We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service”
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mykonos Theoxenia
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I never felt the need to write reviews about places I stayed in, until my recent stay in Theoxenia hotel.

I stayed there with my bf on the last weekend of September. We came with high expectations after reading the good reviews here and on other websites, and were pleased to find this place managed to meet our expectations and even exceed them.

From the person who welcomed us at the airport and took us to the hotel, to the attentive team at the front desk led by Anna (who also addressed our concerns in the email prior to our arrival and was super-helpful when we requested late check out), to the team at the breakfast, bar and swimming pool - everyone was extremely nice and friendly and make you feel like they actually care for you, and not just pretending to.

As someone who worked at the tourism & hospitality industry for some years and had a chance to stay in many places around the world - this true welcomed feeling is not that common and not taken for granted (especially not at this price range which was not too expensive).

The room was nice with a great balcony where you can watch the sunset and enjoy the complimentary wine bottle you get in the room, pool was great with the crew pass by and give you ice cream treats every now and then.

The location was wonderful with everything just a short walk away (except for the beaches which are short bus-trip from the bus stop located close to the hotel).

When i'll (hopefully) return to Mykonos in the future, I would definitely make sure to stay there again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Or P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for a few lovely lines about the Mykonos Theoxenia.

Coming from a fellow professional like yourself, words of praise take extra significance so we are delighted to have pleased you in so many ways. Especially, we are proud of our staff for taking care of you at all times and are delighted that they exceeded your high expectations.

It would be an honour to welcome you again to Mykonos Theoxenia.

Regards

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel set back from the hustle and bustle of the island. I was there for a week in August, 2013. Staff is very courteous and professional, and quite attentive - a delight to interact with. The rooms are decently sized. I found the decor to be a little tired - time for an update I think. The breakfast spread was quite elaborate but only so-so quality, as is most of the food i ate there. The WiFi throughout the property is terrible to the point of unacceptable. As soon as you're on, you're kicked off. This hotel is not cheap. For the money you pay, I expect a little more than just the view (which is spectacular!). On the whole, it was a nice hotel with great staff. I look forward to going back there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chachaandtheposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for a few lines about your stay at Mykonos Theoxenia.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the attentive service of our staff and that you found the views spectacular. We are sorry to hear that some elements of our hotel were not to your liking, and are thankful to receive your feedback on them. Nothing is confirmed yet but the interior design matter is on the table, and hopefully something can be agreed for the near furture; what we can confirm is that our menu will be revised this winter which we hope will elevate our food and beverage offer greatly. Finally regarding the wifi, please be assured that plans are already in place to completely upgrade our current service; these changes will be done in winter and will be in full effect for the start of the new season.

We hope that you had a relaxing holiday and will be delighted to welcome you back to Mykonos
Theoxenia next year.

Kind Regards,

The Managemnet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed there 3 nights in october 2012.Calm, nice location yet a walking distance to all the restaurans, the heart of he village, Little Venice, <500 m from KTEL bus stop.Ask for room overlooking pool . Clean, delightful hotel, sophisticated mediterranean breakfeast, impeccable employees.50 m from the mills.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Mykonos

Theoxenia.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and especially the location of our hotel. We are also

pleased that you noticed the cleaniness of our property as well as the personalized service offered by

our staff.

Mykonos Theoxenia will always be welcoming you with open arms.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the theoxenia the last week of September and left feeling quite impressed. If you are looking for a relaxed/great spot that is close to town but still feels removed from the busyness of Mykonos, this is the spot. A short three minute walk to the waterfront cafes and also were able to easily atv to the main beaches on the southern part of the island (ornos, Elia, or super paradise) without having to drive through the whole town. I'd call the style of the hotel 60s chic and felt unique for the island, and everything was super clean/kept.

We ended up booking the garden view room that had a huge tree that we faced and in hindsight would have paid the extra money for one of their ocean view rooms. The main thing that was great for us was that the staff was incredibly helpful with restaurants/car rentals/directions and was necessary as we were first timers to the island. The GM walked around daily to make introductions to the guests and katarina (who was awesome) at the front counter recommended a few quality things to do.

The hotel was pretty empty but imagine that was due to us visiting during the shoulder season. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends looking to visit Mykonos.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pabstonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for a few lovely lines about the Mykonos Theoxenia.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the area our property is located in.

Moreover, we are delighted to hear that you indulged in our cuisine and that our staff were very helpful

in suggesting things you could do.

We are already looking forward to your next visit to the Mykonos Theoxenia.

Faithfull yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The location can't be beaten 2 mins to town and the sites of little Venice , the staff were amazing , they get to know you quickly and cater for your every need . Alejandro's chilli and coconut cocktail a real winner , Anna , panageotis , marina all wonderful people . Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loznstevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia.

We are delighted to hear that everything from the hotel's location to the staff were to your utmost liking.

We look forward to your next visit to Mykonos Theoxenia.

Warm wishes,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you want to be in party town yet quietly secluded near the sea, this is the BEST hotel to choose.
The rooms and public areas are well maintained after 10 yrs. of operations. The hotel has a lovely pool which is VERY unusual in many hotels in Mykonos. It is perfectly located near town but very quiet a night.
The staff is ever so helpful and funny and price / value is just right.
If you would like to enjoy the nice town atmosphere and do not want to bother with lots of traveling each day from /to beach and town, this is the BEST place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for a few lovely lines about the Mykonos Theoxenia.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you found the rooms and public areas to be very well maintained. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and that you found our staff to be very helpful. Moreover, we are thrlled to read that you find the hotel to have a perfect location.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mykonos Theoxenia soon.

Warm wishes,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Theoxenia Mykonos in a seafront room for 7 days in early July. Although the reviews I read before going we're really good, the resort exceeded my expectations. Our room was right on the seafront, albeit with a public path running below our window. (However the path was never an issue). The room was just like in the resorts photos and was a decent size with a really good sized bathroom. Modern, well decorated with a cool 60's retro feel, the room was spotless and kept spotless throughout the week by the fantastic housekeeping staff. The bed was also very comfy bed and the room was quiet - no noise from next door or from the town nightclubs.
Breakfast was really nice, but the "help yourself" scrambled eggs could have been better. There was an option of eggs cooked for you and they were much better.
The staff were exceptional and is perhaps the reason this place exceeded my expectations. They helped with anything - directions, car rental, shortcuts through the town etc and were always friendly. The pool boy didn't speak much English, but he was very friendly and great to look at:)
Another highlight of this resort for us was the location. It is just behind the windmills, on a large piece of private land. We couldn't hear any noise from the town but were a few minutes walk to Little Venice, the town centre, the waterfront and the Southern bus stop. Restaurants, bars and clubs were all at our fingertips.
The only negative for me was the Wi-Fi. It was available in the reception area, but not in some of the rooms or by the pool. As soon as I complained, the manager personally installed a hotspot in our room which was a pleasant surprise. I think Theoxenia are aware this needs to be fixed and I hope it's better when we return next July.

This is a link to our video of the hotel:
http://youtu.be/NPDXrKfOAl0

Thanks for a memorable holiday Dimitris and staff!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia.

We are delighted to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations with its beautiful seafront location. We are thrilled to hear that you found your room to be perfect and spotless and that you found the bed to be very comforable. Moreover, we are happy to hear that our staff were the reason our hotel exceeded your expectations. We are sorry to hear that our "help yourself" eggs were not to your liking but are glad to hear that you enjoyed the eggs cooked to order. Additionally, we are sorry the wifi was a negative for you but are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotspot you received.

We look forward to your next visit to Mykonos Theoxenia.

Warm wishes,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Myconian Kyma Design Hotel
Myconian Kyma Design Hotel
#18 of 82 in Mykonos Town
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ostraco Suites
Ostraco Suites
#32 of 82 in Mykonos Town
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Milon, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £169 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island is one of the most famous boutique hotels in Greece. With fresh, luxurious, modern aesthetic and strong 60s glam elements, Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island, is about to unfold its very best, in order to captivate you as the best of Mykonos Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing