We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this Hotel. The facilities were 1st class and the double room was spotless, spacious and had a sea view as requested. To be honest, we could not fault anything about the hotel and the staff were very helpful. For breakfast, there was a wide variety on offer e.g. fruit juice to cava, various cereals, salmon, prawns, bacon, omelettes and various cheeses with bread and rolls. Pastries and coffee to finish with. All in all we had a great vacation with the perfect base to stay in. I would recommend this hotel as one of the best I have ever visited.

  • Liked — Every need was taken into account
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank davied1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    447
    149
    45
    32
See reviews for
575
1,475
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We stayed at the hotel for two weeks, half board, which we booked through a travel agent, at a good price for a luxury 5 star hotel. We can't fault the hotel in any way.
The hotel is located in the quieter Costa Adeje area of Tenerife, pleasantly removed from the tacky, cheap and noisy Las Americas. It is set atop a hill, however this allows for great views and more privacy - ie. no-one wandering past at all hours.
The room which we stayed in was amazing, it was large, modern and extremely luxurious, with a great sea view. Every day our room was thoroughly cleaned to a very high standard by our maid (Angela, who was amazing). It came equipped with bathrobes, slippers, and a hairdryer. We also experienced the "turning down service" at night, with fresh towels and chocolates on our pillows, which we felt was a very nice touch.
As we were half board we dined in the buffet restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal, and felt that both met the 5 star rating. The choice was overwhelming, as was the standard of service at these times.
Each member of staff, whether that be the bell-boy, cleaner or waiter were extremely polite, well trained and welcoming.
My girlfriend used the spa for a massage, which was cheaper than the UK and of a higher standard. They offer a wide range of treatments.
We lounged by the pool every day, and never had to fight for a lounger! And never saw any incidences of this. There was plenty space and four pools to chose from. We swam every day, and the temperature of the water was fine.
The only bad points would be that drinks were expensive at the poolside bar, as were ice creams.
Overall, if you are looking for a 5 star, luxury, relaxing experience then this hotel has it all. We spent two weeks there and did not feel the need to leave the hotel once! We would definetly go back.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank broxybluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

First things first, this hotel is luxurious and beautifully decorated throughout.

The swimming pools are as beautiful as they look on the website and the walk to the beach that everyone complains about really is not that bad.

On the downside, as many other posters have noted, the lack of staff does let the place down. While generaly the staff are very helpful, getting the attention you would expect from a 5* hotel is dificult.

We stayed in a villa with private jaccuzi - it was a lovely room and the jacuzzi had superb views of the beach - very nice. What was not so very nice were the numerous dead cockroaches that appeared in the room every morning. At least they were dead I suppose...

The 4-poster sunbeds are lovely and if people think they can reserve them by throwing a towel on them they soon find their towells in the towell bin - quite right but this lead to some some angry (albeit comedy) exchanges pool side.

If you are looking to the "internet room" to keep up with business -forget it. The connection is terrible and was seldom up in the two weeks.

Overall, very nice indeed, but dont expect the service you may be used to at other 5* hotels.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Travelled to this hotel with my chum - two yummy mummys looking for a luxury escape and well deserved rest!

In terms of luxury, this hotel is second to none, and we found the majority of staff very pleasant and helpful. On arrival, like the previous reviewers, we were greeted with a glass of bubbly. Check in was prompt and we shown to our room by one of the many delicious porters. Our room was a superior twin, with a generous sized bathroom which is standard in all the rooms. Our view however, was of a rather fetching building site which was a great disappointment to say the least. Undeterred we asked at reception about the possibility of changing rooms to one facing the front and after much umming & ahhing we were advised one would be available in a couple of hours. VERY glad we asked, our 2nd room was identical to the first however the view was spectacular. We stayed for a total of 7 nights and were on a Bed & Breakfast Board. Breakfast was fantastic, great choice, and omelettes, pancakes etc cooked to order. We ate dinner only once at the hotel, and whilst there was a fair selection, many of the dishes were fish based. We enjoyed our meal, found the food tasty but did not feel the cost, 40 euros, to be value for money. Another point on the dining front is that there is no provision for ordering food or snacks at the bar area in the evening. We had been out one evening and had a very poor meal at the Hacienda Restaurant on the beachfront at Del Duque. We returned to the hotel still a bit peckish and decided to go to the terrace and order some port and a cheese-board. Unfortunately though this is apparently not allowed! The restaurant manager although very apologetic stated it was not possible and if we wanted to have any food then we would have to return to our room and order from room service. The restaurant was still open at this stage so we asked whether it would be possible to go in there and order. Again we were informed that it was not possible and if we wanted to eat in the restaurant then we would have to pay 40 euros each for the buffet.
In addtition there was very little in the way of entertainment at the hotel at night and therefore it lacked a little atmosphere, in fact it almost seemed deserted at times. During the day however there was a range of activities and the female fitness instructor was very friendly and enthusiastic! We also sampled the spa, where we opted for the full body massage which, pricewise, was comparable to the same treatment back home.

As for the hill, yes it was steep, but the road to the beach was not too long. My friend went for a 4 mile run each and every morning and still was able to run up the hill afterwards. I daresay though the knowledge that a handsome porter was waiting at the top for her with a bottle of cooled water was a great incentive!!

All in all a very pleasant break with a few minor hiccups which did not deter from our holiday. In fact, we're planning a future trip to the hotel, this time with our husbands!!

  • Liked — Room Sizes, bathroom - Luxury touches - Bed turning service etc
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere at night.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We booked the Plantacion hotel as a family easter break and opted for one of the Royal Suites with a couple of extra beds for the kids. The suite was actually in effect a large room which was probably twice the size of a standard room, with a walk in closet and large bathroom. Beware - some of the balconies on the upper floors are very climable for young children.

The hotel itself is very nice, and the variety of pools is great. Only one of them is heated which is a bit of an issue in April. We didn't visit the spa complex as it cost an extra 10 Euros just to use the indoor and additional outdoor pool - a bit cheeky when you're paying a few hundred Euros per night for a room.

The hotel is a couple of hundred metres from the sea, but is set up on a small hill so the views are good (but probably aren't from the apartments which are much lower). However, the walk to the sea is very convoluted and this bit of the resort is really designed for cars, not people.

The breakfast was good standard Euro breakfast with a wide variety on offer. Omelettes and pancakes could be cooked for you on demand (and on show) but this involved queueing. The evening buffet meal was comprehensive but not special and at 40 Euros a head (if you're on B&B) excluding wine is poor value.

The main problem we had with the hotel was the service, particularly at reception. The staff have variable levels of English but also have to answer the phone while they serve you, meaning that simple issues can take an age to resolve and queues can build up. They're all very willing but sometimes don't quite realise what a 5 star GL hotel should be.

Kids club was ok but sometimes the older children weren't controlled very well. The internet room computers were very unreliable and the pool tables didn't work.

Lastly the rooms are a bit noisy - we were sometime kept awake by people walking down the corridor and the air con and traffic noise can be intrusive at night and in the early morning.

All in all a pleasant week but with a few rough edges which we would not expect from a hotel of this rating (and price)

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank BigMikeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one week and, quite honestly, it was one of the loveliest holidays we have ever had. We upgraded to a villa which overlooked the bay and the room facilities were just amazing - including having a jacuzzi on the top floor next to a private sun terrace which had the most spectacular sea view - very romantic! The bed was enormous and the bathroom facilities superb!

We were looking for an hotel which offered the kind of service you would expect from a spa - very friendly and helpful but also discreet. Obviously this hasn't gone down well with other clients based on some of the reviews I have read, however it really suited us. On arrival we were given glasses of sparkling white wine and were transported to our villa with our luggage. Every member of staff was friendly, smiling and caring.

We stayed b&b but ended up also eating at the hotel most evenings. Yes, it is pricey but we expected this at a 5* hotel! Yes, it was served mostly as buffet but the sheer choice of food was amazing. Room service was prompt when required and , although the pool bar lunch menu offered only a limited choice, the food was excellent.

The hotel is on a hill and set apart slightly from the rest of the resort so having your own transport is definitely recommended. This remoteness may not suit everyone but we deliberately chose it so as to be away from any hustle and bustle of any other hotels. As a result it's a fairly quiet location which was exactly what we wanted.

An excellent shopping centre and gorgeous golden beach with cafes & bars is a 5 minute drive away with free parking available for up to 2 hours.

Personally speaking, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kirkychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

Booked a last minute holiday to the hotel. Was very impressed on arrival - we hadn't hired a car but knew it was on a hilly location, but in all fairness, most of Spain is so this wasn't really a deterrent, however I can understand that it could be problematic for some people. The hotel itself seemed very big and deserted, which is a shame, perhaps it was becuase it was off season but other hotels seemed busy. Perhaps this is a newer hotel that people aren't aware of yet. The bars were empty at night and i felt sorry for the band playing there! However, we wanted a relaxing holiday so it was perfect. The service was ok, I wouldn't say it was bad or otherwise, the staff seemed friendly and helpful but not 5* service. The breakfast buffet was good, not amazing but good, as was the dinner buffet which we had a couple of times but i would skip that and head to the La Torre del Mirador which is a 5 minute walk downhill on the beachfront, much better food and atmosphere. Poolwise, there was no such service as such, no one coming round to offer drinks etc. I would not rate this hotel as a 5*, more a good 4* Pool areas were lovely, plenty of beds available, but only one pool could be swum in due to the fact the others were freezing, so you get kids in the main pool when you were trying to swim which is frankly a bit annoying!

Overall, I had no problems with the hotel, it just lacked atmosphere and you get the feeling the maangement weren't quite sure as to what they are trying to 'make' the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lou9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing