We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view, accommodating staff, and a laid back atmosphere”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Breathtaking view, accommodating staff, and a laid back atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

A group of 9 friends and I visited Alkyon last month and had the most amazing time! Upon our arrival, Sophia and her brother picked us up from the marina to shuttle us back to the hotel and were incredibly inviting from the start. Sophia set us up in our rooms and suggested places to eat (Alexis was one, is within walking distance, and quickly became our favorite) and modes of transportation. We opted for ATVs (a great way to see the town and cheaper than cabs, etc) and she quickly set us with a very near by vendor. The entire stay was just as accommodating as the first day! The amount of love that the family puts into their hotel is admirable and should be commended.

Our trip was very short but our rooms were very clean, the hospitality was amazing, and the staff was accommodating. The sunset is one of the most amazing I've ever seen; the pool was the perfect hang out for us during our down time; and waking up with breakfast on the balcony was a perfect. start to the day. This hotel comes highly recommended by myself and the 9 others I traveled with. If I ever make it back to Mykonos, I will definitely be staying at Alkyon as well as recommending it to all friends and family! THanks to Sophia and her family for everything-- it's greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLdancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    166
    35
    6
    13
See reviews for
72
380
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

To anyone who says "This is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in in!", I have one thing to say to you:

"You need to get out more......."

Having travelled extensively, I can honestly say that i have never come across a WORSE ATTITUDE at any hotel, anywhere in the world........

The view from the pool was the best thing about the place. The rest was very poor......Sadly, the view from OUR room resembled a bad day in Beirut......

The Alkyon was expensive by Greek standards, but nothing prepared us for the sheer bloody mindedness of the arrogant young woman who ran the hotel for her parents. Despite staying 11 days (and new rooms becoming available every day) the so called "wonderful Sofia" refused to move us from our cramped room with shoddy bathroom and "waste-tip" view for our entire stay. Her attitude was inhospitable, arrogant, cold and unwelcoming...

When my friend asked if she was indeed the celebrated "Sofia" mentioned by so many reviews on this site, she denied it........She even denied who she was to our British travel agent, who called up from London, horrified that we were being treated so badly....Believe me, she was Sofia.

The Alkyon's website claims that "All rooms have views." As our experience proved, this is completely untrue......Thus it contravenes all the Trade Descriptions Acts right across the globe...

The breakfast every day was naff...tinned peaches, rubbery "joke-looking", unappetising scrambled eggs - not even the ability to toast some bread! Bare minimum, no effort put in, boring in the extreme...

When we visited the hotel down the road (same price) it proved such a stark contrast, in its warm welcome and smiling faces, that it almost reduced us to tears.......we ended up feeling like abused children, who didn't know why they were being treated so appallingly.....

Bottom line is that Sofia was overstretched and over stressed. As paying customers, we were treated with disdain. It left a very bad taste in the mouth, and not a great memory of the island. Shame, because it remains one of the most beautiful places on this earth. But gorgeous scenery alone, does not make a holiday....... Hotel Hospitality is paramount on any trip...

In all honesty, The Alkyon is probably the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. The people running it appeared miserable most of the time and looked like they're doing customers a favour. There is no big welcome, very little courtesy. It actually made me question reviews on this website....because none of it rings true!

Spend your money at The Alkyon at your own risk. There are many other fine and welcoming hotels on Mykonos where you'll be treated much bettter.....You have been warned.....Oh and for the record, we weren't the only people complaining...there was a steady queue of disgruntled guests at Sofia's desk most days.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I stayed at the Alkyon for 19 fantastic days and as always my feedback is nothing but positive, a few people staying at the hotel were also regulars who agreed the Alkyon is like your home away from home…… except with an amazing view!!!!!

From reading those “few” not so positive reviews, I can’t help feel those people were expecting the Hilton. Having seen many hotels in Mykonos within the same price/location as the Alkyon, I can tell you now nothing comes close to what Sophia and her family offer, a personalised and friendly service and a superb hotel.

For those people that booked through their travel agent, we all know what they promise is not always what we get!!!! and those who comment how steep the inconvenient the walk is to town “you can’t have the best of both worlds” either you want an amazing view or be stuck in town with the hustle and bustle and continuous noise from party goers at 5am!!!

The Alkyon has a great breakfast which you can enjoy overlooking beautiful Mykonos town, they also offer menus behind the desk where you can order in lunch/dinner from various restaurants (FYI the Obati menu is awesome and Alexis gyros are great value) convenient if you don’t wish to walk TWO minutes up the road to the corner kiosk or Blue Ginger Thai restaurant for food……but for those that want more variety yes you need to walk down the hill into town. PS: you can always catch a taxi back if you can’t be bothered walking?

There is a bus which stops right outside the hotel and Sophia can hook you up with companies to get a car or scooter, which I highly recommended.

The rooms are traditionally decorated: white walls create a clean and fresh feel, with modern furnishings. The room was always cleaned immaculately, the housekeepers are lovely….. they will even quickly clean over your room should you wish stay in (maybe from partying too hard the night before)

The pool has been fitted out with a bar and additional deck chairs which were extra comfortable, we never had a problem getting a spot to sunbake all day and watch the spectacular sunsets that can’t fail to give you goose bumps.

The internet is great, very speedy and I never had to wait long to use it – they even have a lounge area where you can relax watching the plasma tv, should you wish to get out of your room for a bit. I can’t wait to return and would like to thank Sophia, George and Maria for another amazing stay………..the Alkyon is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Alkyon is listed as a 4 star hotel, but it is actually much better. Situated a short taxi ride, or a steep walk from the town, it overlooks the town, harbour and the Agean sea- all to savour over an excellent breakfast on the large balcony. The hotel has a lovely well maintained pool, again with those stunning views, and a pool bar. The rooms are air conditioned, tastefuly furnshed, & are kept clean by trusted friendly staff
As a famliy run hotel you really cant go wrong. Sophia is fantastic, a font of all knowledge, who will help you with all your enquries about the Island, likewise you will meet her mother and father, who are also available to make your stay memorable . In summary you wont go wrong with this choice , family, gay and singles are welcome. just enjoy

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel for 11 nights. I travelled with another female friend who arranged the holiday through a travel agent in London. We paid in advance and it was not cheap. We were really looking forward to the holiday, my friend had a very hard winter nursing her very ill husband. It looked fantastic on the website and all the reviews talked about the wonderful Sophia and family. The hotel website states that all the rooms have sea views.

We arrived mid evening and were given a very bland welcome from a young lady - surely this could not be the hostess. We were shown to a small room at the back of the hotel with no window, only french windows looking on to waste ground and a private house. A tiny shower room and no bath. Two single beds pushed together on a double headboard. We had requested two beds preferably 2 double beds. We made it clear that this was not the room we were expecting and that we had expected that we would have a sea view and a bath. The young lady assured us that she would sort it out the next day but that we would have to stay in this room for that night only.

The next day we were shown a room in an annex of an inferior standard. It had a bath and a side view of the sea. This room was practically on a main road - noisy, dusty etc. We made it very clear that this was unacceptable and that we were very disappointed. She suggested that we find another hotel. From this point the attitude of the young lady who turned out to be Sophia was very negative. She made us feel totally unwelcome and very uncomfortable. Most visitors to the hotel were there for 3 or 4 days - we were there for 11 days and she had the opportunity to recover the situation at any point by moving us to a room with a nice view. It was not a lot to ask as most rooms had balconies or terraces with a lovely view of the sea. We were 2 ladies in our 50's who were looking for a relaxing holiday including spending time in our room and having a glass of wine on the balcony etc. Instead we felt we were being punished for asking for what we expected. We asked everyday for the first week if there was an opportunity to be moved to a new room. The answer was always no.

The hotel is in a stunning location with a magnificent view over Mykonos town. We did have a very poor experience but other guests commented on the fact that Sophia was exhausted and snapped at guests because she was tired and was running the place solo with the help of her parents. Maybe they need to invest in more hired help. Hotels need good staff who make the guests welcome. We may have got off to a bad start by complaining but then we were the paying customer. Alkyon could have rescued the situation but the dug their heels in and refused, leaving us to lanquish at the back of the hotel like 2nd class citizens.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

In our 6 weeks of travel, and having stayed in some very nice accommodation, the Alkyon rates as one of the best. When we researched accommodation on Mykonos, we were attracted to Alkyon by the positive reviews, the panoramic views and the reasonable price, we were not disappointed. The hospitality was as good as it gets. The family who run the Alykon, know how to run a business. We loved the breakfasts (included in price) from the hotel balcony and lazing by the beautiful pool, and in both cases being able to take in the great the views over Mykonos town and port. Being at the top of the hill over looking the town, there was a bit of an incline just below the hotel however it wasn't too steep and the walking track next to the hotel got you into the centre of the town in under 10 minutes. We enjoyed the walk, particularly the lower end as you walk through typical Mykonos postcard alley ways. When we checked out, we left our bags in the hotel's storage room, returning later in the day for a free lift to the ferry. Hotel had free internet access with both wifi and PC in the lounge/bar area. Our only cricisim, though minor, was that the room lacked a fridge. Overall though an excellent hotel. Looking forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Before staying at Alykon I studied all the travel websites to ensure I found the perfect place for myself and group of friends to stay for 1 week in Mykonos.. All the reviews raved about this place and we were not dissapointed. The hotel is family run by Sophia and her parents George & Maria which makes your stay ever so special. All requests are met with a genuine smile and willigness to help. The hotel pool is gorgeous if you don't want to venture to the beaches.The rooms are clean and serviced daily and in my opinion offer you all you need for your stay in Mykonos. I would suggest to book the suites as the room are huge with a gorgeous balcony over the Mykonos town. Thank you to Alykon family for a memorable stay.. Hope to see you again soon! Fiona and crew from Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
70.1 mi away
Andronikos Hotel
Andronikos Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing