We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice place, good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uno Con Carne

Uno Con Carne
Ranked #29 of 215 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$147
Cuisines: Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Nice place, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've been there last September and the place is well designed and staff is very attentive. Food is very good and dishes well executed. Atmosphere nice. No excess, no noise, just relax, music and people enjoying their dinner. Very good place in Mykonos to enjoy some good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo_Milan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    155
    60
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was on our hotel's list of places to try as well as recommended to use by a well-known jeweller. We loved it. The location was convenient in the back of town, and the courtyard was so atmospheric with coloured cushions, white chairs and grand large chairs, and can accommodate large groups as well as intimate couples. The food was very good and had lots of selection in terms of meat, seafood, sushi, etc. The service was attentive. I thought Uno Con Carne was better than M-eating; my husband rates them both 4 stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yvrgirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great place in a cozy garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to have a nice steak, food is always very nice. We've been coming with my husband here for last 4 years and every time we had a best impression! From romantic times to family dinners with our son now))

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Turtan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before going to this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The reviews for Uno Con Carne on TripAdvisor are quite mixed, and if I had read them whilst planning a special meal in Mykonos, I may well have been put off. However, the recommendation for this restaurant was given to me by the owner of the hotel I was staying in, with the assurance that a number of her clients had also loved eating there.

Uno Con Carne is right at the back end of Mykonos town. The unassuming alleyway leading down to the restaurant is one of the scruffier in town, in fact it was the only place in Mykonos where I saw graffiti on the walls. However, when you reach the end of this walkway and turn the corner into the restaurant, the contrast is absolutely stunning.

Previous recommendations of restaurants from the hotel owners had been homely, Greek, rustic dishes, in fitting surroundings. This set a precedent for other recommendations. Uno Con Carne was anything but. The courtyard restaurant is pristinely presented. My partner and I immediately asked for a table for two, without even looking over the menu. We were quickly seated towards the back of the restaurant on a raised platform, which offered an amazing view across the the other tables. I would personally recommend requesting to be seated in this area if you plan to visit the restaurant.

The menu offered a wide variety of dishes. From staple favourites, to unusual combinations of Greek flavours. The price was reasonable, equal to what I would expect to pay for a top end steak in the UK, roughly Gaucho prices. Just one point regarding the steaks - the sauces are pre-assigned to the cut according to the menu, but the waiter was more than happy to let us make our own combinations. The wine list was substantial, as was the cocktails list - however as my partner wasn't drinking for the duration of our holiday I opted for a glass of house red which was certainly the best house wine I had in Mykonos.

Taking a glance at other tables, the sushi from the adjoined Japanese restaurant looked incredible, and will definitely be something that I try next time I'm in town.

Service is always of an incredibly high standard in Mykonos, however the staff at Uno Con Carne appeared to hit the balance perfectly. They were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable - however were not overbearing or too pushing with topping up the water every 5 minutes. They also had a system with waiting staff bringing dishes to the table staff, so your waiter for the evening was never too far away to fix any problems.

I will definitely be visiting Uno Con Carne again when I visit Mykonos. It was easily the best meal of the holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A "Cosmopolitan" Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Always nice to visit this restaurant and its beautiful courtyard and also nice to remember the days when it was functioning as "Cleopatras' Pool" (although there was never anything related to Cleopatra and the pool does not exist anymore). The food is very good indeed (both meat and fish courses) although it is quite expensive even for Mykonos-standards. Staff is polite and always willing to explain and suggest courses of a more reasonable cost if somebody does not want to exaggerate in ordering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uno Con Carne also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Uno Con Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing