We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious over priced restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catari Ristorante Italiano

Catari Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #39 of 215 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Mykonos Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretentious over priced restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Please don't be taken in by the hype and "we import everything from Italy" rubbish. This is a place where the food is average best, the service simply terrible and the waiters simply do nothing but try and look gorgeous without having to do any work! The prices are simply not justifiable and there is NO atmosphere. When one orders two starters one cold and the the other hot why not wait until the hot one is brought rather than plonk it on the table and look smug. How long does it take for two pizzas to come? Try this for size, they have a large TV showing old Italian films, we managed to get through 1 1/2 Sophia Loren films before getting pizzas! That is no joke but the restaurant certainly is. Never again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MykonosRestaurateur, Owner at Catari Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Catari. We are sorry your experience with us was not at the level of your expectations.
In your review unfortunately there is only a generic reference to what you ordered, without reference to the quality of what you ate, a generic reference to prices, a generic reference to our service and a ridiculous reference to time to get served two pizzas. We do not think that your generic comments deserve a detailed reply; the ridiculous comment on the time to be served a pizza (the duration of 1 and ½ movie i.e.2,30 hours!) speaks by itself ….. I think nobody realistically can believe it to be true! The only comment that deserves a reply is your insulting reference to the “we import everything from Italy rubbish”. We certainly work with first quality ingredients and wines, most of them directly imported by us from Italy, and having an all Italian team in the kitchen has a corresponding cost (and a corresponding result in the flavors of our dishes), as our (real) customers know.
Your comment seems so intentionally and viciously untrue, not to speak about its wording, that it seriously raises some concerns about the authenticity of the review. In fact, as they say in my country, to have a suspicious mind you commit a mortal sin, but most of the times you are right …… And given the generic terms in your review and the fact that this is your only contribution certainly raise some doubts …..
In any case, would you intend to write some other reviews in the future (we wonder if that will happen by the way …), keep in mind that they are particularly useful to business and certainly to readers if they make clear reference to what eventually wrong, so that the appropriate measures could be applied. Generic, vague, succinct comments (as in your review on Catari) do not help business owners to improve their quality, nor readers to make their choice, and could even raise concerns about the reliability and authenticity of the review, especially when formulated by a one time contributor. We would encourage you therefore to be less generic in your comments in your next reviews so that Tripadvisor could continue to be the fantastic tool we all know ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    116
    39
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS, GREECE
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sofia, Gina, Claudia ......there are all there!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

You have to try black truffle pastas! A genuine Italian oasis of great food and greater wine selection. Booking is a must because it is always full. A beautiful courtyard with a tv that shows old Italian movies. A little expensive, but worth feeling in Toscana!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IZABELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were there in june, we ordered pasta and pizza.
The restaurant is pretty and cozy. Good service, though was a bit disturding refilling us the water all the time.
The pizza was amazing, pasta was good. We ordered some coctails, which i didnt enjoyed at all.
Its a bit overpriced i think.
Cant blaim the location, it was breezy nice atmosphere, good service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EviLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Two out of three happy but still too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Italian restaurant looks more like a chic, courtyard café. It has lots of style and the waiters and maître d (the owner?) are stylish and discreet. The food was mostly excellent - a delicious prawn tagliatelle with cream and black truffle and a fresh, crammed calzone. The chicken fillet was less good - herb flavour so strong as to taste medicinal, too little sauce and soggy, rather tasteless potatoes which were not sautéed as described on the menu. And the prices were again Myko-crazy - 13€ for a bottle of beer, 17€ for the calzone etc etc...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capriwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surely good pizza every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Everytime I come to Mykonos, I come to this restaurant to eat my wonderful pizza. This time we went twice. Always perfect, delicious pizzas, salads and other dishes. I definitely recommend this place if you want to surely eat good food in your Mykonos trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MypatBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catari Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Agios Ioannis Diakoftis, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Catari Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing