We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
683
87
31
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
87
31
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noiseplunge poolbedroom villaroom servicela caletagolf rangethree bedroomsquash courtday bedprivate terracenearest townfully fitted kitchenaway from the roadpure luxurywashing machineself caterice bucket
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Villas fantastic,yes road noise a problem in 1 beds however staff fantastic and understood need to move us to an even more stunning villa. Private pool and terrace now a must have! Only had breakfast in hotel however guest book had good recomendations for dinner. Taxis a bit expensive due to distance from seafront. Spa amazing. If its Tenerife this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank iajScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

These Villas are absolutely beautiful. The road was noisy, but not enough to spoil our honeymoon. The staff was amazing and attentive to our every need. They helped us book our tours and helped us decide were to dine out. The spa facilities were great. My husband and I both had massages and facials. We used the spa facilities which was included with our stay. The gardens were breathtaking. I would highly recommend the RGV and would return. Thank you to all for the reviews without them I would not have booked at RGV.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cirullli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

This is definitely one of the best places we have stayed in. We were in a beautiful spacious two bedroomed villa with large terrace and good size pool .

The luxury and convenience of your own villa but with all the services of a 5* hotel was perfect for us. It was private and relaxing, you hardly every heard or saw any other guests. The staff were always professional and polite.

Nothing is within walking distance, so after a couple of days we decided to hire a car, although it was always easy to get a taxi.

Personally the road noise wasn't a real issue for us, but this is obviously dependent on the location of your villa.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We've just returned from our 15day stay at the Royal Garden Villas. The Hotel/Villa was everything we hoped for having read all the positive reviews on tripadvisor.

Upon arriving at the Hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome and a cold glass of Cava. After the swift check in, we were rushed to our Villa. Ours was Villas Lotus which is featured heavily on the Hotel's website.

First impression's are always important as they tend to stick and set the tone for the rest of one's opinion. Those very first impressions were of a very warm welcome. The proverbial feeling of a warm both; just how a check in should be. Personal and welcoming.

Our Villa Lotus is indeed very lavishly decorated in a Oriental style with beautiful hand carved woodwork, 2 bedrooms, 2 large on suite bathrooms with an outdoor balcony bath at the top bedroom, big living room, 3 tv's + 1 DVD player, fully equipped kitchen, swimming pool, and sun beds. After a few days the Villas grew on us as we viewed it more like our home from home then a Hotel room. There was absolute privacy in our villa as we could not hear or see our neighbours, even though the other villas were full.

Since our Villas was located at the top level we couldn't hear that much from the street below. The noise was there (a bit) but it did not seem to bother us. So if you have the choice, I would absolutely suggest going for a 2 bedroomvilla as it is not only much bigger, but better located with more privacy. Road noise is there. You are not located miles away in backdoor country. Tenerife is a small island. So if you have a problem with hearing more then the only bird twitter, go somewhere else.

The entire hotel is clearly designed by a very talented outdoor and indoor architect. The entire property has been beautifully designed with loads of neat little things. Every room, hallway, alley; even the free parking garage (located under the hotel; again ask!) is nicely decorated and designed.

I do have make a special notice of the truly outstanding restaurant Le Jardin. It was truly amazing. We ate there 10 nights out of 14. Breakfast was not as humongous as 300 room 5star hotels, but everything you could wish for was there. Even better was that every single day breakfast is presented in a different way with every day a different variety of meats, fruits, cheese, breads, fruits, etc. Staying for 15 days at 1 place, this is a great welcome as you are surprised every morning. What's more; and few guests realise this, the chez will prepare whatever you want. Eggs are always presented on the buffet, but the chef will prepare it whatever way you want. From potatoes, to a mozzarella tomato salad, to pancakes; virtually anything the chef will prepare. So ask!
The quality, freshness and the chef's preference to local produce never failed to impress never failed to impress. The buffet will rival any buffet from any lavish 5star+ hotel.

Dinner was even better; even though the menu is very intimidation. The restaurant does not list a standard choice of dishes. They have a list of in season products and several suggestions. Suggestions are more in terms of how many courses you would like. We always opted for 4 courses. 1 starter, 2 main courses and 1 dessert. The portions are not that big, but are enough in a European way. Don't expect US size portions and 2 pound steaks. 4 courses is suggested as the light menu while 6 courses the average is. 6 courses is more then enough to get your filling.
The price for 40 courses is 40Euro; which is fair in my opinion. Trying eating 4 courses at a high class restaurant for 40Euro!

After eating at the restaurant for 10 days, we had over 40 different dishes with only which we were not fond of. The rest was absolutely outstanding. We told the waiter to have the chef surprise us; en he did every day.
Taste, variety, presentation were almost on Michelin Star quality (having eaten in many Star restaurants).
If you want to have a certain dish, then ask. They will prepare your menu to your liking. So if you want steak and a salad, they will do so. Again, you need to ask.

The previous reviewer mentioned Tenerife being tacky; which it is. Extremely. But then again, 95% of all holiday destinations are. Royal Garden Villas saved our holiday, while Tenerife has nothing special to offer. Only suggestion I might have is to rent a convertible and drive up to Mount Teide; which is incredible.

My wife and myself are extremely picky in our choice in hotels and restaurants. We have stayed and eaten in many world class hotels and restaurants all over the world. Royal Garden Villas rates among the best. Every single one of the staff from reception to housekeeping and restaurant was interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Good management shines throughout the hotel; as well as staff motivation.
Examples are many, my wife had some clothing she hang to dry over en empty bed. Housekeeping noticed and within a few minutes, and without asking, they delivered a drying rack to our villa. Those little things are aplenty and show they do care. That's what makes a great hotel outstanding.

Only downsides we can think of are the noise which may or may not bother you (we did not mind at all). My wife also thought 1 facial she had was rather plain and nothing special.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay those 15 days. I have no problem recommending Royal Garden Villas to any picky traveller.

Last note I do want to make is, that this is a hotel for the connoisseur. If you want a big hotel with a massive reception; go somewhere else.. If you want a kids club, or a mile long buffet; go somewhere else. If you want to be secluded in nature, go somewhere else. If you have an eye for quality, privacy, style and class, look no further. Royal Garden Villas deserves all the praise it can get. Much more so then many hyped and recommended hotels on this site.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Maximus193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My husband and I just got back from RGV after staying there for 3 nights. Prior to arriving I had contacted the hotel to ask about the road noise and to make sure that we were not staying in that vicinity (based on Trip Advisor reviews). I was told that there was never a noise problem and that the villas were not located on the roadside. Obviously - I was not told the truth. First, absolutely do not stay here if you are booking a one bedroom. The one bedroom suites are not worth the money - and the pictures online of the suites do not match what you get! Initially we booked this type of suite and was upset to find that the villas are literally on top of a busy road! We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa which is a level higher but still on the road (i.e., your patio/pool is located roadside). The villa was beautiful. We were happy with the big difference in rooms. However, the noise is SUCH A PROBLEM!!! It's not just a few cars driving by. We are talking tour buses, dump trucks and motorcyles non-stop. So here you are enjoying your outside patio/pool and looking at the ocean and mountains in the distance - but you feel like you are in New York because of the noise. The other reviewers who did not mind the noise also were not there during the day. It's a deal breaker....because you can't truly relax. It was our first time to Tenerife - and it is the cheesiest place on the planet. Trashy people and environment. I was amazed. Do yourself a big favor - Spend the money (and it's not cheap), on a trip to the South of France or an island in the Aioli islands in Italy. Unless you like trashy boardwalks, eating at malls (yes - RGV recommended a restaurant - the best Chinese/Japanese on the island - and it was at a mall!), being surrounded by noise - than head to Tenerife and RGV is one of the nicer places. Tenerife is tacky and at some points, I was disgusted. RGV is beautiful from the inside with nice staff - but is laughable because you really are not in paradise....which is what you are paying for. Had I known this, I would never....never have booked the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews