We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Holidayed with my husband and 6 yr old and 1 yr old in August for a week. The 6 yr old spent most of the time in the pool. There was a new small water slide (have been once before 2 years ago) and they roped off the shallower bit so it could stay in the shallow end and be safe.

The food is plentiful and of good quality. My 6 yr old loved choosing his own food.

We liked the fact the entertainment was provided by the hotel team, it was there if you wanted to get involved or not if that is the case. There was a kids disco each night followed by a family friendly show. Or you can sit outside and listen to music being played.

We hardly left the hotel as the all inclusive is such a good deal.

The staff are all really friendly and helpful too.

We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sausage76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,893)
There are newer reviews for GF Fanabe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is my second time at the fańabe and love the hotel and can't understand why there are so many bad reviews, the food is good but a little repetitive but you can always eat out as there are plenty of restaurants on the way down to the beach, the pool is fantastic for the kids and my four year old loved the new slide in the baby pool as well as the bouncy castle slides.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly from the bar man Man U to the entertainments team who were amazing especially Sam and Kevin who not only entertain the children but the adults too with sangria making, water polo, and Sams crazy games in the pool

All in all I would rate this hotel very high and would recommend this to my friends and family and am already planning my next trip here

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family holiday was the best! We had nothing but fun all the way through; however, the hotel did have its pitfalls. On the whole, the experience was amazing, the service was great as was the food. But once we looked a little closer as the holiday went by we were starting to see beneath the glamour of this lovely place.
First thing was the wifi, the website said free wifi, which of course it was free. But it just didn't work. It did eventually work on the last day but it was so slow it was unusable. The McDonald's wifi was a good back up but even that was painfully slow and was a 15 minute walk down the beach.

The games room is just an area with very old out dated games, air hockey, one GTi club arcade driver game which has been around for 20 years and a dirty looking football shootout game. The pool tables were in a very poor condition with cue tips missing, the gym was a complete let down as one exercise machines were broken in half and the other could not be adjusted which were therefore unusable.

In the dinning hall we saw a chef serve a piece of cooked chicken, then pick up a piece of raw chicken with the same utensil. We saw mouldy bread but this is to be expected when they seem to serve the same food every day so you need to be able to variate it yourselves. Most of the staff were very pleasant but there were a few whom were very rude, clicking their fingers to get our attention and others throwing the drinks receipts down as if it was a bother for them. The only drinks available for the evening meal had to be paid for at the bar in the restaurant, you can't even have a free glass of water. The drinks were very over priced, a 200ml of cola was costing €2 where as across the road in the supermarket you could get a 330ml can for 65c. 3 or 4 drinks at €2 each for 10 days is a lot of money when it barely touches the sides and it will soon add up eating away your spending money.

If you do decide to go here make sure it's all inclusive as one thing you'll quickly notice if you don't is how you are treated. The bar staff seem to ignore you when ordering drinks prioritising the all inclusives even when queuing. The pool staff will remove your towel from the sun loungers if you try to reserve one before breakfast. If your all inclusive then you get a special green towel which the staff will not touch. So when you read the sign that says you can't reserve sun loungers; it only applies to the lower class guests like us who didn't get an all inclusive holiday.
If you want peace & quiet then the roof is the place to be. The sun deck was ideal with 2 small pools, bar and plenty of sun beds.

The entertainment was average, however the area is not air conditioned so you will be roasting alive down there, but if your a special green towel all inclusive guest you'll be showered with ice cold drinks at a mere nod at the bar man.
Don't think you can escape to your room as there is only 6 English channels and 2 of them had no sound. You can watch channel 4 but you'll have to lip read as the subtitles didn't work either.

When you venture out away from the hotel to this amazing island avoid an excursion company called STOP down at the beach past McDonald's (Peuto colon). We booked a simple jet ski outing with POWER JET SKI 3 days earlier using a broker called STOP. When we went to do it they fobbed us off with excuses one after another for 4 hours as they clearly over booked. We did finally get on there but this shoddy company were as far as I could see cowboys. They were smoking around petrol cans before we left and siphoning fuel from one jet ski to another. Once out on the ocean the lead boat just left us so we quickly lost sight of it so the health and safety rules they told us were right out the window. Apart from that jet skiing was definitely worth the 4 hour wait... Just use a different company than STOP (the broker) and POWER JET SKI.

Apart from that this was without a doubt the best holiday so far even with all the little annoyances.
Hope this review helps you to get the most out of your holiday!

Room Tip: Get your agent to book you a poolside room if that's what your after. We were on the road side w...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank HonestMrWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Sirs,

First we would like to thnk you for choosing our FAÑABE COSTA SUR Hotel for your holiday. It is true that we had some problem with WIFI the last weeks but already the problem is fixed. We would like to inform you that we treat all of our guest on this same way. Towels are same for all our guests but it is true that we have also a new ones, and we are reparting them not depends of board basis.

Regarding to the TV channels we just changed a weeks ago our TV´s and actually we have 10 channels: BBC1, BBC, ITV CHANEL 4 BBC WORLD NEWS, CNBC, SKY NEWS, BLOOMBERG, CNN. We hope this list have a importnats channels and we give a good service for our guests.


Once agian thank you for your attention. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have recently arrived back from a two week all inclusive stay with my wife and two children 15 and 10; I can safely say we all extremely enjoyed our stay! We arrived at around 12 o'clock after taking a taxi from the airport (which I would recommend as there was no hassle and cost only 20 euros) and were happily greeted by the reception staff. Our room was on the third floor facing mountains with the football cage and mini golf below us. I had no complaints about our location or our room as it was very clean, yes a little dated, but we only use our room to sleep and get ready in.

I must admit the sun bed situation was a little crazy in the morning with people running to be where they wanted to be. There was definitely not a lack of sun beds. You could easily turn up at 3-4 in the afternoon and get a sun bed. And no, no ones towels were taken off their sun beds during our stay, although it was slightly annoying that people would put down their towels at half 9 in the morning and not turn up until 3 o'clock.

The staff were very friendly and quickly took our plates once we had finished. There was one lady who worked at the pool bar and was always always miserable and slammed the drinks down but that's one out of the huge number of staff. Daytime entertainment was very good for all ages but the night time entertainment out the front was slightly repetitive and some nights could send you to sleep. If I hear angels by the long haired man, who wore a superman top most nights I could go crazy!

The location of the hotel was brilliant only having a 5/10 minute walk to the beach, shops and an array of restaurants. Being all inclusive we only ate the food at the hotel which was a little repetitive but it's like that where ever you go. There was nothing wrong with the food, it tasted fine, it's all down to personal preference. Again, restaurant staff were very helpful, bringing drinks quickly and I would very much advise sitting outside in the conservatory next to the pool, it was lovely. The food during the day was cakes in the morning and burgers and hotdogs in the afternoon, with ice cream all day.

We would definitely return again! I sit here reading some other peoples bad reviews and I think we visited a different hotel, please don't let the bad reviews put you down it was perfect for both couples (as you can sit on the roof with very few children) and families.

Room Tip: Anything on the right hand side of the hotel is definitely a safe bet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Roman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first holiday in a few years with my 7yr old son and some friends. Looking at the brochure I was very excited as the hotel looked really good with plenty to do. How wrong was that brochure, how it got 4 stars I don't know!
We was taking to our room quite quickly to be greeted by a huge cockroach in the bathroom. I went on to our balcony and water from a drain above fell on to our balcony. We asked to be moved and was told we could but the next day.
The food was disgusting, using the same utensils for raw meat and then cooked meat. The staff was very unfriendly and as soon as you put your fork and knife down your plate disappeared whether you'd finished or not.
The bar staff upstairs was very rude, one in particular called Eliene. She'd look you up and down, complain when you order more than one drink, not give you what you'd like and then leave you if a Spanish person wanted serving!
The pool area was very dangerous, with cracked tiles all round the pool or parts of tiles missing. The hand drier in the ladies had part of the socket missing with all wires exposed.
The kids entertainment was good if it was the kids club reps performing otherwise a man dressed from hongkong doing acrobats, scared my son he wanted to leave, a magician swallowing razor blades and several shows of flamenco dancers bored the kids. The other good show was the parrot show which started at 10.30pm. When I asked why it's so late, I was told Spanish kids don't go to bed as early as English kids!
The hotel also advertises it has free wifi, I don't think I got it working for more than 3 days of our 2 week stay.
When we went to check out, we wasn't asked if we'd enjoyed our stay or not, they just took our keys. My brother was asked, he said no it was the worst stay ever and the staff just laughed at him.
Overall, not a good holiday and I would definetely not go back to that hotel ever!!

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank Angben44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sirs,

Wa are really sorry what happend and about your bad experience in our Hotel.
Regarding to your incident with thw insect, we would like to inform you that we are making monthly fumigations but sometimes can happen and more in the summertime we work really hard for aviod it. With resepcto to the food we lets you know that the Hotel has no risk and it completes with all the terms and coditions of safety and higiene established to avoid any contamination. Regarding to the food, we hae international kitchen and 2 days on the week we have thematic dinner where our guests can find big variety of products. Thank you for the comment about our staff we work with them a lot and we want that our staff is and will be friendly. With respect to our animation please undestand us that is not only for the children. We have also the shows for adults. We regret though that we did not meet all your expectations and that you were not entirely with some aspects of your stay. In reference to what you commented on your departure day we would like to say that our staff is very respectfull to lough at any criticism. I think there could be a missunderstanding.

Once again thank you for your comments which help us improve our services.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've stayed in many hotels over the years and this "4 star hotel" (It was a 2 star at best) combined everything bad that ruined our holiday.

1) The food was disgusting slop - We had food poisoning on our first night. We had to call a doctor to our hotel
2) An unslightly "turd" in the pool served to shut the pool whilst we were there
3) The promise of children's activites did not stretch further than drawing day after day
4) You can't even get a glass of water if the bar is shut as the water machine and drinks dispenser did not work
5) There is crakced concrete around the swimming pool area so avoid to minimise risk of getting cut
6) The staff are rude and unaccomadating
7) The rooms are outdated and the constant smell of the kitchen wafts into the rooms. They stank
8) Apart from not going here, also do not go with Thomas Cook who did not care about our plight and only found a suitable replacement hotel after thtree days and £250 phone roaming charges
9) The restaurant is not that at hall, rather a glorified school canteen where you get your own cuttlery and tray before proceeding to serve yourself the vile pig swill that has been haneld by other people countless times before. It's like Vultures picking at the carcass of a dead animal

I really hope this view gets published. DO NOT go with Children. There is nothing for them. Do not go on a romantic break. It is about as romantic as a freezing cold raining nightin the Norht Sea.

Don't go if you need Wi-Fi/ It doesn't work. The restaurants by the holiday require a mile walk up a steep hill and are souless with disguting food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WBJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Sirs,

We regret though that we did not meet all your expectations and that you were not entirely with some aspects of youtr stay.
We would like to infor you that in our Hotel we didnt have any type of food poisoning. We are very strict with hygiene and control of all our products. It is true that with the reference to Thoma Cook, that one of the guest just commented us that her husband had become ill after the flight and we have called a doctor. Other thing is that rest of our guests didnt have any problems with reference to the food. We had to close the swimmingpool reference to defecation, it is normal that we had to make some treatment. We hope taht you understand that this our procedures, also the safety of our guests is very important for us.
Regarding to entertainment, We have the planning with all our activities prepar for all week: bouncy castle, foam party, castle for the children in the pool. We have aslo miniclub for our small guests. Sometimes we have to cancel one of activity for another one but never happend that we put some activity and we dont realise. With respect to water, we would liek to inform you that we close the bars at 1 o´clock in the night time. If some of our guests need something we have in our Hotel machines where our guests can buy what they need. It is happend taht sometimes tha machine can be broken but please be sure that it was like this the next day in the morning we fixed the problem. We work hard with our staff and we want that all of them are very friendly. We haev the high occupancy and maybe for this reason we have more traffics. With respect to WI-FI it is true that we had some problem with the company which is incharge of WI-FI in our Hotel but we are working to change this and give better service for all our guests. Once again thank you for your time and attention and we regret though that we did not meet all your expectations.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We travelled to the Fanabe Costa Sur in July 2014. My husband and I travelled with our two year old son on a half board basis. We cannot really fault the hotel in anyway. The breakfasts were always lovely with freshly prepared omelettes and pancakes. We liked the fact that we could go for lunch instead of dinner and had lunch in the hotel as and when desired. Long trousers for men at dinner are a must.

The room and communal areas were extremely clean and all staff were very accommodating and friendly. The fridge in our room was not working on our arrival but was quickly replaced once we had spoken to reception. Room was large with a pool view and cleaned daily.

The hotel was situated in a nice and quiet area with lots of shops, restaurants and bars within a ten minute walk. During our first week we did not find it a problem to get sun loungers and a parasol, however this changed towards the end of our holiday. People were queuing for 45 minutes prior to the pool opening at the four corners of the complex and then running to claim 'their space' at the pool. Unless you went down to the pool as soon as it opened you could forget any chance of a lounger or parasol. What was especially annoying about this was the vast majority of the sunbed brigade would then go in for their breakfast and not return to the pool for a good 45 minutes to an hour, while others didn't return till after lunch. On many occasions we saw families with young children unable to get a sun lounger or parasol due to the selfishness of many. My husband used the rooftop pool and terrace on several occasions and said that it was extremely quiet and relaxing, even with some children being there.

We would definitely visit this hotel again and would recommend it to others. I don't really know what the solution to the sunbed problem would be but something should be done to stop this from occurring in the future.

Room Tip: We emailed before we travelled to request a pool view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#18 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 59 in Costa Adeje
5,627 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £70 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing