We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen”
Review of Alemagou Beach Bar

Alemagou Beach Bar
Ranked #35 of 222 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nice piece on the establishment: http://pursuitist.com/epicurean/alemagou-bar-and-restaurant-on-mykonos-tranquil-ftelia-beach/
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Zen”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I waited months to finally eat at this resto. I visited their awesome website so much leading upto my Mykonos trip. Thankfully, it did not disappoint. Getting here on my atv was very tricky. We had to ask for directions a few times but the Greeks are very helpful fortunately. Once there I felt like I was in a different world. So serene and zen. They play some awesome mellow music and all the waiters are beautiful. Food was so delicious! I had a chicken dish and it was cooked perfectly. The manager was friendly and chatted with us. He even gave us a second round of drinks on the house. The decor of this place is so simple and brilliant. Make sure you check out the bathroom too. Great food, drinks, service and ambiance! I'd definitely come back here and stay longer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 78MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    51
    27
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quite and secret place”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A must go in the north of the island. Tranquil with own beach. Perfect to eat and chill in the afternoon or just for havin' a glass of wine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pfkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super cool.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

First heard about this place from the blog a diary of lovely. Stopped by for a drink and snack while out exploring the island. The road to it is rough. Rent a car or quad. The stuffed tomatoes were amazing and the beer and service hit the spot. Could spend a whole day lounging here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinaffox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food. Though we were scarred by a bad wedding experience with the owner”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The positives:

Great, great food - without doubt one of the top 5 restaurants for food the island. Properly delicious. Also a gorgeously designed restaurant, giving off a sense of Ibiza chic + laid-back cool, with a top soundtrack to match. Finally, the restaurant overlooks its own stretch of private beach, which is really nice.

The negatives:

Firstly, some pretty abysmal customer service. We'd booked into Alemagou for our pre-wedding rehearsal dinner in late September (the end of the season in Mykonos). 4 weeks before the wedding, the Alemagou manager rang us up to say he was cancelling our booking, because they'd decided at the last minute to close the restaurant early for the season. This would have been understandable had we had a few months' more notice. As it was, giving us only 4 weeks to rearrange all our plans for the entire wedding party was pretty shoddy behaviour. We were deeply, deeply frustrated.

Other negatives include the fact that Alemagou is located on the windy north side of the island, where the (VERY strong) cycladian winds blow hardest. This means lots of litter / trash gets blown into this area. As a result, the winding 5 minute drive from the main road down to Alemagou is pretty unromantic, covered as it is with piles of stray litter blown by the wind, which the restaurant doesn't seem to bother clearing up.

Overall? Exceptional food & nice location (if you can ignore the drive to get there). However, our dealings with them left a sour taste in our mouth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Collterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Holidays”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It was one of the best experiences of 2012!! The architectural design of the place is by far one of the best of such places.. The people r very nice there, the atmosphere is unique and during the sunset hours u have to b either crazy or having deep psycological problems if u do not have a great time. The food this year was considerably improved impressing even people with high standards.. like the sea bass carpaccio, the unique steaned mussels and the lobster linguini. As for the environment, just try it and u ll forget that there r other places in Mykonos!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alemagou Beach Bar also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Alemagou Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing