We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They say it best - premium state of stay”
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mykonos Theoxenia
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They say it best - premium state of stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays I have ever had and the hotel and its staff have a lot to do with me forming this opinion. This was our second trip to Mykonos; the first being about 4/5 years ago and after staying at the Mykonos Theoxenia last week, I would more than likely return in the future. We have never returned to the same place twice but after the last week there are no regrets.

You are collected from the airport by private transfer courtesy of the hotel and deposited in reception without having to lift a bag as its all taken care of for you. The airport is a 10 minute drive away at the most and it’s important to point out you are not disturbed by plane noise at all. The front of house team led by Harrys is first rate and makes you feel welcome from the start. You are then invited to take a seat wherever you like to enjoy a welcome fruit cocktail whilst your bags are taken to your room. Once you have finished your drink, you are shown to your room and the air con and other amenities are explained to you.

We booked a ‘last minute’ holiday three days before departure and had a standard room but we were not disappointed in the slightest and thought that it was beautifully appointed. It would of course have been great to have a sea view but to be honest when you don’t spend much time in your room you can do with out this. The hotel room and bathroom were spotlessly maintained throughout the stay (as were all public areas) and the bathroom was very modern and contained plenty of towels, bath robes (in the wardrobe) and slippers! The only slightly odd thing was the lighting in the bathroom which had a pink tinge to it but you soon get used to it and it didn’t bother us at all. The hotel room contained a tv and a stereo system and you are also able to access the internet from your room – you just need to request a cable from reception. Simple things make this hotel stand out such as the first thing we noticed, a complimentary bottle of wine on your first night left in your room which we consumed outside watching the sun go down.

As you walk round the hotel you see that bold splashes of colour are everywhere and it has a retro feel which feels modern and contemporary. You can also access the internet from the main bar area as there is a PC set up for general use. The beauty of the hotel is that it is situated right on the coast line so even though you are only 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Mykonos Town, you feel like you’re a world away as the hotel is set over the brow of a hill over looking Little Venice and the landmark windmills in its own private gardens. I understand that the building is actually listed so it will never be spoilt. You get to eat your breakfast over looking the sea and if it’s nice you can choose to sit outside which we did for 5 of the 7 mornings we were there. The events team is managed by Giorgos and they were all extremely efficient, friendly and helpful and made us feel like part of the family. They were able to recommend good restaurants, Greek wine and where to go of an evening if you wanted to experience the nightlife. The outside terrace at the hotel is the perfect place to sit and drink a glass of wine as the sun goes down as you have unspoilt views across the sea and the outside furniture is first rate (take your pick from sun loungers, comfy chairs, beds or sofas). You really couldn’t ask for a more relaxing time as the hotel staff are discreet enough not to be noticed but are on hand when you need them. Special thanks also to Giorgos (bar) for also marking on a map for us how to get to particular restaurants to save us from being lost in the maze of streets that make up Mykonos town and for serving us each night and keeping what seemed to be an endless supply of bar snacks coming!

The pool area was quiet whilst we were there but that probably has a lot to do with the fact that the end of the summer season was near. Guests also like to leave the hotel for a few days of their stay to either experience one of the many boat trips from the nearby harbour or to visit one of the beaches on the island. There are plenty of sunbeds round the pool so you never felt you had to get out first thing in the morning to reserve a spot and the hotel provides you with towels which you can use. A nice touch is that you are also treated to free ice cream everyday between 4-5pm which seemed to us a good enough reason to return to the hotel each day! On the one day we thought we’d missed it, Albert went to the kitchen and got some for us – thanks!

If there was one very small thing I could say that I think would improve this hotel, it would be that the restaurant needs some work as it feels too clinical and lacks ambience. This is probably not helped by the fact that the tables are laid out in a long line and it is a shame as it really has a lovely outlook. During our stay, I don’t think we saw anyone eating there in the evening but then again it could be argued that when you’re that close to the main town anyway it really doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter so much for breakfast but for an evening meal we always went elsewhere.

One last thing to point out, there are a lot of cats around the hotel (and actually all over the island – we even saw two in the airport departures lounge waiting to get our flight). They are friendly and will sit at your feet waiting to be fed so if you don’t like cats you will have to ignore or shoo them away.

Overall I couldn’t recommend this hotel highly enough. The location, staff and amenities were all first rate during out stay and thanks to everyone at the Theoxenia who made the week feel special. The only problem was that the week went by far too fast…

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    82
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
36
248
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolzano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I was worried when we had to choose a Hotel in Mykonos town in august, the city is so loud, expecially at nght....then we tried the Theoxenia, and i tell you, it is a green oasis in the heart of the city ! the junior suite was clean and very comfortable, the food at the pool great, compliments to the manager and all the staff, we felt so comfortable with anything !! hope to be back soon

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kasslatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The hotel is in the perfect location. In the edge of town center but adjacent to the nice part of the town. Although it is located in the center, the area is very quiet like an oasis in the desert. The hotel is designed to look like 60's with intense colors and art deco. The hotel had its own parking which is very important for mykonos town. I really liked it although it was a bit expensive. The only negative thing I found was the Spa which should't be called a Spa at all. So if your purpose is to use the Spa choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLukePicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed at this resort for 5 nights in mid-August, 2009. What a superb stay we had.

From the initial welcome transfer from the airport, to the check-in and escorted to your room, it was clear that the staff shine at this hotel. All staff we happy, friendly, hospitable, and more than happy to help in any possible way.

The rooms are great. I’ve stayed in Mykonos 3 times and these are the best I’ve stayed in – comfortable beds & pillows, excellent bathrooms with great amenities, a fridge, closet space, additional seating area…we were upgraded to a ‘sea view’ room, away from the pool. Noise was never a problem. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly each day.

The real strengths of this hotel are the common areas throughout – the TV / lounge area, restaurant and pool area. All are comfortable places to spend your time when you aren’t racing off to Mykonos’ great beaches or trying to find your way around delightful Mykonos Town. You can easily spend 5 nights at this hotel and never leave it.

The pool (see photos) is large, clean, with plenty of comfortable sun chairs as well as outdoor double beds and other seating. There’s full bar and food service around the pool which we took full advantage of: Great cocktails, fresh salads, great wine selection, etc. The prices aren’t unreasonable either, particularly in this beautiful setting. The staff around the pool during the day are attentive yet most of the time you wouldn’t even know they were there: just the way it should be when you want to relax. There’s fun music playing, nothing too loud, and it ranges between chill out to European dance. You probably don’t even have to bring your own iPod. Despite the hotel having many rooms, the pool area seems surprisingly quiet and private – we spent a couple of days hanging out all day and it was very relaxing.

Location: this hotel is literally right behind the famous windmills of Mykonos. I read other reviews that said this, but until I actually saw it I didn’t quite believe it. It is PERFECTLY situated for walking into town for dinner, or wandering home from the famous nightlife of Mykonos. We did not have to rent a car / scooter at all. The hotel has great views of the sea and a couple of beaches behind – as well as the sunsets. You can’t see Mykonos Town, but we felt we could visit other hotels at sunset or for dinner and get that experience as well.

Finally, we must acknowledge the staff one more time: Particularly Giorgos (1), Patricia, and Giorgos (2) – you not only made our stay memorable & comfortable, you became our friends too. Thank you to the entire team for a brilliant stay – we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamW_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We loved this hotel! It is an excellent design hotel in a perfect location for Mykonos town. You can't beat its location and if you like 70's retro chic - it is perfect. Now, it has to be said, we had the best rooms in the place overlooking the sea just off the pool. (Courtesy of the hotel as an upgrade), but I am sure all the rooms are similar in design, just different in size/space.

The service and staff were excellent. Friendly, attentive and well managed. The pool is large, clean and there is a lifeguard and towel person on 'duty' - plus, room/pool service is readily at hand. The only disappointment was the music broadcast all day/night by the pool. This really let the experience down. If it was more lounge/moody/neutral it would have just about been acceptable as Ibiza-South beach cool...but, it was a cross between Top40, old Cafe del mar and random pop hits of the 80's. Very annoying, and especially after the same soundtrack seemed to play the whole day...yep, 11:00 am (Ella Fitzgerald) and then at 4:00 and 8:00pm.

There is no access directly to the beach below the hotel, but the beach is not great... lots of flotsam and jetsam, but a stunning view from afar. If you want beaches, go to Super or Elia. The hotel's casual/design vibe is what you want when you want to escape or recover from Mykonos..whether at 4 am or at mid-day (when the town is over run with cruise shippers getting lost). Theoxenia is like an oasis conveniently located by the picture postcard windmills. It can be breezy here...but, on a scorchio day in June/august it is welcome (that's why the windmills are there! d'oh!).

renting a car via reception was easy, and the staff made everything work. The breakfast buffet is superb...just watch out for the mangy breakfast cat (the grey one with claws!)...not cute, not friendly and will scratch or kill for a piece of breakfast sausages! (ouch!)

The gym is hidden beneath the breakfast room, and the wifi is patchy - but, who cares? you are in mykonos. We will return here...it was just the kind of place to stay on mykonos without the pretentions of other more notable venues (Cavoo Tagoo) or taxi requirement (Kivotos). Well done to the staff...who by the way, are all good looking! Easy on the eye and wallet for Mykonos.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This place has it all... nice rooms, super friendly quirky staff and a top location...
On arrival the outside of the hotel is not rally very welcoming, but don't be fooled, as soon as you're past the gate it's pure heaven. As it's a boutique design hotel, there's never a sense of overcrowdedness, even when it's fairly full. The pool is an oasis, very hard to imagine when you're lounging around in one of the many sunbeds that all the action is 2 minutes away. Families with small children might not appreciate the hotel design or it's relaxing pace, they cater to a more chilled out, upscale crowd. The food is great, from breakfast to the pool menu to dinner. As Mykonos can be very pricy for little, you'll be happy to pay up for anything in the hotel, as it's all reasonable and good value for money. If you do decide to go into town, best places are Interni and Philippi, located next to each other in town. Both came recomended by hotel staff, and they were spot on ! A lot of 5 star hotels could learn from the service level of this place, all staff greets you all the time and will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Little touches include wine and fruit in the room on arrival, courtesy bus to pick you up and drop you off at the airport, twice a day room cleaning... The only downside I can think of is the airco that didn't work properly, so we ended up sleeping with the windows open. Bad idea, as we were eaten alive by mosquitos !!! Compared to a lot of other hotels we stayed in, this one is in our top 5 ! We will return happily whenever we need a week of sun and relaxation !


,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardclaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Just spent a week at Theoxenia May 22nd through 29th. I have got to say that I have spent a week each year at Theoxenia for past 5 years at different times ranging from late May, June and September. First week of September is probably the best if you want to avoid the really hectic club season - great mix of people on the Island- French, German and Italian- less English. Beaches are fantastic- Elia for cool urban Euro Gay crowd- great beach bar- Panoramous- cool restaurant and back to basics beach.
All rooms are excellant from Standard room (no outside space) through to ocean view- I have over the years stayed in each of these. The best value is the Superior Garden View- smart decor- cleanliness outstanding and touches of service that add to the overall experience
As a single traveller this Hotel is exceptional in their ability to be both welcoming, familiar without intrusion and deliver outstanding service. Front of house staff are great guys led by Harris. Breakfast is great with a broad sweep of cooked through to healthy options- great coffee ! Fantastic space around the pool which is a big plus relative to the other hotels- canopied sofas to chill, read, snooze.

Small gym- could do with a little more equipment but adequate to counter balance your croissant intake !
The position of the hotel is literally at top of a flight of steps and you arrive at Little Venice- cool chilled bar scene in town and restaurants are a great mix and make dining for one easy.
Mykonos is an expensive island and that is an absolue fact--- food, drinks etc

This hotel is worth every penny- and I will happily hope to return again and again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citykid1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Property: Mykonos Theoxenia
Address: Kato Milon, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#12 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island is one of the most famous boutique hotels in Greece. With fresh, luxurious, modern aesthetic and strong 60s glam elements, Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island, is about to unfold its very best, in order to captivate you as the best of Mykonos Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing