We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Mykonos”
Review of Vencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our stay at the Vencia Hotel was made perfect by the attentive and personal attention of the staff. The location above the harbor was perfect, away from the activity and yet close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. The sunsets were amazing!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful hotel located at the very top of Mykonos town. We had two rooms; a deluxe suite and a standard room. The suite was marvelous. beautifully decorated, bright, with large windows, a large balcony and magnificent views over the town and sea. I would absolutely recommend the suite. The standard room, on the other hand, was small, dark, and had no view, although it did have an outdoor patio that may have had some views over town. One note; the mattresses were somewhat like concrete slabs. The breakfast, on the other hand, was fantastic, with a great selection; everything on the breakfast bar was excellent. The infinity pool was beautiful and had a marvelous view of Mykonos town and the sea beyond. The hotel also included transfers to and from the port or airport, which is a nice touch.

I should preface my next few comments by saying that the suite was over 300 euros a night; a price point which brings with it certain expectations. First, the air conditioning. The power in the room, as with many European hotels, was only activated when you slid your room key (no, not a credit card style key - this was a proprietary brass key fob with a built-in magnet) into a holder at the door. When you took your room key out, the power - and AC - stopped working. We got only one key per room, which meant that we could not keep the AC running when we were out so as to have a cool room to come back to - and sleep in. Since we got back from dinner at about midnight every night, the AC barely started cooling the room by the time we were getting up the next day. At this price point, I expect the AC to be on all the time. I also expect to be able to get two room keys. The desk clerk told our friends who were in the other room that if one of them were to come back later on at night he could quietly let them into the room so as not to wake the other. This did not happen; the clerk the next night told our later-arriving friend that he could not let him in, and to just go knock on the door - thus waking the other one.

Second, the pool towels were strictly controlled. You got ONE pool towel per person, from the front desk, and had to sign it out. At this price point, I expected a stack of pool towels by the pool so I could take more than one and trade them in as I used them. Note to the hotel: losing pool towels is a cost of doing business.

Third, on our last day there, we were relaxing on the pool loungers for a few minutes before leaving when the pool attendant (who was smoking a cigarette under an umbrella at the time) told me not to put my shoes on the pool loungers. Again, at this price point, I don't expect to be chastised by the hotel staff for having my feet up on the chaise loungers. Small rudenesses like this can dampen your mood and ruin your opinion of a hotel.

Finally, although the website says that you are 5 minutes from town, that would only happen on the way DOWN, and then only if you were rolling downhill all the way. In reality, it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the seaside and center of town, which means that it is a 20-30 minute walk back UP from town. Bring a flashlight, as some parts of the shortcut path from town are not well lit. We rented ATVs on our second day, which made the ups and downs much easier (and parking is a breeze for motor bikes and ATVs; cars may be a bit more of a problem). A small note about renting scooters and ATVs; the hotel refers you to a rental company that is about 10 minutes away by car; somewhat inconvenient. Don't do it. You can rent a scooter or ATV directly across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite we had was amazing. The standard rooms seem to be dark and have no view to speak o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StelM, Reservations Department at Vencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for your time and interest in posting a review about our hotel.
I would like to point out that the room rates are irrelevant to our policies regarding the use of the pool towels and the use of the air-condition in the rooms. It is not a matter of saving money without providing to our guests the requested standards of quality. It is a matter of an effort from our part to contribute to the environment protection. More precisely, if the air condition was on all the time in each room even when the guests are out of the hotel this would be irrational and unjustified waste of energy! It only takes few minutes for the room to be cool enough when the air-condition is powered on. Regarding the use of the pool towels it is not true that each guest can take only one pool towel. When requested guests can get more than one towel from our reception desk. The reason why the towels are offered from one point only is not because we are afraid of losing towels but because we recommend our guests to make the maximum use of pool towels in order to save more energy. We all know that strong chemical products are used for the washing of linen and towels. If guests use towels irrationally within a day this could lead to waste of water, energy and increased use of chemicals products. I would like to repeat though that it is a recommendation to our guests and not an obligation to use their pool towels more prudently.
Regarding the remark of our pool bartender when he saw you lying on the sunbed wearing your shoes I would like to apologize if he seemed rude. His intention was only to keep the pool area and the sun beds clean for the next guests. He may looked strict but he is trying to respect all the guests as next guests could complain to him and could refuse to use a sunbed on which previous guests stepped with their shoes.
With kind regards
Stella Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for a week and had an incredible holiday! The management and staff were all fantastic! We would stay again in a heart beat when we return to Mykonos.

The view from our balcony and the infinity pool is breathtaking. The food at the Karavaki restaurant was delicious! Poolside bar is outstanding and Dimitar makes the best cocktails!

Thank you to Stella and the entire staff for such a wonderful and memorable holiday!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we entered Vencia hotel, everyone was so nice and welcoming. The rooms, restaurant, and staff are impeccable. You never want to leave the pool area. The views are outstanding and it literally takes your breath away. Whenever I return to Mykonos I will no doubt be staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our recent stay at the Vencia Hotel was perfect. The hotel was personal and friendly, immaculately clean and had the most amazing infinity pool with a gorgeous view of Mykyonos town and the Med.

It has been designed with real style and we found the combination of a the town and a peaceful and beautiful getaway just up the hill was perfect.

All the staff were lovely. Special thanks to Dimi for taking bar tending to a new level - his cocktails are amazing and such a nice guy! - thanks our England flag is on it's way for your collection x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShowersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After having wonderful experiences on Athens, Crete and Santorini we were wondering how much better could it get and then we arrived at the Vencia Hotel! The employees at the hotel were warm and welcoming, our room was beautiful with an absolutely gorgeous view, the food at this hotel is delicious and it is an easy walk into the city! What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank benglish126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. From the moment I was emailed by Stella weeks before arrival informing me if their shuttle service to departure, we were impressed with the standard of service, facilities, location and view, room presentation and the delightful restaurant. The difference with this hotel and others is the attention to detail, and those who work there appear to genuinely enjoy their jobs which shows in their service and attitude. Our room overlooked the pool and city. Walking to the town was just 6 minutes, then 10 minutes to return. There were a few stairs, this is expected in Mykonos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Random85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#9 of 82 in Mykonos Town
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vencia Hotel

Address: Agios Eleftherios, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#3 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £108 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vencia boutique hotel is a four star (4****) hotel which has been fully renovated in 2007, situated 10 min walk from Mykonos town. An elegant combination of colours and furniture has created an environment of hotel relaxation, comfort and luxury. The outdoor swimming pool offers an outstanding view of the town and the port, giving you the feeling that the Aegean Sea is the continuation of the hotel's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vencia Hotel Mykonos Town
Vencia Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing