We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the value of money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #77 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the value of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel, located 10 min far from city center, rooms are clean, internet is very poor, receptionists are super good with super powers, they do everything in the hotel (reception, food & drinks service, carrying luggage, maintenance...) which decreases the quality of service, sadly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    36
    23
    16
See reviews for
18
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The New Aeolos Hotel in Mykonos is simply outstanding. The grounds are beautiful as are the rooms. There is a beautiful pool. The staff was very helpful in making arrangements for us, giving directions and being available for whatever we needed. The breakfast, which is included, was also very good. When I go back to Mykonos, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lory12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We did not intend to stay at this hotel when arriving at Mykonons, but after receiving poor service from another Location in Mykonos (For Suites- See Review!) due to terrible service, it was a perfect alternative hotel to stay in Mykonos for two young travellers.
After searching late evening trying to find a hotel to stay at (with a very slow quad bike), the receptionist at the New Aeolos Hotel could not have been more welcoming and helpful. She even offered for the owner to drive us to pick up our luggage from the previous hotel, late evening and even a free lift to the airport at the end of our stay. We had the choice of three rooms all shown to us (this may have been a one of thing and may not be given to all guests booked before the arrival) which was very nice.
The rooms are basic to say the least, but very clean and secure. Unfortunately did not get a double bed, it was two singles. Air con very good and the cleaner usually left it on after cleaning the room so would be lovely and fresh when you return from a busy day exploring or long day at the beach! All rooms and all over the hotel is free wifi with the same password which is very useful.
Breakfast is a buffet style and we were greater every morning by the staff very friendly, and offered any assistance if needed. The food was nice depending on what you pay, have a variety of food that will hopefully fit everyones needs.
As we hired a quad bike to enable us to explore the island (Highly recommend!!!), driving to the town took about 5-10 minutes with free parking and a nice walk into the town. Our last night we walked into the town which took about 20 minutes, very easy to get too as all down hill, but would suggest another form of transport the way back. Getting a taxi wasn't the easiest as not a taxi bay you would find in most towns. We had to wait about 30 minutes for one due to others waiting before, but only €5.
Overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay near the town but not right in the busyness of it. Has lovely views and facilities including a pool and hot tub. Really good hotel if on a budget and would come back again purely because of the lovely service provided!

*Experience Tip*
- Would not book transfers if in Mykonos, many people we spoke to said how bad they're by not turning up. We did not receive our transfer from the port and from the hotel to the airport! Airport is very close and shouldn't cost too much in a taxi, but very likely the staff might offer you a ride!

Room Tip: Sea rooms have lovely view of the sunset, yet the hotel is next to a place that has a cockerel, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECEllieCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the high season period and unfortunately got stuck with this hotel due to unavailability of any of the other hotels in the area. Disappointed that we didn't get the original hotel that we hoped for, I checked out the reviews for the Hotel Aeolos and they seemed good so we agreed to go with this hotel. Be warned, the Hotel Aeolos and the New Aeolos hotel are 2 different hotels! Whilst the Hotel Aeolos seems to have great reviews, the New Aeolos hotel shouldn't be confused with this.
When we got there, the hotel lobby area is nicely decorated, leading you to believe that this standard is carried into the rooms as well. Wrong. The rooms were extremely budget and the bathroom was just as bad. We were shocked at the standard of the hotel for the money that we had spent on it. The breakfast was just as budget with stale bread, cheese and cold meat being the only options. Oh I forgot to mention the ultra stale vanilla cake too.
The location wasn't too bad, with the hotel being a 15 min walk to the main city area, unfortunately the walk back to the hotel is a steep uphill climb all the way. There are other hotels with better locations. I would suggest rather spending a bit more and going elsewhere, it's what I would do if I could do this over again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SA_Globe_Trotter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mykonos Town hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for 9 nights in June with my husband. This was our second trip to Mykonos and we decided to try a new hotel (last time we stayed at Mykonos Bay Hotel which we would highly recommend, especially if you choose a room with a sea view). We were attending a wedding on the island and had quite a few friends also staying in Mykonos that week all at different hotels which gave us a useful comparison.

Firstly, you need to be aware that this hotel is quite far away from Mykonos town – we are in our early 30s and are both fairly fit yet still the walk took at least 20 mins. We knew this before we booked and decided it wouldn’t be a major issue for us as it was such an affordable rate (we paid £70 per night). The actual distance isn’t too bad (if you look on Google maps it doesn’t seem like a long walk) but the route you have to take is a nightmare. To get into town you have to walk down a dirt track on a steep hill with very poor lighting. Every time we had to go into town (most days – sometimes even twice a day) we dreaded the walk to town and felt like we just had to ‘get it over with‘. This isn’t something that you really want to be a feature of your holiday! So I would say that is the main reason why I won’t return to stay at this hotel. You can get a taxi into town for about 5 Euros but reception weren’t always very helpful when we tried to order one. After the first few days of our trip we got so bored of doing the walk back to the hotel from town up the very steep hill that we decided to always get taxis back from town which was a great decision! But you will need to factor this in to your budget if you choose to stay here and take taxis a lot.

To summarise the rest of our thoughts on this hotel…

Good points:
-Lovely big swimming pool with a (distant) view of the sea and just enough sun beds for everyone.
-Great value if you are looking for a nice enough hotel on a budget.
-Fairly quiet – when lying by the pool it was very chilled out and peaceful except for the last few days of our trip when a large group of teenagers came to stay and made a lot of noise shouting and running around the pool area.
-Clean rooms and fresh towels every day.
-Nice balcony with sea views – however, we had a shared balcony with the room next door so if they were out on their balcony we didn’t feel like sitting out on ours as it would have been a bit like joining them at their table in a restaurant!

Bad points:
-Very uncomfortable pillows, and as is quite usual in Europe our ‘double bed’ was actually 2 single beds pushed together which is indicative of the fact it was a budget 3* hotel.
-Breakfast was terrible – a tiny selection of food and what was on offer was so basic. The milk for cereal was served hot (strange) and the rest of the food was unhealthy and unappealing.
-Reception service – there wasn’t usually anyone very helpful at reception although one lady who worked there was very nice and tried to help us with anything we needed.
-Air-con unit in our room broke down but they did fix this the same day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at the New Aeolos Hotel. First impressions were a little underwhelming, however for the price we paid we accustomed ourselves very quickly.

The pool area is beautiful (sun chairs are slightly uncomfortable after an hour). The rooms are a little distastefully decorated however i understand an older lady owns the hotel which reflects the decor. The fridge could be colder and the shower head more securely attached to the wall (it kept dropping on my head)

The staff, however, are very kind and friendly - especially Anita who tried to make our stay as comfortable as she could. It would've been nice to see a larger variety of breakfast options as well as some sort of other meal option rather than toasties and omelettes in case you wanted to have dinner at the hotel.

The hotel was still close to amenities such as mini marts, restaurants and service stations, however if you wanted to remain sweat free on a fancy night out, you will need to hire a quad bike or get a taxi into mykonos town - taxis can be a nightmare to get! We definitely experienced this on the way back from paradise beach, which in itself we found a waste of time and effort (unless you are 18)

Hope this review helps :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

On a last minute break to Mykonos we lucked upon the New Aeolos hotel. Just above the town of Mykonos and a ten minute walk in (downhill and twenty minutes back up!) with great views. The rooms are fine and very clean with good a/c. Anita on reception could not be any more helpful and the owner Anna is absolutely delightful! The pool area is great and breakfast adequate. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Petasos Town Hotel
Petasos Town Hotel
#32 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terra Maria
Terra Maria
#53 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manto Hotel
Manto Hotel
#65 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mykonos View Hotel
Mykonos View Hotel
#21 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philippi Hotel
Philippi Hotel
#41 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos

Property: New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos
Address: Argyrena Area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Aeolos Hotel Mykonos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing