We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PortoBello Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Portobello is a real gem. The room was comfortable and well-designed. The staff was friendly and accommodating (which was especially important when it came to the one complaint we had: the room safe locked on its own before we could put in our code! But they came up immediately and reset it. Still--beware!). While it is a bit of a long haul uphill to the hotel (if you have heavy bags it's worth hiring one of the small transport trucks, at least on the way up), the view over the town and the bay makes it worth the trip. A great romantic getaway spot!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

From the reviews, the views from the rooms looked amazing which is why I picked it. I was not disappointed. Furthermore, they upgraded me upon arrival which was very nice of them but I'm sure this is subject to availability. If they can, they will. The suite was extremely comfortable & very clean. Furthermore, the location good not have been better, only 5-10 min walk from the town which made it very easy to return to after a whole day of walking.

Ana at the reception was very helpful in all her recommendations for places to eat. All the places she recommended were very good. And it's not like because she gets a commission because we saw her eating at the restaurants herself so there you go. And to have breakfast with that view....breathtaking! While I cannot say enough about the Portobello's view, to be fair, I suspect that because Mykonos itself is such a wonderful place, beautiful views can be seen from many other hotels as well.

One small disappointment, which is my fault as well, I did not read that they didn't have a common swimming pool. But all in all I would recommend a friend to stay here for sure

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My sister and I arrived by ferry from Athens and hopped a cab for a 5 or 5 euro drive about 8 blocks up the hill to the hotel. Perched above the city Portobello Hotel has great views but a very central location an easy walk down into the town. The staff was wonderful, taking the time to orient us to town and the island and later getting us taxis, even when we were out at a beach!
The breakfast was wonderful and the room clean and neat. Great stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Portobello boutique hotel is perfect in every way. The view of Mykonos town is stunning and undisturbed. The rooms are immaculate and have everything you need. We stayed in a standard room and it had a balcony overlooking the pool and window view of Mykonos town. The staff are so lovely, especially a particular young tall man who greeted us upon arrival and carried our bags for us; so polite and made our stay so enjoyable. The free breakfast was delicious with great variety. We hired a quadbike which reception organised for us without hesitation. Have only been home a week and already want to go back to Portobello.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Overall the hotel was great! Breakfast was amazing with sweet treats baked daily. The view was lovely, and a short walk to town/buses and taxis. Our only negative was the day we checked in.. They advised us upon arrival that the villa we had booked and paid for was unavailable for our first night but that they had organised us to be upgraded to a suite.. Perfect! After we settled into our room we decided to take a swim in the pool (which we had access to as we booked a villa). We walked to reception to ask where the pool was and we were told we didn't have access to the pool as we were staying in a suite. After repeating that we had paid for pool access the staff tried to convince us that we wouldn't want to swim in the pool anyway because there were so many people there. After a heated discussion we were finally granted access to the pool. Just to note: we did not encounter one other person using the pool in the 5 days we stayed in he villa.

The beds are very comfortable but they must be lined with a form of waterproof mattress protector and this makes for a very odd/squeaky sleep.

After the rocky start, we enjoyed all aspects of this hotel and had no more run-ins with the staff. In particular, the female staff member on reception with brown hair was extremely helpful in helping us navigate our way around the Island and providing suggestions for beaches to visit and restaurants to eat at.

Room Tip: If you want to swim, you must book a villa room that explicitly states access to the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had very good time at this hotel, We even stayed in hotel to see the sunset rather than went elsewhere. Really friendly staff. Breakfast is very good in quality. Our room was quiet all time even it was next to the reception and breakfast. room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Portobello is a lovely hotel with a fantastic location to the centre of Mykonos and has wonderful staff such as Eleni and Bana who look after you at breakfast time. Elani's home made jams Rice puddings and other Greek speciality's are a real treat and her special blend of coffee is the best.The Hotel is spick and span and attention to detail is utmost. The two Anna's are happy to help with anything you need and have great knowledge and information about the Island.
Would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Mykonos.

Room Tip: A room at the front with a view however the balcony can be used by everyone and has a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 08Aus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBello Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBello Boutique Hotel

Address: Kaminaki, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#10 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £88 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PortoBello Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on Mykonos sunset point, only 3 minute walking distance from the Old Port and 10-20 minute drive from all the beautiful beaches on the island, stands the Portobello Boutique Hotel facing breathtaking, romantic sunsets over the Aegean Sea. A particularly intimate hotel with a unique atmosphere, offering you every pampering opportunity, the Portobello will turn your vacation into a special event that will be remembered for years to come.The hotel offers free WiFi in all the public areas and in the rooms and also free parking(limited space). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortoBello Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PortoBello Boutique Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing