We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem with the best fish”

Kounelas Fish Tavern
Ranked #23 of 222 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$40
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem with the best fish”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant by accident whilst strolling through the streets of Mykonos. We walked passed the fish being grilled almost in the street. We were met by friendly staff who escorted us to the last available table upstairs. We ordered our starters which included the special shrimp saganaki which was one of the best we have had whilst travelling through the islands. When it came to order main course our waiter explained we go down stairs to view the fish. Again friendly staff presented the days catch which we chose 3 different fish, snapper, sea bass and sea bream. The fish was cooked superbly and served with rice and potatoes. We asked for the fish to be filleted which was expertly done at our table. A great night was had and I recommend if you want a great fish dinner look no further than Kounelas Fish Tavern

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    520
    148
    60
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Look no further - this is it”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The choice of good restaurants is Mykonos is overwhelming. If you are after a brilliant fish restaurant, then look no further. Select your preferred fish (style "catch of the day"), select a few dishes to have with it (greek salad, tzatziki and much more), select one of their excellent wines and then sit back and enjoy the outstanding service, the vintage greek decor, and indeed your fish of choice cooked to perfection. We ate here four times during our stay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Our first night in mykonos we were suggested to go here to mykonos fresh fish from the hotel staff where we were staying! We weren't let down!!

To start we were sat in a lovely quaint room with minimal tables, a great atmosphere for 2 of us!! We ordered drinks with a jug of wine being only €6 and cheap beer!! The starter was equally good value for money we shared a plate of calamari which was large enough for 2 at €10 was beautifully grilled and was very fresh!!
After being allowed to select our fish and see where it will be cooked(very very rare in the uk) we got our chosen fish - sea bream and red snapper, both served with fresh roasted potatoes and rice!! The fish is so fresh, you get the value you'll pay when selecting and cooked on a coal grill as well as being extremely well seasoned!! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone to try the fresh fish of mykonos!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisc-1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A REAL greek fish tavern”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is a hidden gem. Its a true greek fish tavern without the glitz or glam or spruikers. You select your own fish from the kitchen and its cooked over hot coals and served with a simple lemon olive and herb oil. Brilliant .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PascalisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

fresh fish cooked well and with a great price. Friendly staff. If u looking to eat well and dont spend much thats the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kounelas Fish Tavern also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Kounelas Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing