We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant and Nice Hotel.”
Review of Philippi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Philippi Hotel
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during August and had a comfortable and pleasant time. The hotel's location is central with everything within walking distance. We used the bus service to get to the beaches and this was easy and cheap. Apparenty there are no double bed rooms and we had 2 single beds placed together. Overall the hotel is very clean and comfortable and the owners are pleasant and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

One of my favourite things about Mykonos is getting lost amidst its narrow alleys and cobble stone pathways not knowing what you may stumble upon next, as it almost feels as though something new is waiting for you at every corner; so when I had the chance to visit the island again with a friend this past August, we decided on Hotel Philippi sheerly based on its location in the centre of town.

From the looks of various maps, as well as photos online, it appeared that Philippi was one of the classic blue and white buildings located in the middle of these famous winding paths, which is exactly what we were looking for.

Upon arriving to the island, we realized that this was truly the case, as it was a bit of a maze even trying to find the place, as the only way to get there, especially with luggage, is by foot (for those who are not familiar with the island, the alleys and pathways of Mykonos are just not wide enough to support regular sized vehicles); however, the people on the island were more than happy to point us in the right direction.

Hotel Philippi is located on Kalogera street, which is also home to various cafes, restaurants ('Maereio' is definitely one worth checking out), shops, and even a unique art gallery called "Rarity Gallery" (www.raritygallery.com) located directly across the street.

The hotel itself has a classic blue and white Grecian look, and is also home to one of the largest gardens on the island. Although the rooms are very small, quite basic and a little out-dated in terms of decor, they include a shower, hair dryer, mini fridge, telephone, air conditioning, complimentary wi-fi, television and even an electric kettle for coffee and tea. Our room also had a quaint little balcony which overlooked the garden. I would say if you are looking for luxury, this is definitely not the place; but if location is important and you are planning on spending your time getting lost on the island and enjoying all it has to offer, I would definitely recommend Hotel Philippi as the location is absolutely perfect! It's within walking distance of Little Venice and the famous windmills where some of the most breathtaking sunsets can be viewed, the port, taxi stand (in Manto square), and even the bus station which is key for getting around to the various beaches. And if the winding roads ever tire you out, you can easily get back to the hotel to recharge before heading out again, as let's face it, Mykonos is not an island that sleeps!

Overall, I was quite satisfied with my stay at Hotel Philippi, and I would definitely recommend it to those who literally want to be just 'steps away' from all the island has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Athena20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If I ever go back to Mykonos (which I doubt, to many people, to much commerce - and to much wind) I would definitely stay at Philippi. Right in the centre, still quiet. Liked the rooms and the atmosphere. Nice, helpful staff. Too expensive compared with other islands, but that's Mykonos for you. Twice the prices on everything. But it's pittoresque and If you get up (fairly) early, when all the people still sleep, you'll be able to see the town. A trip to Delos should be included, it's on UNESCO's World Heritage List. And try other islands, like Ikaria and Syros.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was a nice hotel right in the middle of Mykonos Town. It is in a fairly quiet street considering the location surrounded by all the bars, restaurants and clubs of the old town. The building is beautiful and impeccably kept. The management is very friendly and attentive. The only complain I have is the beds. It is time that hotels on Greece start buying some Queen size beds at least! For the price you pay for a room you expect to have ONE bed for your romantic traveling. What they do here is put two twin size beds together, each with its own frame, so there is an approximately 4 inch gap between you and your partner...needless to say, not too romantic. Besides the bed situation, this is a perfect hotel to relax and rest from the fun, busy and noisy nights of Mykonos.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms with Street-view, they are larger and the view is unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Excelent location in the old center of mykonos!!! Greec atmosfere!!! In the heart of the city near main cafes, bakerys and nightclub and at the same time silent and pleasure place with gorgeous garden :) Near to all bus station and old port so excellent and easy to go for everywhere, and to the beaches. Excelent breakfast, staff and room. Excelent cost/benefit recommend!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with private balcony to the city!!! its gorgeous :) you you feel old center atmosfere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stecnogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We chose the hotel based on location and price. It's right in the centre, near all restaurants and bars. The hotel has a beautiful garden: its a nice place to relax.

The rooms are simple and clean. However, everything was a bit out-dated and the bed seemed to be too old with a very hard mattress. In fact our room and bathroom needed a renovation, especially the shower (the curtain did not stay in place).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was my second time at Philippi and I utterly love it.
I love the owners, the location, the rooms, the garden and the value for money!
My sister joined us in Mykonos as a surprise to me and the owners were extremely accommodating, helpful and really got on board with helping to keep it a secret. They were fabulous!
I honestly can't recommend this hotel enough.
Hopefully I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#66 of 82 in Mykonos Town
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#40 of 82 in Mykonos Town
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carbonaki
Hotel Carbonaki
#36 of 82 in Mykonos Town
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Terra Maria
Terra Maria
#64 of 82 in Mykonos Town
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofia Village
Sofia Village
#54 of 82 in Mykonos Town
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippi Hotel

Address: 25 Kalogera, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Hotel Class:1 star — Philippi Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1964, Philippi Hotel is a family style hotel located in the heart of Mykonos town, next to the most exclusive cultural and commercial sites. Its colourful garden and cleanliness make it stand out and be considered as one of the most popular hotels of his class. With their long experience, the owners dedicate themselves to the guests and ensure that they live the Mykonos experience the best way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Philippi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippi Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing