We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No longer used but nice views”

Armenistis Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.61*
and up
Mykonos Wine and Culture Tour
Ranked #11 of 54 things to do in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
holt
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“No longer used but nice views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We drove to the old lighthouse, we did not know it was no longer in use and were surprised to see it all rusty and abandoned. We walked around the outside and enjoyed the views.
As it was springtime there were lots of wild flowers coming out and butterflies and the odd lizard sunning them self's on the warm rocks.
Nice if you want to get away and enjoy the countryside and the views to the nearby islands.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellaHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    68
    39
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Trip Out and the Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The trip up to the Armenistis Lighthouse was very cool and wound us through a few little towns. the drive provided great views of Mykonos Town and the ports along the shore. The lighthouse is abandoned but it is still a substantial structure. We really enjoyed the ride and the views once we got there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank APR2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Abandoned and in Disrepair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Expecting something rather magnificent, we traveled all the way to the north point of the island to find the light house. Wasn't really worth the effort. The glass on it is shattered, the lighthouse is falling apart and everything is locked up. I really expected more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loved the drive up here more maybe than the actual view from the top. It's nothing spectacular, but it's a nice change of scenery from all the beaches. If you're in a car you'll end up hiking up some steep hills. A quad will make it up just fine so I would take one of those.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cfenn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It's an awesome sight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It's worth the trip just for the view. You end up on a cliffside looking south down toward the old town of Mykonos and northwest across the sea to the neighboring island of Tinos. Below you see vast stretches of the Aegean, running off toward other islands, the sea dotted with what look to be toy boats dodging cotton balls on a blue table top. The lighthouse is rundown and there's no way to get inside, but who cares with that view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffsiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armenistis Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Armenistis Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing