We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Mykonos' fun and relaxation...”
Review of Vencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vencia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The heart of Mykonos' fun and relaxation...”
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Vencia has a B&B feel but with the amenities of a small hotel. If you want to experience the relaxation, entertainment, shopping, food and fun Mykonos is famous for, this is it. We stayed 3 nights for our 10th anniversary.

We booked the Superior Suite and the pictures posted tell the story. If it's anywhere close to your budget, grab it. This room was massive with a huge sitting area, great bathroom (the rainwater shower was hard to get out of), queen bed and had the largest deck with an outdoor dining and furniture arrangement. The outside facing wall is almost all windows! You're never missing the view inside or out. Open the two doors to the deck and the sea breeze gently blows in. We had a great dinner on our deck the first night, with the staff delivering everything to our table outside. Vencia's food was some of the best we had and we ate at some nice places in the town.

Reviews mentioning noise are correct; however, there are no hotels within walking distance to the heart of it all that aren't near a major road - including the 5 star hotels. If silence is your goal, you're better off at a secluded beach resort far away from all the action. We never found it to be annoying and our room was perhaps closest to the road.

In the end, Vencia's location and amenities made this a very memorable anniversary. We'll cherish the relaxing days by the pool and the late night cocktails and shopping downtown. Special thanks to Stella for her never-ending attention to detail.

  • Liked — The Superior Suite and enormous infinity edge pool.
  • Disliked — Notta
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank isaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    205
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
112
960
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We would highly recommend Venica, its a lovely hotel, we had a wonderfully relaxing time.

Location: Sits above Mykonos town, lovely view of the sunset, with a short walk into the town, downhill on the way, uphill on the way home! The hotel is on a main road, which allows easy access for getting about on the island, noise wasn't really an issue for us.

Room: We stayed in a double with sea view. Large sized room. Cleanliness was excellent. Bathroom was large, amazing shower. Bed was firm and comfortable.

Service: The staff were very helpful and friendly, they make you feel like one of the family. Breakfast had a good selection. Make sure you have a cocktail by the pool! Lovely.

Value: As we were just before high season the value was excellent. The view, the room, the service, the pool, its all worth it.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandangledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We booked Vencia hotel for 5 nights in May after reading all the good reviews about it here. However when we arrived we were told that our room was still occupied by the previous guest. The story was that the guest had a serious heart problem and could not check out of the hotel. The check-in woman told us it's so serious that they might need to arrange a helicopter ride to athens. The woman told us that the hotel was fully booked and they didn't know when this guest could check out so they had to move us to Hermes hotel next door which they claimed had the same rating. We had a quick look at the rooms at Hermes and it was nothing like Vencia hotel. Not modern and the sea view room faces the main road so it was noisy. We told them we would not take it and will look for another hotel ourselves. They quickly tried to look for another hotel and told us they would upgrade us to the 5 star Grand Beach hotel . They took us to the hotel and as it's getting late and the hotel lobby looked quite nice we decided to just take it without looking at the room first. We regreted it after 1 night at the hotel as it's nothing 5 star (see our review on this hotel). Anyway cut the long story short, we told vencia they if there was any room on the second day and they told us that the guest still had not moved out ( if he was so ill shouldn't they have moved him to the hospital already or can't they move him to another hotel? ) and there was no room available so they would try finding us a room the next day and call us back at 11am. We did not receive any call the next day and when we called them up at 11:30 they said they didn't want to wake us up so early since we are on our holiday. They then told us there were still no room available and would offer us free dinner at Vencia as a good gesture. We told them we wanted a refund and find a new hotel ourselves. This is when they said they would also find another accomodation for us. By then we did not believe anything they said anymore and just found another hotel ourselves. On the first day we believed their story about the previous guest being sick but after 3 days the whole story just sounded fishy and looking back now could they have not reshuffled the room around since there would be people checking in and out everyday. It looks like they just overbooked and we just got bumped and they made up this whole story so we would not make a fuss. They did try very hard to find us other accomodations but we think its only because they would still get a cut of the profit from the other hotel since this is low season and the other hotels were half empty anyway. If they had to refund us they would have got nothing and had to pay the booking agency fee.
We were so looking forward to our 5 nights of relaxing holiday and all this had ruined our holiday for us. Beware when you book your accomodation with them . Maybe we are the victims of their success.

P.S the hotel and the rooms did look very nice. Only if we had a chance to enjoy it we would probably have rated it a 5!

  • Liked — Nicely decorated rooms and pool area. The view
  • Disliked — everything else as we haven't been able to stay there.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Pharaohnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

My husband and I stayed here last week and I have to say this was one of the best boutique hotels we have stayed in. The owners and staff were friendly, the infinity pool amazing, the views to die for and the rooms newly decorated to a high standard. We spent a bit of time looking around at the other hotels in the town and none of them came even close to this one. The location is fantastic, just a short walk down hill to the town. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This year we chose two hotels for each of our weeks. One was in town the other at a beach.

We have previously lodged in another town hotel but last year we found it a bit too busy so decided to use the Vencia as the reviews here were so positive.

First impressions were good. A pleasant welcome from friendly staff.

Our room was OK. Reasonable size, reasonable facilities.

People need to be aware though that the hotel is close to a busy road that seems to wind its way around it. We found the noise irritating. It was always there. This was a busy road in the month of May and it must be much worse in high season.

This hotel's location therefore spoiled it for us.

Also, it is a climb up to the hotel and the traffic needs to be carefully manouvered around or avoided. If that climb and traffic was in the usual summer heat it could be difficult.

So, a good hotel but folks need to be aware that it is not 'central' and there are road/noise issues. Those issues spoiled it for us.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bilbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed at the Vencia in May 2008. The staff, the location, the view, the facilities, the rooms, the service and the food were all exceptional. Nothing could be faulted. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave...
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy-Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tualatin, or
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

I spent a lot of time searching for places to stay on Mykonos. This hotel has everything. This is the best hotel we stayed at in Greece. It is a bit pricey but it is worth the cost.

The positives:
- It faces west and has an unobstructed view of sunsets (see the picture attached). The hotel sits on a hill above Mykonos town. **Note, There are rooms that do not have a view. If you do not have a view, you can always take a seat by the pool during sunsets. We had room #123 that had a patio with a sunset view.
- It was a relatively short walk to Mykonos town down hill (my wife counted 117 stairs). Mykonos town is where you will want to stay on Mykonos. Besides beaches, there is nothing else on the island outside of the town.
- Very clean rooms
- A full shower (rare in Greece)
- Friendly and helpfull staff
- It is bookable using Priceline, Travelocity, etc vs. email

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cojoclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vencia Hotel

Property: Vencia Hotel
Address: Agios Eleftherios, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vencia boutique hotel is a four star (4****) hotel which has been fully renovated in 2007, situated 10 min walk from Mykonos town. An elegant combination of colours and furniture has created an environment of hotel relaxation, comfort and luxury. The outdoor swimming pool offers an outstanding view of the town and the port, giving you the feeling that the Aegean Sea is the continuation of the hotel's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vencia Hotel Mykonos Town
Vencia Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing