We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just brilliant and away from the party goers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Matina
Ranked #46 of 63 Mykonos Town B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just brilliant and away from the party goers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nice people, nice place and although its away from the partying, its close enough to the food and culture on offer. The staff are excellent. The rooms are fantastic. The view is splendid! The best hotel I have stayed in while at Mykonos!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    21
    15
    17
See reviews for
14
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Friendly owners, free transfer, spacious rooms, not too clean but hey it's a cheap little pension :) really nice pool and not too far from the town. With a scooter it was a 5 minutes drive. Overall it was a very nice stay and the owners were friendly and available when we needed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otero F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked for 3 nights through "booking.com". The most expensive fare in our entire trip to Cyclades.
The room was supposed to overlook the pool and we specifically asked for twin beds.
When we arrived at the hotel, our room overlooked the parking lot and the busy road, and we had a queen size bed. We went to the reception to complain, and were (very aggressively) replied that "the hotel was full and there was no alternative room for us".
No need to say we left and found a friendlier place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PC75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mykonos Town hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Overall, Pension Matina wasn't bad for the price and location. It was of walking distance to Mykonos Town, and the beach. The front desk wasn't too friendly or helpful however which is why I rated this hotel a 3/5.
The pool is absolutely wonderful, and the rooms are spacious. There is a kitchen which comes in handy. Overall, I would come back to Pension Matina.
Also the airport/ferry transportation is great, because its free and convenient!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelmaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely time here. The pool area is relaxing and the room clean with a great view over Mykonos town. If you don't hire a bike or some sort of vehicle the walk up and down the hill is very tiring. We were also woken up in the early hours of the morning by drunken party-goers on a couple of nights, but this is no fault of the hotel! It was a pleasant stay if you're happy to stay a little out of town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
175 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Nice place to stay, beautiful pool, polited people and near town. Nice price too. This year I go Mykonos again but they don`t have avaiable rooms anymore... I wrote them this week, but until now, no answer...

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CelYumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I’ve been at the Pension Matina at the end of August 2009.
It is 10 minutes walking far from the port/center, taking the shorter path, but part of it is pretty steep so if you don’t like walking you must be provided of a vehicle especially for the coming back! The structure is placed in the upper part of the town indeed, consequently it is also very exposed to the wind. We were there in a period when the meltemi blows strong and we could never use the pool for this reason, on the other hand we had the view of wonderful sunsets up there.…
The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and nicely furnished. There were just a few rooms with a private little balcony, while almost all the rooms have a table and chairs in the mutual balcony/open-corridor in front of the doors, so if you care about a private balcony I assume you must ask for it in advance.
Overall a very good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aristonoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#43 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Konstantin
Villa Konstantin
#2 of 63 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Panigirakis
Castle Panigirakis
#22 of 90 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eleanna's
Eleanna's
#6 of 63 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rania Apartments
Rania Apartments
#21 of 90 in Mykonos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matina

Property: Villa Matina
Address: Xondros Gremos, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece (Formerly Pension Matina)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Mykonos Town
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Matina Hotel Mykonos
Matina Hotel Mykonos
Villa Matina Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing