We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fantastic location”
Review of Aegean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aegean Hotel
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I can highly recommend this hotel, the service is excellent, location is only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town and it offers a great seaview from your balcony or restaurant, the rooms are in excellent condition and spotless, the ladies in reception get out of their way to help,I had a great time in Mykonos and the location of this hotel is very good as is quiet but close to the action. i will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beatriztrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Aegean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hi! I would highly recommend this nice little hotel to everyone who seeks original genuine greek hospitality. I've been to places. But I have never ever experienced more genuine people in a very touristy place like this. Everyone is trying to do the best to keep the customer satisfied. The Hotel itself is a very nice greek family owned lovely building with an awsome view all over the sea and the city. It's about 10 min walk from the hora/towncenter. If you want to check out all the beaches you're doing well hiring a car. Don't take a bike - very dangerous!!! I would check into the hotel anytime again! I love this place.

Room Tip: No matter which room you take. it's all all right.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights from 29th of July because of all the reviews we read.It is remarkable with all the travel we do around the Globe, this hotel stands out for its motto."arrive as a stranger, leave as a friend"!! Anna and Yiannis the owners are lovely couple.This is a professional outfit like no other.Well done indeed!We will be back soon.Great stay.Could not fault it!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Positive:
The Hotel has a nice view from the roof pool and from the front rooms.
Emplyeers are really helpfull. Every day u get fresh beach towels. They offer breakfast, but I never use that.
There is quite enough parking space for the car, I never had problem to find a slot.
The Hotel its quite near to down town, even there is walking of 10min.

Negative:
There are two categories of rooms: the nice and quite space full rooms with sea view and balcony and the small and dark rooms, with almost no sun light. Those rooms are horrible!
No WiFi at the rooms or at the pool.

I would not choose or recomand this Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuckySleven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed one week at this hotel as I booked last minute and there were no other hotels available in the high season Mykonos. We were given a small double room at first that I asked to be moved from as we were 2 girls. The reception lady then moved us to a twin room which was smelling like mould and smoke! I am super allergic to smoke so I had to take loratadine pills before going to sleep otherwise I would cough all night long. The room walls were painted hospital green, and the energy outlets were coming of the wall. The bathroom was small and the shower curtains stained. The other bad point was the access to the hotel which although not far from downtown, demanded that you shared the road with speeding cars and motorbikes while avoiding to be ran over. The positive point of the hotel is the rooftop pool which is quite nice and the service. Otherwise, if you have the financial means, stay at Porto Mykonos or at Psarou beach where you can hang out at Nammos!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotterFromRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I decided to get out of athens and go to Mykonos for a short stay last week on short notice. We hadn't arranged pick up from the airport so we had some difficulty finding the hotel as the address was not very specific and the hotel has no signage out the front. After asking at 3 different places we finally found a local tour operator who w able to give us some good directions.

The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and the rooms whilst fairly simple have a lovely rustic island charm. If your looking for 5 star this is not the hotel for you but if your happy with a nice clean room with a great ocean view and friendly service this will suit most island hoppers. The hotel provides towels for the pool and trips to the beach, breakfast is pretty good and they will provide transfers to and from the airport on request. WiFi is available in the lounge / breakfast room area. My only criticism would be the beds, the mattress was pretty darn hard so if you don't like a really firm mattress then I would recommend a couple of extra glasses of local vino or masticha with dinner to help you sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Aegean is definitely a good bet for anyone looking for a friendly, reasonably-priced hotel that's walking distance from town with a great view.

First impression:
Before even checking in, standing in the lobby after an early-morning charter flight, I had a glass of water pressed into my hand with a smile. This was typical of the family-style friendliness of the place.

Did not encounter any of the unfriendliness mentioned in reviews from a couple of years ago; things seem to have changed for the better. Asked to change rooms, and though I had to wait a day, it was no problem at all.

Rooms:
relatively simple but comfortable. All front-facing rooms have a spectacular view over the bay where the cruise ships anchor, and a few can even see the town. One small downside: the bathrooms range from small to tiny.

Location:
Top of the hill in Tagoo. The bus stop for Elia Beach and a good convenience store are about 5-6 mins walk down the hill from the hotel. Another 5-6 mins further and you are in the heart of the town. The uphill walk home can seem long if you've had a late night.

Pool:
sheltered, panorama view, with plenty of sunshades. Fine for an off day when you don't feel like trekking to one of the beaches, or for an early evening plunge.

Breakfast:
the website says American buffet but it's more of a European one. Rolls, breads, cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon, lot of cold-cuts, juices plus coffee and tea.

Clientele:
The week I was there (late August 2009) it was a mix of couples, straight and gay, mostly package tour bookers. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere. Did not see anyone with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EasygoingGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Madalena Hotel
Madalena Hotel
#44 of 82 in Mykonos Town
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mykonos View Hotel
Mykonos View Hotel
#25 of 82 in Mykonos Town
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gorgona
Hotel Gorgona
#34 of 82 in Mykonos Town
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Mykonos Hotel
Porto Mykonos Hotel
#58 of 82 in Mykonos Town
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#42 of 82 in Mykonos Town
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Hotel

Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £25 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aegean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aegean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing