We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ist time visitor to Teneriffe,wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Fed up of the cold winter days we decided to visit Teneriffe,a trip to the local travel agent,thanks Tracy,who told us about the island ,best places to stay,for pensioners with easy walking,close to sea etc,but not a concrete jungle!!.We arrived on a nice sunny day and in a short time on bus 20mins max,we arrived wow nice hotel,area etc.booked in porter took bags up to room,nice room,side view of sea,beach,harbour,and the large Iberostar hotel next door!!,room nice large bed,good shower etc,but alas no teamaker!! a must have really!,showered and changed went down to foyer where at the piano bar we had a nice cocktail,well it was happy hour!!,went downstairs to dining area,quite large very busy,but soon shown to a table by a smiling helpful waiter,ordered drinks,signed chitty,went and got starters,wow what choice,followed by a main course,again plenty of choice,even wife who is very picky found plenty to please,then had desserts again good choice,waiters and kitchen staff very helpful polite etc,After walked a few yards to entertainment lounge area,full of kids,yes I love em to but I wish parents took more control!! ordered drinks from flying waiters,finding seats, difficult, not big enough area ,waited for the cabaret to start ,very good but kids still about (now 9.30)and stage was below floor level shame as when you stood up,only way to see act!! it was good.Other area`s in hotel had seating,tele on etc.Breakfast was good similar to evening meal but items seemed to run short quickly,coffee was out of a machine more queue`s as well.Weather was good that day so settled down on plastic but good sunbeds to soak up the sun,ok till lunchtime when clouds came over!!Gr8 area,easy walking,plenty to do,nice resturants close by,with supermarkets for those little extra`s,paid to go to Gomera,but bus never came so got money back!! plenty of boats on sea life trips,good value,walked to Los whatsit,nice walk 3 mile approx`saw surfers gr8 stuff.nice holiday thanks Thompsons,just booked for this year,same place to hope weathers nice!!

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 3& 4 where nice,ask for a sea view as some were below street level or near kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,396 - 2,402 of 3,664 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here for two weeks. Had a lovely balcony room overlooking the sea-front and beach.
The hotel is very spacious, although an unusual design and it takes a while to get your bearings.It is all kept very clean with inside and outside areas being cleaned daily.The food in
the self-service restaurant was generally very good with plenty of choice and something to suit
everyone.Although sometimes you had to queue for meals they seemed to get you seated quite quickly.There were plenty of sunbeds to go round and although some people did put towels on to reserve,there really was no need. The entertainment was quite good,although some acts were better than others.The position of this hotel is great - there are lots of shops and bars along the front from the hotel. Look forward to going back here in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have just read the most recent reviews and now feel a bit of a Kiljoy, but perhaps I was unlucky.
Stopped 16 to 25 Dec 2012
It is a big hotel, very clean, pools are great, Kids Entertainment excellent, food ample, I would not rate as excellent, but it was certainly ok. mario the entertaimnent guy is a hero. Staff generally very friendly. Pool surround was very slippy so take flip flops -lots of slips occuring
For me the biggest negative was the noise in the rooms. It is a large hotel and on at least 4 occasions when I went to reception there were people requesting a room change so you need to specify wha want before you go. Our first room was diabolical with the door straight off the lobby and the patio straight onto the sun terrace, so very noisy and no privacy. It took 2 days before we were moved to the 5th floor. Loads better but the noise from the entertainment kept our daughter awake every night it is important therefore, as other reviewers have stated, to request your room in advance. There are some really bad rooms.
No problem with sun bed availability which makes a pleasant change
Drinks expensive, I don't drink a lot but £2.30 for a small fruit juice is a bit heavy
For me the beds were too hard but that must just be me because no one else seems to mention it
Flew with Thompson, flights both ways were great
Overall pretty good

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank N8225Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Booked this hotel for the week before Xmas for wife, myself and 10 year old daughter through Thomson. Flight was excellent and so was the transfer. Only 15 minutes from the Airport. First impression when we arrived was WOW. Walking into the reception area, tastily decorated for Xmas was big plus.So far so good, fingers crossed for the room. We booked through a Thomson shop rather than online after reviewing the hotel with Tripadvisor. We requested a Sea View Balcony Double room Half Board (not guaranteed) second or third floor. We got it. Right on the sea front, excellent views and going to sleep hearing the waves gently rolling in. Other people did not request this and got a view of concrete.
Plus points:
Location: As stated next to nice sandy beach with smooth seas. Ideal for paddling, snorkling etc, hardly any pebbles. Costa Adeje is very nice. Not quite the night clubby style of Playa but very refreshing and the beach is better.
Hotel: Better than the brochure. It will take your breath away. An absolute gem.
Rooms: Clean, spacious.
Food: Breakfast - Buffet with Eggs, Omlettes and pancakes cooked fresh. Lots of choice and tasty fresh fruit. Lunches by the poolside: Good choice on the menu, quick service. Evening meal: Exceptional choice for all tastes. Steaks, Chops and fish (local and Salmon) cooked whilst you watched, Carvery each night, Pork, Veal, Beef, Gammon, Turkey, or many other dishes on the buffet. Also soups, salads, lots of desserts and cheese/biscuits as well. Really good quality.
Pool: 2 pools, 1 slightly heated more than the other. Both beautiful and relaxing. Max depth 1.30m. Entertainment in pool includes Aqua gym Aerobics and Water Polo.
Entertainment: Mario is a star if you meet him. One of the nicest people you could wish to meet. Absolutely great with all of the guests and has a terrific sense of humour. Monika - very pretty and an excellent dancer. Very friendly and proved great evening entertainment.
Excursions: Loro Parque - A must. Google it, you will not be disappointed, but do not sit too close to the whale pool without protection. Teide full day tour. You will see Teide but not via the cable car. Includes tour of Island as well. Recommended. Night out - The Sound of Musicals. Small production by a great cast. Chicken dinner + ice cream, free wine, beer, soft drinks. Show in 2 parts. We booked through the reps welcome meeting and met Tracey, one of the dancers. We sat right at the front, and she got our daughter on stage to sing with them and in the second part, danced with her. The show was faultless, amusing and very entertaining. Tracey is very talented, as is the rest of the cast. They were all stars in our eyes and you meet them on arrival and after the show. Thank you all.

Negative points:
1. As with the rest of Tenerife, as soon as you leave the Hotel and walk along the front, you are hounded by people selling, offering Hair Braiding or trying to get you to eat. Mind you, Playa is worse.
2. Having to come home.

On the whole, the holiday was a delightful experince and could not be faulted at all, which is very rare these days. The hotel has a lot of repeat visitors and when you have been, I would bet that you would become one of these. We certainly will be.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View Balcony Double room Half Board, second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LeicesterPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel from the 26th nov to the 10th dec 2012. The hotel was fantastic and i would happily stay there again. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea. It takes a little time getting your head around the fact that the pool is above the rooms and we had to go up to the pool, reception, bars and restaurant. The hotel is huge but still gives the impression of space as it has long wallkways to the bedrooms. Extremely large rooms, i would say that they are on the scale of a self catering apartment size, rather than a hotel room. Maid service was 7 days per week which was an extra bonus. No problems with sunbeds, and we never had to queue for any of our meals. Plenty of choice at breakfast, the usual cooked breakfast plus omlettes fruit, cereal etc. Evening meals again had plenty of choice again, always a carvery meat, plus fresh cooked fish and probably about seven other choices of mains. Yes, it can get repetitive but thats probably because you can get a bit bored with having three course meals every night!.The waiters were lovely, very speedy at clearing the plates at the tables from your table and very attentitive. Yes the drinks in the hotel are expensive but you do not have to drink there in the evening. Entertainment is good, however, a lot of the acts didn't appeal to us. there was a kiddies disco at 8.30 then acts at 9.00 followed by another one at 10.15. All in all i would recommend this hotel, if you do go there you will be very impressed with its fantastic reception area, facilities and the staff

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We are still at this Hotel we came for Christmas the reviews of the hotel speaks for itself but its those little extras that I did not know before I came so I am just passing these on.
Breakfast has tea /coffee /fruit juice free but you have to buy the drinks at evening meal time on you tab water €2 for half a litre also other drinks available. There is no reason to get up early to save sun beds there are plenty. There is no free Wifi in the hotel but plenty free outside in the bars

Beer at the Hotel is €3.40 as to €1 outside
Sangria €12. As to Outside €5.50
Sun beds on the beach €15 (wow) I got up and walked away when he told me.
Plenty of walking and bars/shops to visite
Buses are cheap
You can smoke anywhere it seams

Room Tip: High rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tr00perman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 10-17th December. I spent ages looking at both this hotel and its sister hotel the Bahia Princess as I could not decide between the two and I am so glad I choose this one.

This hotel is perfectly situated along the sea front, so most rooms will all have a sea view. The entrance is very grand and impressive to look at. Check in was very quick and we paid for a safe which was 2.25 euros a day but this was hardly anything for that peace of mind. The staff at check in were really helpful and friendly and they had a porter waiting to take our bags up to the room.

On arrival to the room which was on the third floor it over looked the tennis court and we could hear the air conditioning units of the hotel next door, which I did go and ask reception if I could change rooms which they were excellent about and no fuss was had but I had to wait a day until this could be changed which was to the road side of the hotel. However after our first night in the room sitting on the balcony watching the sun set we decided we had a better room and canceled the change as these rooms get the sun all day and the view out to the sea was wonderful. The rooms are very clean, and pool towels are provided on arrival which could be changed if required, there was enough space and plenty of wardrobes/ cupboards to put everything in. The bathroom was very clean, the shower nice and powerful which stayed hot the entire shower. The air conditioning worked really well and wasn't noisy at all.

The food in the hotel is really good, and there was always plenty of choice especially if you like lots of salads and fresh fruit. Yes after a week this may get a little boring but it was always ever so nice and in the mornings the chef would make omlettes to your choice in front of you which was very nice. I have no idea why so many people complain about waiting for the restaurant! There are signs that say when their busy times are so if you want to avoid a wait then go when its quieter! So dont complain when they tell you to avoid this, plus the thomson rep also told us when the best times were to go.We NEVER had to wait and as soon as we approached the restaurant at every meal we were promtely shown to a table. The best time for dinner was from 7.30pm on wards and for breakfast either first thing or from 9.30am onwards. We always went down to the bar for a cocktail before dinner at happy hour which was between 7 and 8pm so this fitted perfectly so we could have a drink then head down to dinner. The champagne cocktails are a must!

The pool areas are beautiful and very clean. Yes they do get a bit slippy when wet but yet again people like to moan but they have signs everywhere saying you must wear non slip footwear. The smaller pool was the climatised one, however the weather was excellent so the larger very slightly colder pool was much appreciated! There was always plenty of sun beds available, yes people did leave their towels on them but there were so many that you could always find two sunbeds together. They are rather close together but you don't really notice once you're on them.

There are lots of restaurants along the beach front but we never ate out as we thoroughly enjoyed the food in the hotel, however we would always go for a walk after dinner along the beach which was lovely. Be aware people to approach you to go into their restaurant but a shake of the head was all that was needed to tell them you were not interested. I bought a few things in the shops which do make sure you haggle them down on the price as they are keen to get a sale and its nice to get a bargain!

We visited siam park which was excellent fun and my partner who is usually quite a serious person in his 30s thoroughly enjoyed himself! so this is worth a visit. Thomson had plently of excursions and Teide by night looked amazing but this was 75euros each which if we had known about before we could have budgeted for it but we decided to give it a miss this time.

Thomson were excellent too, the flight was not full so we could all spread ourselves out to have more room, but I didn't feel that the seats were that restrictive. The reps on arrival were very organised and at the hotel they had their own office so if you had forgotten anything or wanted another book to read then they had a swap service were you could take something then once you're done bring it back or place something else there instead. They were on hand whenever you needed them and they knew alot about the area too.

I could not fault this holiday at all, the staff at the hotel were ever so nice and thomson made you feel very well looked after. I would come back to this hotel again and again and will always be booking my holidays through thomson from now on. Please do not be put off by other peoples negative reviews as they are moaning about things that the hotel make known to you and its what you make of the holiday as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor to get a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rufus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#11 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#22 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 60 in Costa Adeje
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £110 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Idiso Digital, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing