We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent five star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent five star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights at the beginning of May 2010. The hotel has a stunning entrance, greeted with champagne and apple cake. Our bags were taken to our room, which was a standard twin room. The room was amazing, huge bathroom with two sinks, a large bath, seperate walk in shower room and seperate toilet.
The room was very spacious, mini bar and air conditioning. Our balcony was a little bit on the small side but not all rooms were like this. The service at the hotel was excellent, our room was cleaned every day, some one even came in about 6pm to leave a chocolate on you bed and pull down the bed sheets ready for that evening. We were only on bed and breakfast basis but the choice was great, cereals, bread, salad bar, juices, there was a chef ready to make eggs, pancakes and omlettes for you how you like it. We also had a thalasso cicuit in the spa pool, which was great for your muscles and back. I would love to have had a massage as the spa looked amazing!! There were five pools, plenty of sun loungers. When we were there the pools were a little bit cold but im sure they are lovely in the main summer months. The staff were very helpful, the receptionist called a taxi for us to head into Las Americas. There is quite a hill to walk up and down to get to the main supermarket/shops so may be difficult for people with walking difficulties. Overall excellent five star hotel, great service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise1986Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,646
    428
    136
    42
    28
See reviews for
543
1,418
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed for a week May/June room 228 sea view very comfortable room.
Beautiful hotel great view when you are having your breakfast/eveningmeal. Lovely food great seafood only night we did not enjoy was Barbi night food was undercooked or really overcooked think one of the chefs that night was the problem. The four poster beds by the pool one of the best bits great idea. Drinks in the hotel a bit pricey. Staff lovely and could not be more helpful.
Will be going again was a great place to stay we have stayed previously at Costa Adeje Gran but now this is our favourite. It was a great romantic break lovely touches like choclate on pillow, roses given when we went for dinner.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lmidge39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

I had read 5 star reviews of this hotel on various websites so we arrived with very high hopes especially of the accommodation and customer service.

We stayed in a villa which was fabulous and included a roof terrace with a jacuzzi bath and sun-beds. We were greated on arrival with a glass of cava and escorted to our villa. As per previous reports the hotel is very dark inside, obviously to keep it as cool as possible, but it is none the less as stunning as all the photographs we had seen.

Just a note that if you are not very mobile, don't come here. My partner and I consider ourselves fit and good walkers - to fetch even a newspaper (the hotel shop was closed during our stay) is a quarter mile walk up and down a very steep hill and the same walk to all the other shops and restaurants off site.

After a promising start in the stunning hotel and accommodation things started to disappoint me.....we have been used in other 5 star accommodation, to a pool area with all cushions on the sunbeds, umbrellas up and a sparkling clean pool. Not so here on arriving at the pool after a standard breakfast we struggled to find anyone to ask where to obtain cushions and towels from (only 2 or 3 beds had cushions and towels on them) in the end found the life guard who simply jestured to fetch them ourselves or take them off any beds we could find. The pools always had plant matter and gravel at the bottom and were cleaned only once during our stay (cleaned in the middle of the morning and was taped off to the guests while they did this!). There is no waitress service around the pool.

It appeared that the hotel (despite it being mid-june) was not actually fully open, they were doing many repairs and therefore regularly taped stairs and lifts off. There was no music or any entertainment in the evenings in any of the bars.

The hotel has a strong energy saving ethic which means no air conditioning in the hotel and the rooms are 'climate controlled' by the hotel, NOT air conditioned. We regularly woke up in the middle of the night in a hot and stuffy room.

Finally, despite reading reviews that the staff could not do enough for you I found them unsmiling and not really interested. I asked the receptionist, Gema, who greated us all smiles on day one and 'let me know if I can help you with anything' ttwo things during our stay; one to phone and confirm our return transfer (done with a miserable 'far too much trouble' and strug when she had finished the call saying 'done!') and to pay for a late checkout (this took 3 visits to reception to arrange - on the final visit I was told I could have just phoned and had it added to our bill!!)

I really, really wanted to love this hotel but was disappointed in the end.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deesa081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Deesa
Thak you for your time writing this review about your stay at La Plantacion del Sur. These comments are really important to improve our product and our quality. We have to make every year the full maitenance of all the instalations. My apologize for disturbing during your stay but these kind of activities have a vital importance to keep the quality of La Plantacion del Sur.
I hope see you again and enjoy of the quality of our hotel. I am sure that you will be very impressed by the quality of all the staff
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days last month and all in all we had a lovely, relaxing break. Food was good although the evening buffet was expensive at 35Euros pp. Another reviewer had mentioned that the hotel was quite dark and gloomy in places. I'm inclined to agree. The hallways, indoor bars, toilets were all in almost complete darkness. It was a little strange.
The family room we stayed in was nice and spacious but the air con was next to useless. Also no way of adjusting the temp in your room - it's all controlled by the hotel. Also, we noticed that the air con would actually be turned off during the night which meant we frequently woke up in a hot, stuffy room and had a banging headache.! We had a side sea view and view over towards Fananbe and Playa del las Americas which was pleasant but unfortunately we were also right above where they get bins collected! On 2 occassions we were woken at 5am to the horrendous clatter of glass bottles being loaded into a truck. We had to have the door open to let some air in due to the air con issues so it was even loader! Also, they couldn't have put us any further away from the kids pool and kids club if they tried!! (We can't comment on the kids club as ours were too young to go in by themselves).
The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Some of the other guests were a little miserable and rude, mainly middle aged couples. They would push past us to get into the lift first even though we had been waiting longer for example.
This is a nice hotel but not 5 star. It is not really a hotel for children either. The kids pool is fine, the little climbing frame next the pool (on a concrete surface!!) is broken and has sharp jagged edges. Also, to get to the kids pool you either have to go up or down 2 flights of stairs! Not easy with a pushchair, 2 kids and all their trappings!
I'm not sure this hotel quite deserves it's No1 rating but then I've not stayed at any of the other hotels in the area.
We won't be returning to Tenerife in a hurry. It's ok, Adeje is 5 star city (over priced, but no real substance and nothing much to do) and then along the cost a bit is like Benidorm!
To summarise: The weather was nice and we had an enjoyable early summer break in a lovely hotel, with wonderful staff but it's not in a great location, it has lots of steps and it's quite expensive. Also, being a true Brit - I couldn't believe there were no tea or coffee making facilitlies in the room! Tragedy!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MYTRIPTOUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments about stay at La Plantacion. At the hotel we try allways keep a relaxing atmosphere with no direct lights. I have take note about the noise of your room and we have resolve with the service in charge of collecting the bins of glass. The hotel disposes a service of transfer to the beach and from the beach each 30 minutes. We have repaired the clidren area around the pool thank you to your comment, because we had no detect this part broken.
The hotel dispose the Tea and Coffee facilities in all the Junior Suite 30 (rooms) and Villas (42 rooms). In your next visit we could offer one of these room under availability.
Thank you again for your comments that help us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Vincci La Plantacion Del Sur. We both found the hotel to be very pleasant. The hotels location, at the top of a hill overlooking the sea, means you really are better off with a car. There is ample ‘hotel parking’ available and very quick and easy access to the main North/South motorway. Our room at the hotel ( a deluxe double ) was large, clean and quiet and gave reasonable views from its more than adequate balcony. The room was cleaned and kept well stocked of toiletries/towels etc daily and all the staff we encountered were both friendly and helpful; although on occasions we did think that the hotel might be slightly ‘understaffed’.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate catering for most people’s tastes as noted by other reviewers. The pool bar serving drinks and food (until 17-00) was ok, there was a lack of vegetarian options (generally) which relegated my wife to having a cheese sandwich if we choose to eat there (that’s typical in Spain, but should be better at a 5 star) The restaurant at the hotel served reasonable food, especially compared to the local restaurants along the promenade, which were sadly lacking in any culinary delights..! We did think that the hotel could benefit from more alternative dining/snack type foods being available later into the evening especially at the cocktail bar. The room service was fast and efficient, but as with most room services we have come across rather over priced, (Dom Perignon £196 Euros, I mean why?).

All in all we had a relaxing break at this hotel which is exactly what we wanted and we would certainly recommend it for a relaxing week away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We have just returned from our trip to Plantacion Del Sur and the hotel was so good that it has got me writing my first Trip Advisor Review. If you want a hotel where you can unwind and relax this is the one for you - check in was quick ( although no welcome drink I keep reading about ) and the room was excellent, great size, overlooking the pools and then out across the ocean with great sunsets every night. Food was very good for a buffet although was getting bored after a few nights. What really made the difference for us was some of the staff - we travelled with our 15 month old daughter who was treated like a princess by the restaurant staff every morning and night - this really made our dining experience a great one - I know the Hotel Management read this so its important they recognise the following staff who were outstanding and seem to really enjoy their job - Boufi, Lkaidi, also Kirsten & Sandra. The nights without Boufi or Lkaidi serving were not as much fun and you should look to them as setting the benchmark for outstanding service. The pool areas were great and if travelling with a young child it is definitely worth the effort to get one of the beds - it made such a difference to our holiday providing much needed shade for our daughter to have naps whilst we could grab some sun next to her !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyB1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacoboAlvarez, Gerente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear Nicky
Thank you for your comment about your stay at La Plantacion del Sur. As you say I read all the comments in Tripadvisor and we try allways improve the quality of the hotel. The main important in La Plantacion del Sur is our staff. People like Lkaidi, Boufi, Kirsten and Sandra make the diference of each stay. I hope see you again and I am sure that you will find the same great staff.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Great hotel. Best we've ever stayed in. From arrival to departure, everything was superb.
We wanted to upgrade our room (for a wider view-all rooms have good sea views) and this was arranged the following day. All staff were not only helpful but eager to help and to provide an exceptional level of service, always smiling and happy. The rooms were lovely and the maid service excellent and with nice little personal touches such as bedspread arrangements, chocolates and a weather forecast for the next day.
The pools and lounging areas were beautiful, with sunbeds and mattresses and a pool bar/restaurant.
All in all, a great hotel, no negatives, a credit to its management and staff.
Go there if you get the chance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tino60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacoboAlvarez, Gerente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear Tino
Thank you for your comments that I will pass to all the staff of La Plantacion del Sur. We are very proud of all the comments about your stay and we hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#9 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing