We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience”
Review of Little Rochari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Rochari
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

One of the nicest hotels on the island. Not a 5-star newly rich design temple - much more than that in my opinion! Clean rooms, a wonderful view and the friendliest staff you can imagine. Will tell all my friends to choose the Little Rochari as their 'home' when travelling to Mykonos.

Thank you, Rochari family, for a wonderful week...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBH1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
39
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Little Rochari is exceptionally clean, the rooms are bright and those on the second floor have great views, but it is far and away the staff that make this hotel.

Every staff member is friendly, helpful and really will go out of their way to help however they can. We wanted a massage on a rare rainy day. When the most known massage therapists were booked, the staff didn't give up till they found someone new, a physiotherapist recently arrived from Italy. Great massage, but the trouble they went to to organise and follow up afterwards was great.

That's just one example. Need to go somewhere? They'll practically take you there the directions are so good. Transfers are arranged at no cost. They keep a stock of hire scooters at the hotel to get you on the road faster (I think there is a family connection with the owners of the hotel and the bike place). Phone charger? Got the lot. International power adapters? Those too. When does breakfast finish? When you want it to. Need a bottle of water at 4am? Sure. Oh, your iphone screen is too small, here, use this notebook we keep on hand for guests.

People say Mykonos is expensive - maybe it is, but the Little Rochari is great value for Mykonos, and Mykonos is nothing compared to Santorini. Little Rochari cost us 130 euro a night. A similar hotel (minus the service) in Santorini is 180 euro. Scooters are 10 euro a day from Little Rochari, 25 euro a day from Santorini.

Besides the service, the other thing you'll notice is the cleanliness. Even the bed covers seem to get changed daily and these all white rooms really are all white. One thing though - the bathtubs and showers are small, and the bathroom floor *will* get lots of water on it. If that's going to ruin your holiday, maybe look elsewhere. I'm sure the staff would come and dry the floor after each shower if you asked them to.

The breakfast is great too - omelettes cooked to order and the usual range of pastries, breads, fruits etc. And of course fresh squeezed orange juice.

The lobby area of the Little Rochari is charming and roomy, but you'll probably find yourself at the main hotel, a couple of hundred metres away. That's where all the action takes place. So if bustling breakfasts and busy sunset drinks are your thing, head to the main hotel. You can have breakfast at either hotel and the bar staff, Darren inside and Kelly at the pool bar, are both brilliant. Challenge them to see who does a better strawberry daiquiri ;-)

The Rochari, and therefore the Little Rochari, are gay hotels. They probably call themselves gay friendly, but they're too well known in well traveled circles to be anything else. They're definitely straight friendly too though ;-)

If you don't mind a smile and a wave or a good looking poolside, but would prefer to be able to escape for some peace and quiet sometimes, I don't think you can beat the combination of staying at the Little Rochari and heading the Rochari for the pool or drinks. There is a great pool at the Little Rochari too.

If you are looking at the Elysium Hotel, save yourself some money and go for the Rochari. Basically the same crowd but with better rooms and brilliant service. And no killer hill climb!

I have to admit that the Rochari was recommended to me by friends from Australia, Singapore and Germany. I was actually a bit hesitant after that as these were my chattiest, partiest friends in each country. But I'm glad we did follow their advice in the end. The staff are not in your face (i hate that!), but they are there for you when you want anything at all. Even a chat. Our last night in Mykonos coincided with a "Opa-Opa" party at the Rochari pool bar, so we got to experience a real Greek party complete with plate smashing. And quite a headache the next day.

This really is a great place to stay - make sure you book ahead. We went at the start of the season and were lucky that Stavroula could fit us in a day early and we could extend our stay by four nights, without once putting us in the "garden view" rooms, which I understand are noisy and don't have a great outlook.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookingLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

A great little place. Expensive, of course (it's Mykonos after all), but with a great location, big, bright rooms with good views (though "garden view" dungeons are to be avoided at all costs!) and nice pool and lounge area, good breakfast and a very friendly staff. Most of the clientele is gay (again... Mykonos...) so if that's going to bother you stay somewhere else (another island, preferably!), but it is a very low-key place without a lot of partying or other hijinks. The two things that drove me nuts was that the shower was tiny and the drain in the bathroom floor wasn't in the lowest spot. Result: no amount of care could keep from flooding the bathroom, which would then stay flooded until the housekeepers came through. Also, while the marble floors everywhere are keep cool and are pretty to look at, they don't do much for sound insulation, so light sleepers be ware.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Continenthopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The hotel is nice in the common spaces, but less than average in the rooms. It has great views as long as you get a room on the 2nd floor. If you are on the first floor, some of the rooms have big bushes that block part of the view. When you book, ask to be in a room that doesn't have a bush in front of it. I was in Room 7. That has a bush.

Our room was as basic as possible. It had all plain white walls except for a Van Gogh print in a cheap gold frame. The furniture was also cheap-looking basic wood. None of the great design sense from the lobby made it into the rooms. The bathroom was adequate, but had literally a 2 foot by 2 foot shower. It had a curtain, but you had to leave the curtain open when you showered to fit. Then of course the bathroom floor turned into a small lake, because the drain was oddly placed on the other side of the toilet and the floor did not slope down towards it.

But the service was great. We got picked up and dropped off at the port by a very friendly man with a huge van. The staff at the front desk was always extremely helpful. There are also 2 common bathrooms that people can use after they check out. For example, on our last day we checked out at 12noon, but our ferry didn't leave until 9pm. We were able to go to the beach, come back and shower, then go to dinner and go to the ferry. It is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_30s_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Little Rochari isn't anything spectactular, but we had a great sea view of Mykonos, the room was perfectly fine with a comfortable bed and hot shower, and that's about all we need. If you're in Mykonos to hang out at the hotel you're in the wrong place. The town was a short walk down the hill and most everything was in walking distance. The hotel will do free pick up and drop off at the port which was quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Nothing fancy about Little Rochari, but perfectly situated right above Mykonos Town. A 50 meter walk down the hill and you'll be right in town, which is where you would want to be located. The hotel is clean & the staff treat you like family.
All the rooms have a stunning view of Mykonos & its gentle coast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Just returned from this hotel. I usually stay elsewhere in Mykonos but chose this hotel on this occasion as I was travelling with friends. A good hotel which I think is execellent value for Mykonos. The Little Rochari as the name implies is a smaller sibling of the Rochari Hotel. In reality you can come and go between the two hotels with no restrictions and this is important because there are some services which are not available at the "Little", food during the day being the most obvious example. Whilst the Rochari is "buzzy" and has a bar which seems to get plenty of use, the "Little" is much quieter. The staff however are excellent and very friendly, and levels of service and cleanliness are high. We used the pool a lot and were often the only ones there - it felt as if you had the place to yourself which was nice. If you want the party scene in Mykonos don't choose the "Little", go to the Rochari itself which is only 3 minutes walk away. Do go to the "Little" if you want a smart comfortable hotel, which is relaxed and has spectacular views. One note of caution to travellers with restricted mobility - the hotel is approcahed by a very short but extremely steep hill which would probably be problematic. I think the owners have to be commended for realising that there is more than one market on the island and providing complimentary establishments which you can in effect dip in and dip out of. They cost about the same, so you pays your money and takes your choice!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Rochari Hotel
Rochari Hotel
#29 of 82 in Mykonos Town
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasios Sevasti
Anastasios Sevasti
#68 of 82 in Mykonos Town
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazos Hotel
Nazos Hotel
#32 of 82 in Mykonos Town
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ilio Maris Hotel
Ilio Maris Hotel
#27 of 82 in Mykonos Town
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#40 of 82 in Mykonos Town
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carbonaki
Hotel Carbonaki
#39 of 82 in Mykonos Town
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Rochari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Rochari

Property: Little Rochari
Address: Scholi Kalon Tehnon, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Rochari 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Little Rochari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Rochari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing