we were ready to go sit in the sun by 9.00am at the latest every morning. As we had a rubbish balcony in the room we found ourselves sitting in the hotel foyer waiting until we could go to the sunbed area (how silly!). The hotel has a no reserving sunbeds policy which I totally agree with and if people lay towels on their sunbeds and left them before 10am the security guard would come round and take them off. This meant there was never a rush for sunbeds but why you couldn't actually sit on the sunbeds in the sun doesn't make sense?? I asked reception who said it was to do with cleaning but that was rubbish - all the cleaning had been finished by 8.45. There was a rope cordoning off the pool until 10am and we understood this. We just wanted to sit in the sun on our holiday! This annoyed us everyday.
We went full board. For the AI guests at lunchtime there was food put on in a little room by the pool - hot dogs, burgers, cakes etc. However for everyone else you had to go into the main restaurant and there was no option of any food like this. My kids rarely ate anything at lunch (actually anything all week!) as the food in the restaurant was very spanish and compicated (not at all kid friendly). I even lived off chips everyday. On an evening there was a kids buffet put on (food looked horrible) and my kids refused to eat this either. There was odd looking hamburgers, tuna pizza, chips and some fish dish every night. The pizza station rarely did Margharita pizza and all the lasagne and spaghetti was always vegetarian.The meat was often undercooked with the pork and chicken being pink. This was all vastly different to when we came to the hotel last time - we raved to everyone about the food when we got home. We were so disappointed.
The kids club entertainers were great and worked hard but at the mini disco there was only one or two songs my little girl knew (we go on lots of holidays and know lots of the usual foreign holiday mini club songs - rarely were these played!). The mini disco started at 8.45 and the main show started between 9.30pm and 9.45pm. Too late for our kids.
We have stayed at the sister hotel to this - the Costa Adeje Gran a few times and we think it is so much better. For example, the food is a million times better and in the restaurant they have a kids area where they can go play when they are bored at meal times! Their evening shows for kids are better too - exotic animals, parrot shows - none of this at the Fanabe Costa Sur.
Eventually, after watching groups of boys playing football really noisily on the courts outside our balcony until 10pm two nights in a row (and stopping our little one from going to sleep) we asked to move rooms. We moved to pool view rooms (208 and 212). These were soooo much better. The sun was on the balcony from mid afternoon until it set. What a difference this made. We wished we'd moved sooner.
In the rooms we had a Sky news English channel and BBC news but that was all. There was Disney channel in Spanish and some German channels?
The hotel is looking tired and needs a refurb.
Overall, we had a fab holiday but we would not return to this hotel (after being so excited about returning there!!). We will go to the Costa Adeje Gran instead. Such a shame as this was fantastc in the past and we have even recommended others to go there.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vmarshalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Entertainment team excellent fantastic with the kids. I love the fact you don't have to race to get a sunbed in the morning the hotel operate a strict no reservation on them pool opens at 10 for this alone I would return! You can also hire pool towels for a deposit of10 euros per towel and change them for fresh ones as many times a day as you like the money is refundable. The Breakfast you can get freshly cooked pancakes or omelettes as well as the standard breakfast things you would expect unfortunately no English bacon or sausage! (Personal preference though) varied choice of an evening. Maid service fantastic hotel & room spotless. Would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bex1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. We liked this hotel and cannot understand some of the complaints. By reading some it feels like we stayed in a different hotel to some of the people that have left reviews here. The hotel does feel like a 4 star in the entrance and public areas, spa etc. The rooms are more like a 3 star (I agree) but very clean and the beds were new and really comfortable. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Felt like a memory foam bed.
The staff were very friendly on Reception, restaurant (especially breakfast) and the cleaners were always pleasant. Beds were made daily and fresh towels and rubish taken away daily. The cleaners were always working in some area or another and the hotel always smelled freshly cleaned.
We stayed in rooms 330 and 3330 (next to each other) There was no passing traffic (people passing your room) as we were at the end of the hall and this was very quiet. No one waking you up on their way past for early breakfast or returning late at night after a night out. I will say however that the buses park in the car park opposite for quite some time with engines running from about 7am to midnight but I was so tired that I got used to this and they didn't wake us up after the first 2 nights and we were out most of the day. There is also a market on Thursdays and Saturdays in the same car park and this is a great atmosphere from the balcony. The view from the balcony had side sea views to the left and mountain views to the right. Nice to have both.
We had Bed and Breakfast. Plenty of choices and nice food. We ate in the restaurant once. Pay 18 euros for a buffet style meal which had good vegetarian options. Men do need to wear long trousers. We ate off site for the rest of the evenings.
We prefered to sit and swim on the roof than the large pool below due to 'family noise' We are the type of people that like peace and quiet and the roof top was perfect for this. There is a nudist area but this is blocked off and private but if you stay on the left side of the roof you will not even notice that it's there.
There is a lady in reception that you can purchase trips and tours but I would suggest going down to the beach front to purchase these as you can find better deals.
We would return to this hotel if we go back to Tenerife in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 330 and 3330 (next to each other) There was no passing traffic (people passing yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talkinginwhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a 14 day holiday at this hotel. For 7 days our grandchildren joined us.
This is a Spanish 4 star hotel (3 star in UK) and it does it well.
Food - plenty of choice for all meals. They have themed evening meals. There is even a special section for vegetarians.
Entertainment - music in the outside bar every night. The Main entertainment was varied and covered most genres. We had our grandchildren for a week and they loved the Mini Club and also the mini Disco - Kevin and his team did a superb job.
The staff were great overall they were pleasant, helpful and friendly. reception staff were very helpful - especually setting up the wifi for lots of people
The rooms are excellent - going through a subtle refurbishment but not that you would notice. Covers and chairs were replaced during our stay. We had a top floor sea view room which was brilliant. We had requested this and was pleasantly surprised, as in other hotels they seem to put in you exactly what you dont want!
When you read some of the reviews you do question what people expect and were they in the same hotel. For example one person wrote no cereals for breakfast - there is a special section which had at least 6 different cereals on it. One person wrote its on a steep hill - a hill yes but not steep (and there is an alternative gentler slope access if neeeded) well this is a volcanic island and if you go to the Fanabe area all the hotels are on a hill. Food terrible - well we did not have a bad meal in 14 nights!
One moan is that people on half board were using the all inclusive guests poolside snack bar. Whilst you cannot blame them it is a bit off when you have paid more for all inclusive.
This is a family hotel and I would recommend it - this from a hotel inspector for the past 25 years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rodder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited as a family for the recent half term week - End of May (24 May - 31 May). My wife / 12 year daughter and parents in law (for my wife's 40th and a week of sun and relaxation). It was fab! Disregard any poor comments / reviews about the staff , food, hotel. We are well travelled and I can say that this hotel is a good, solid 4 star hotel - the rooms are spacious, public areas comfortable and clean, the food good and the staff lovely. yes - the rooms could do with a freshen up - but this is a minor point - the bath rooms are modern and clean and the only changes required are to update the furniture / colour scheme! The restaurant is busy but very well managed - breakfast is good - cereals, continental, cooked, sweet treats, lunch is a good choice and evening meal was always different - lunch / evening is a waiter drinks service with a wide AI offer. The terrace bar has live music each evening and again is waiter service. The staff work hard, are effective and deliver great, friendly service. I am at a real loss to understand when I read the reviews which say they are unfriendly - each staff member we came into contact with was nothing but warm and generous (could it be that some travellers want / demand the world and expect to be able to speak to staff in rude and aggressive manners and wonder why the service then is not as good?) The pool area is spotless and the towel service is good. The main pool and roof top pools have plenty of comfortable sun loungers and an animation team which are present but not at all intrusive. The resort is spotless with a good range of nice bars / restaurants and shops. 2 'must do' trips are 1/2 day to Tiede and Siam Park. Tiede trip is brilliant and the views breathtaking. Siam Park is great - brilliant fun in lovely, tropical gardens with a beach and amazing lagoon pool. we had a fantastic time - we will be back!

Room Tip: 4th floor - pool / sea view - lovely - sun all day and into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lablife46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my family have just returned from a 10 night holiday and we were very pleased. As we arrived we were greeted by reception and shown to our rooms. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and were up to a great standard. The maids come everyday to change the bedding which is good for women if they like to do their make up on the bed. Area is absoloutely great. Loads of shops just across the road. If you turn left from the hotel there is a market on Thursdays and Saturday. Beware though, it closes around 2:00pm.There is trips avaiable to book in the hotel such as aqualand and siam water park. I, a 10 year old girl, went to the water park on the siam water park bus but beware, if you sit on the top you will need to duck as we nearly got hit in the face by the trees. It is about 2 minutes away to the bus stop for the siam water park from the hotel. Entertainment is rubbish. At night there is a man singing outside however if you want to talk to your family it is hard to listen to people because it is too loud. The waiters are quite rude(especially Silvia);if you wave at them they look straight at you but just ignore you. There are a large selection of drinks that are free for A.I however there are quite a few drinks that aren't. Half board and bed and breakfast people better watch out; it is VERY dear! Overall it was great hotel and would probably go back again.

Room Tip: If you book through on the beach, like us, email them to reserve a sea view room otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,933 reviews
1 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £64 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing