We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Philippi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Philippi Hotel
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
conegliano
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A really nice stay in Mykonos. This is a well run family hotel in the center of chora. Nice, clean, close to all the night attraction of the island. The room was spacious, full of light with AC TV Coffee for free. It was my 10th time in the island but it was my best stay. During the night it's hard to sleep before 2 o'clock, it's very noisy... but this is Mykonos! If you're too old, and you don't want to live the nightlife you can sleep with a bit of AC.

Room Tip: room n.13 is one of the best, room 14 is on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandropado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    64
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
77
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in total. Two nights there were 2 of us in a twin and then we were joined on the third night by my sister. The hotel owners had agreed to put an extra bed in our room for only 15euro extra a night.
The hotel owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was lovely and the view of the garden, amazing! The hotel is in a great spot, right in the heart of the streets! It's about a 5 minute walk at the most to the harbour front.
My mum left her battery charger in the room and the owner forwarded it on to us in Naxos very quickly. He was fab!
Can't speak highly enough about this hotel. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just returned from our 5th visit to Mykonas and we would certainly rank this hotel as the best yet. Christos and his wife made us feel so very welcome and couldn't do enough for us to ensure we enjoyed our stay. This hotel is a little gem, spotlessly clean rooms with lovely balconies, all overlooking the unique and beautyful garden. If your wanting good, clean centally located accommodation, that won't cost you a fortune, then this is the place, we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Milward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Philippi is a place out of a dream...partly because all of Mykonos Town is like a dream! The owners of the hotel, Chris and his wife, make you feel like family. Make sure to visit Chris' brother's restaurant, around "the corner", called Philippi Gardens. You won't be disappointed! Although there is a party going on all night a few streets away, you won't really hear much noise as Philippi is a bit off the main "drag".

If you arrive at the new port (you will know that it's the old port because it will feel like it's far away from town), you can take a bus to the Old Port, or to the bus station. The directions that Chris will give you when you reserve your room work MUCH better if you come from the old port. We took the bus to the bus station, which is on the edge of the chora, and had to navigate the maze of pathways, eventually finding Philippi. A map doesn't help much...just ask people and they will help you as you drag your wheelie bag along the cobble-stoned paths.

The rooms are basic, and the whole place is clean and well-kept. The true star of the hotel is the location (unbeatable) and the garden in the back of the property. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you; you will probably be happier at a resort property. But if you plan to spend most of your time exploring the town and taking excursions around the island and over to Delos, this is your place!

The Greeks are warm, friendly, wonderful people, and those on Mykonos are no exception! Everyone seems to be in a good humor, even while getting "lost" in the maze that is the chora. After a day of wandering, you will feel like a expert, recognizing landmarks like restaurants, plants, that pink bathing suit in the window, and even certain people who always seem to be at the same spot each day (usually shopkeepers). Cats are ubiquitous on Greek islands, and of course they are all over Mykonos, so if you are a cat lover, this will be heaven for you.

The boats to Delos are near the waterfront, where some wonderful restaurants are, and you will find yourself drawn to this part of the island quite a bit. There is a small family oriented beach here as well, or you can take the bus to one of the "party beaches". A short walk away is Little Venice and the windmills...be sure to spend at least one evening here to witness the gorgeous sunset. Delos is not to be missed, and just the boat ride over is a relaxing experience.

I traveled to Mykonos to with my daughter to celebrate her 19th birthday, but I will be sure to come back with my husband. And, we will most likely stay at the Hotel Philippi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden if you love peaceful gardens, but if you like to watch the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Our room was perfect for our few nights in Mykonos. The location is right in the middle of Mykonos Town and walking distance to everything. We spent some time relaxing in the beautiful courtyard. Very Greek with the blue doors and windows and white building.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaserati
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We found this place according to our 'lonely planet' suggestion and it was defenitely the right choice.
The rooms are rather small, but very clean and they have all you need (AC, safebox, hairdrier, TV). Ask for room 13 :), it has a great balcony!
The location is just fantastic, on a small street just of mantoiannis and very close to the Delhos boat stop / bus stops and taxi ranks.
The personell was very friendly and they even offered us to use the shower and bathroom facilities after we checked out, since we had a 2am ferry to catch.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The hotel is very centrally located on one of the many winding walking streets of Mykonos. The room was nicer than expected for the price, lovely blue and white paint, picture perfect balcony with french doors. We're not big partiers (we were here to go to Delos), but this hotel was quiet and picture perfect. Romance for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carbonaki
Hotel Carbonaki
#39 of 82 in Mykonos Town
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#45 of 82 in Mykonos Town
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terra Maria
Terra Maria
#64 of 82 in Mykonos Town
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nazos Hotel
Nazos Hotel
#31 of 82 in Mykonos Town
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andromeda Residence
Andromeda Residence
#52 of 82 in Mykonos Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippi Hotel

Property: Philippi Hotel
Address: 25 Kalogera, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Philippi Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1964, Philippi Hotel is a family style hotel located in the heart of Mykonos town, next to the most exclusive cultural and commercial sites. Its colourful garden and cleanliness make it stand out and be considered as one of the most popular hotels of his class. With their long experience, the owners dedicate themselves to the guests and ensure that they live the Mykonos experience the best way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Philippi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippi Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing