We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD START TO A HOLIDAY”
Review of Bakalo

Bakalo
Ranked #18 of 216 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Newly born Greek Eatery in downtown Mykonos, Bakaló is a casual chic diner with retro decorative touches reminiscent of a Greek bistro of a bygone era but with modern flair. Its menu is a tribute to traditional Greek home cooking and is prepared using only fresh local ingredients; its friendly service and prices make it ideal for alfresco dining and people watching.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD START TO A HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Traditionally we love to get somewhere, drop the bags off, and together go get something to eat and drink by the sea. We hadn't checked trip advisor and came across this wandering around town.

Out simply this hit the spot.

Waiting staff friendly but not overpowering. The food was a good size, and cooked well. Salad fresh and tasty and skewers very reasonable and again really tasty. THE thing here are the chips .... Quality.

All this and we paid €35 with tip, half carafe of wine, and a very cold beer and as I write this 5 hours later I'm still full. Oh and yes superb views over the harbour. If you're coming stick it in the diary

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    203
    80
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy little place with great service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The place is difficult to find, we had to ask a few people until they directed us towards the general area of the restaurant. There is a Haagen Dazs store right across from it, it may be helpful if you are going to ask for directions.

We were given an excellent table, right by the narrow street and enjoyed our time there. Bear in mind that this is not a seaside restaurant, the only view you will get is that of the street, which is great with all kinds of people walking by. All the waiters were great, some of the best we encountered in Mykonos. They spoke very good English, were very cordial and never overwhelming. The food is good but not breathtaking. They have a different version of stuffed calamari which is worth trying if you are into varieties of Greek classics. Price level is average Mykonos, meaning more expensive than the rest of Greek islands, yet, not so high as to make you run for the nearest ATM. Keep in mind, hat's a small restaurant, you may need a reservation if you want to go in the busy hours, which is pretty much until the wee hours of the morning.

Enjoy

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank OzaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant greek flavours with a twist”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Went back to Bakalo this year as we loved it so much last year. The food continues to be delicioous. Greek traditional cuisine, great flavours very elegently put together ,. You can taste the fresh produce and herbs ,.. I love it ,. reasonable priced ,.. service was very attentive.. look forward to going back next year ,..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alekak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We went to this place based off the recommendations- the service was fantastic, which was so nice to encounter as we'd we had some pretty rude experiences during our overall stay.

We got a selection of entrees and shared them between us as recommended by the waiter- was a good way to get a real taste and variety of the food- definitely try the pancetta and meatballs entrées, full of flavor and cooked perfectly!

Helpful?
Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lugano
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good Greek cuisine with a Twist”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Bravo! Had our first dinner in the Cyclades @Bakalo' and really appreciated some classic tastes with beautiful flavors made in a modern, light and 'natural' way. The service was discrete and efficient and the suggestions we got were perfect. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakalo also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Bakalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing