We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of Mykonos...Arrive as strangers leave as friends!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tagoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tagoo
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Jewel of Mykonos...Arrive as strangers leave as friends!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The sign behind the bar says it all, " Arrive as strangers, leave as friends" If you want an hotel on Mykonos with excellent service, great views, a fantastic bar (Jimmy is a TOP MAN", all within a short stroll of Mykonos Town then book in at the Hotel Tagoo. Anna, Yuan is and the team are the perfect hosts. Anna is a lovely lady who wants everyone who stays to have the very best holiday, Anna has great knowledge of the island and if you need any advice on beaches, Restaurants etc. Anna always has some great tips and ideas. Our room was way above our expectation for a 2 star hotel, a queen size bed, flatscreen tv with satellite, fridge and hairdryer all with a sea view to die for. Anna also arranged a quad bike for us through George, who comes to collect you from the hotel. We managed to visit most of the southern part of the island and found the roads safe and relatively quiet, although this was end of May. I suspect it is a lot busier in peak season. We enjoyed 3 great Greek dance nights in our 12 night stay, Anna and Yiannis show how it's supposed to be done then you are free to join in, with the drinks flowing this makes for a great atmosphere! During our stay it was our 12th wedding anniversary, on the day upon returning from breakfast we found a bottle of wine in our room and that evening enjoyed a chocolate love heart cake compliments of Anna, we ate this watching the sunset before enjoying a special meal at Avra which Anna had kindly reserved a table for us. We had a great time at the Tagoo and will hopefully return soon to meet as friends!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    82
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
128
583
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Once you have been here a couple of days you realize either everyone working here is related to Anna or they could be related. 100% of the staff were wonderful. The sunsets, the hospitality, the breakfast, pretty much everything was as good as it gets.
I will be back.
:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

This place was the best! From the awesome views to the wonderful welcoming Anna and Yannis gave us, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. It was my dad's 78th birthday and Anna went out of her way to make it special. It was a short walk to the beautiful town and Anna was very helpful with places to eat and visit. Would love to have stayed for another week!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank staggerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Our ferry was delayed by 2 hours and surprisingly when we arrived at Mykonos port, Yannis was waiting for us to transport us back to the hotel. Once we arrived, Carmelle (probably spelled his name wrong) took care of our luggage and gave us our keys to the room and a brief outline of the hotel. Because of the ferry delay, Anna was unable to meet us on arrival as she was greeting other guest that had arrived at a different time.

The place is about a 10 min walk down hill, so be mindful that you will be walking up a hill at night. Walking to town and from the hotel, you get a fantastic view of the port / ocean / cruise ships or as Anna would say, "monsters".

I have read a few things about her on this page about her being too over bearing and pushy. I did not sense any of this. We finally met up with her later that night for an information night, it only took up about 15 mins and she provided us hand written maps of the island and a list of restaurant she would recommend with the location marked on the map. I found this useful as the first time we walked through town without a map, we were lost and had no idea which place is good to eat at. It also allowed us to get to know her and the other guest on a personal level. I love how she genuinely cares for her guest. There was one instance where a guest didn't have his luggage as the airline had lost it and she went out of her way to take him back to her house to offer her son's jacket (as the nights were cold). She followed up with the guest the next day and provided information on when to call the airlines etc.

Don't expect 5 star rooms. We had the sea view room on the upper level which was fantastic. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. We had a bed, fridge, tv, safe and a table. Beds were fine. Shower was ok -it was small and old with curtains. The room was fine for what it was. We were hardly in our rooms.

I found breakfast enjoyable as there was a small selection so I didn't over eat :). Each day was the same. There was a variety of cold and hot food - cold slice meats, feta, olives, tomato, cucumbers, boiled eggs, bacon, scramble eggs, range of bread slices, croissants, cereal and juices and coffee.

What you see on their website is exactly what you see in real life. The pool is stunning. The view from the pool bar is breath taking. There is always great music playing in the background around the pool. The staff that work here are wonderful. They have a variety of food on their lunch menu which I think is a fantastic idea. I saw a few of the other guest lunches and it looks good. Big serving and not overprice. If you cannot be bothered going into town for drinks you can always hang around the pool bar at night to enjoy a cocktail made by Jimmy. He is a fantastic guy. On my last night, he made me a Jimmy Special, which was one of the best cocktails I have had. There are always a few guest lurking around. The nights we were at the bar, Anna and Yiannis was also there socializing with the guests. It's a great way of meeting people. Everyone is friendly and relaxed.

We rented a car through Anna as she had a contact that comes to the hotel. She explain that she didn't get any deals, that it's purely for convenience for her guest. She was always on top of her game. She would confirm with you when you were leaving etc. We didn't have to worry about a thing.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, we only wish we had stayed longer and had a chance to experience Greek night. This may be a 2 star hotel, but the customer service you get from these people are better than any 5 star hotels I have been too.
It's all about feeling at home and I would defiantly be staying here again.

Oh, if you get the chance and you do not get offended by jokes, ask Jimmy about the big nose joke. :) That guy cannot stop laughing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The wonderful reviews already here are totally accurate – our whole holiday experience was faultless!

It was our first holiday to Greece. If this incredibly high standard of two star accommodation (operating more like a five star hotel) and the warmest welcome we’ve ever received (from wonderful Anna, Yannis and the team) then we’re just disappointed we didn’t visit sooner!

Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastendersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

I visited Greece for my honeymoon, Went to Mykonos and stayed at Hotel Tagoo, a 2 star hotel with a 7 star welcome , with a beautiful view and not to forget the Greek Night where we learned the Greek dance. I think it is simply the best place in mykonos to stop over and njoy the breathtaking sunset. The location of the hotel is just too good, very near to main town, still giving the best view.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dapsbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Hotel Taggo is very charming with a beautiful view of the water, very clean,walking distance to down town. We enjoyed every minute there. Anna and Yiannis were the most hospitable host and guide for our trip. They go the extra mile to make your stay very enjoyable. They made us feel like a family. At our arrival in the airport, we were greeted by Yiannis who transported us to the hotel. Anna offered ouzo to all the guests during an evening meeting on the pool patio to tell us about places and restaurants to go. The breakfast buffet is very good. We recommend Hotel Tagoo to everyone.
Haney and Mona from USA

Room Tip: All rooms are good with the best view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonaHaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
71.0 mi away
Andronikos Hotel
Andronikos Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tagoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tagoo

Property: Hotel Tagoo
Address: Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#5 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tagoo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tagoo is a small family run complex of 20 rooms, of which some are standard or superior, with 2 single beds or double and queen size beds, some with common sea view terrace area, or private balconies, built on different level, in the cycladic architecture style. We have lovely swimming pool with one of the best views of the island, where you can enjoy great light lunches or great cocktails at our pool snack bar area, while enjoying the most breathtaking sunsets. Facilities include free parking, hairdryers, minifridges, kettles, adapters, irons, ironing boards, satelite tv channels, beach towels, free wifi, public pc for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tagoo Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Tagoo Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing